We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bed and Breakfast Way Beyond the Normal!”
Review of Stone Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Canyon Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Bed and Breakfast Way Beyond the Normal!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently returned from a western trip to Utah and Wyoming. I used TripAdvisor to find a place to stay near Bryce Canyon which was our first stop. This B&B did not disappoint. We were greeted by our hosts Dixie and Mike and immediately felt "at home". Dixie is a great "creator of maps" and gave us advice on the best way to see everything in the short time we were there. We stayed in the Cedar Room which had its own deck and a view of the wonderful mountains. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast was indeed a treat. Everything we ate was outstanding. I absolutely recommend this B&B. You will be amazed. Thank you Dixie and Mike for a great stay!!

Room Tip: Descriptions of rooms on the web site are completely accurate. That should help you choose what wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    118
    41
    19
    5
See reviews for
146
365
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights in June, 4 of us in 2 rooms. Both rooms were well appointed and had effective aircon and were well furnished with excellent en-suite bathrooms. Nice option to use the main house kitchen for coffee and tea and for ice from the fridge made us feel welcome. Parking right outside, great views all round, and a nice terrace with pond for relaxing in the morning or evening. Breakfasts were taken around shared tables and were a bit of an 'event'. No menu as such with a variety of small portions of beautifully cooked and presented breakfast dishes served with a smile and a bit of drama by the host. Perhaps go prepared with a story or a poem to recite! I will say no more, but it was great fun and we all enjoyed our very different breakfast food and entertainment. Marked down a little bit because of Tropic where it was tricky to get a decent meal . Both restaurants were fine, but neither was any better than fine.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the main house that we saw were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polychrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the tastefully decorated Stone Canyon Inn for 2 nights and were glad to be there - it really is the only nice facility near Bryce Canyon. Unfortunately none of the larger rooms in the main house was available so we stayed in the Garden Room on the second floor which is quite small and has no place to sit except the bed and a little stool. The bed itself was not the most comfortable, but we enjoyed the large bathroom. Odd that they only give you the tiniest of soaps and did not even replenish those or the other little toiletry amenities on the second day, just left the old ones with what was left in them.The headboard had artificial ivy leaves intertwined (hence, I suppose, "Garden Room"), which definitely could use a good dusting. Breakfast was nicely served and tasty, if a bit on the sweet side during our stay, especially since most of the people staying there will be spending the day in one of the Parks and could do with a hearty breakast. We appreciated the fact that the hosts allowed us a little later breakfast than the time they set. But why no refreshments of any kind in the afternoon and evening? This is something we have come to expect from a B&B. I'm glad we asked about nearby Kodachrome Basin State Park and were told that early evening was the best time to go. It's true that it's most dramatic at that time. But even before that this Park is gorgeous, not crowded, has some wonderful hikes and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiselaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a dreamy 2 bedroom cabin with a magnificent view. Once again on our tour of Utah, we opened the door and said WOW!!! My 20 somethings all decided they would design a cabin just like this someday! Cozy with quality throughout. Hot tub and a grill, well alright! We bought delicious meats and veggies at the corner store down the road and ate well for 2 days. The cabin supplies included condiments and spices galore..(thank you!) so that was a big plus. We managed to hike the entire Bryce Canyon in one day and were wowed once again by the magnificent views, our fav was peekaboo trail by far. We also took a drive to a creek that they suggested..lovely and the drive there is worth it..views from the top were unbelievable but you need at least an all wheel drive and it isn't for the faint of heart. Life was delightfully sweet and quiet in the middle of our tour of Utah.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently stayed two nights in the Stone Canyon Inn. Got the name from a travel guide and happened to be a great choice in the Bryce Canyon area. Excellent accommodations, very comfortable and great breakfast. For a great location in this area, this is the place to go. Very nice hosts as well and provided great recommendations for hiking trails, dinning options and other activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

There is not a whole lot going on in Tropic.....basically 2 restaurants and nothing to speak of for lodging. This place we stayed at is far better than the rest. They will steer you right on where to go in Bryce and what to see. Rent your own Cabin and enjoy. And dont ask a lot of questions. Still this place is better than the rest. Oh and if you want to bring food or wine.....Buy in Salt Lake City or Cedar Rapids.....State Liquor Store locally is weak where they have maybe a total of 10 wines in 4 varietals to choose from and the steaks look NASTY compared to what you find at another Supermarket.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Staying at the Stone Canyon Inn was a great choice for our visit to Bryce Canyon and the surrounding area. The cabins at Stone Canyon Inn are comfortable, peaceful and provided a relaxing atmosphere. We stayed for 5 nights and toured the National and State Parks from Capitol Reef to Zion. It was wonderful to be able to come back to the cabin each night, cook our dinner and then enjoy the stars while soaking in the private hot tub. The two bedrooms, two baths and a full kitchen were perfect for our group of four. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the Stone Canyon Inn as THE place to stay when visiting Bryce Canyon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,716 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bryce Trails Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Bryce Canyon Country Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Canyon Inn

Property: Stone Canyon Inn
Address: 1380 W. Stone Canyon Lane, Tropic, UT 84776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay at Bryce. We have four secluded cottages with two bedrooms, two baths, fully equipped kitchen and private hot tub. We also have 4 bungalows that are free standing king suites. They have a king bedroom, bathroom, living area and private porch. Stunning views from right under the rim of Bryce Canyon. Hike in to Bryce from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stone Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Canyon Hotel Tropic
Stone Canyon Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing