We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Stone Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Canyon Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in the cottage right next to the main house and loved the comfortable accommodations and beautiful setting. When we first arrived, we thought we'd gone the wrong way - it's tucked away behind a residential neighborhood and borders Bryce canyon. It was nice to be able to make coffee and breakfast at the place on our own before heading out. We even made dinner "at home" one night.

The views are amazing and it was nice to be able to hike right behind their property. Tropic is a small town - nice to have a little grocery store (Clarkson's) down the road and there were some places to eat along the main route.

The owners and people who worked there were great - very helpful and interested in making our stay a great one. Really appreciated the advice and hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 654 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in the "Guest House" in the midst of the National Park closure and couldn't have been happier. Very well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed and furnishings, good Internet, large TVs, second bathroom, full laundry. Comfortable and controllable heat and a/c. What is most important though is the fantastic access to Bryce National Park via a wash adjacent to the property. The innkeepers are very knowledgeable about other (state) parks in the area, and all their recommendations were dead on. Had a great time, and was only disappointed we couldn't extend our stay. This place books up a long time in advance. Recommend that all my friends call and take whatever time slot you can. It doesn't get better than this.

Room Tip: I liked the Guest House. All the cabins are equally well equipped but have two bedrooms instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maximumvaluegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here one night prior to visiting Bryce Canyon. Stayed in one of the separate cabins rather than B&B lodge. Not cheap, but the cabin was absolutely first rate. New, clean with excellent bath and kitchen facilities. Sitting in the hot tub on the deck with a glass of wine looking at the mountains and Utah sky is worth the price of admission alone. Can't imagine what the stars would look like on a moonless night, which unfortunately was not the case for us.

If you stay in the cabins you are on your own for food, since breakfast is only provided to the B&B guests. Small criticism, since there is a general store a mile away in Tropic. However, this is Utah, so bring your own booze.

Don't be put off by the short dirt road entrance, worth a car wash.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in one of the Cabins, which was excellent for us. We were four persons and had each our room and bathroom.

The patio with the hot tub and barbecue was just excellent. You can sit and enjoy the view of the canyons (not the Bryce Canyon National Park - that you probably will visit). Only minus is that they haven't made proper space so that you can sit outside and eat (only space for two).

The cabin is excellent, plenty of space and kitchen has what you need.

Some 20 minutes drive from the entrance to Bryce Canyon.

We have stayed in the village close to Bryce Canyon, and will prefer Stone Canyon Inn at any time.

Room Tip: Take the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlyTheBest-Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only stayed 2 days here but we will be back. Dixie and Michael provide a wonderful experience. We had room 6 and it was very clean and spacious and overlooked the desert area with very large windows. The bed was very comfortable. Dixie will provide info and a map for a wonderful though somewhat strenuous hike in Bryce Canyon, if you want. Breakfast is a real treat...Dixie provides a very nice and tasty breakfast and Michael will kind of arrive and begin to recite Cowboy Poetry. On our last day he treated us to 4 poems...he had us in stitches and in tears. What a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 6 on the first floor...you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig-Lois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Inn was in a great location, 15 min from park entrance. Well worth the ride for such exceptional accomodations. We arrived to a warm welcome and comfortable setting. Though we did not pick the Inn based on the positive reviews of the food we were pleased every morning with the 3 course breakfast. The Inn owners love this part of the country and were very knowledgable in regard to local hikes and drives. We enjoyed the open invitation to lounge on the deck in the evening. We agree that we would love to have the opportunity to return to the area and with 100% certainty would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachchair4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a charming inn. It is located about 10 miles from the main entrance to Bryce Canyon. The drive should have taken about 15 minutes or less. Instead, it was about 45, but not the fault of the Inn. We had to keep stopping to take pictures of the mountains and scenery. The drive passes by several scenic pullouts, and we couldn't pass them up (repeatedly).

Breakfast was great. The inn offered complimentary WiFi and US phone calls. There was a TV, but we never used it. Our room was clean and fresh. We had a great view from our windows in the main guest house.

There is a large deck off of the dining room. We were welcomed to bring our wine bottles outside and enjoy the moonscape with our ukuleles. Our host provided glasses and an opener.

Clarkes was our chosen spot for dinner. Not bad. Not exceptional. Your here for the scenery, not a culinary experience.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Follow the directions on the website. Its right up the street from the High School.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyJoeAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,301 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
8.3 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
561 reviews
17.7 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Canyon Inn

Address: 1380 W. Stone Canyon Lane, Tropic, UT 84776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range: $139 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay at Bryce. We have four secluded cottages with two bedrooms, two baths, fully equipped kitchen and private hot tub. We also have 4 bungalows that are free standing king suites. They have a king bedroom, bathroom, living area and private porch. Stunning views from right under the rim of Bryce Canyon. Hike in to Bryce from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stone Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Canyon Hotel Tropic
Stone Canyon Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing