We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely rooms, surroundings, breakfasts and cowboy poetry!”
Review of Stone Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Canyon Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Inn is located on the outskirts of Tropic, in beautiful surroundings. We stayed for two nights the 2nd week in April, in the Cedar Room. Located just off the foyer on the inn’s main floor, this wonderful room has large windows on two sides, looking out to cliffs at the edge of Bryce Canyon National Park in one direction. In the other direction, one looks through the room’s private covered deck to a valley and hills beyond. The décor features restrained shades of cream, taupe and brown, and includes an excellent king-sized bed, comfortable two person couch and a small table with two café-style chairs. A minor detraction: the wall-mounted TV is not viewable from the couch. A marvelous antique rotary dial telephone and an old-style radio concealing modern electronics are very nice touches.

The bathroom is enormous and very well-equipped, with a spectacular Jacuzzi/sloping tub (perfect contours for reclining), separate shower, separate toilet room and double sinks with lots of counter and drawer space. The tub area has windows at the side and back, with shades that can be lowered from either top or bottom – nice for privacy without sacrificing light. Oversized, soft bath sheets are provided, in addition to a full set of other towels. Beyond the bathroom is a huge walk-in closet, with built-in shelving and lots of hanging space – the closet is really the size of a small bedroom. There is also a small refrigerator in the closet.

Next door to the Cedar Room and sharing its short hallway, is a smaller companion room with a standard bath and small closet; when booked with the Cedar Room, this would nicely accommodate a family.

Mike and Dixie provide outstanding multi-course breakfasts, efficiently served and accompanied by Mike’s recitation of cowboy poetry (think Baxter Black-style) and historical information about the area. Tables for six provide the opportunity to meet and learn from other guests about their experiences in the Park, which was really helpful. A sample breakfast menu: juice and a fresh berry/granola/yogurt parfait, followed by scrambled eggs with herbs and cheese, followed by French toast with maple/cranberry syrup and whole, cooked cranberries.

We felt that only one thing was missing: no coffee is available except in the early morning before breakfast. Given that no coffee service is provided in the room, coffee would have been very welcome during check-in hours, which are 3 to 8PM.

Room Tip: The Cedar Room has a fabulous bathroom and walk-in closet, plus private deck and spectacular views o...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
There are newer reviews for Stone Canyon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 638 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our 2 night stay at Bryce Canyon, during a 2 week tour of Utah and Arizona. What a good choice. I exchanged a couple of e mails with Dixie to confirm what we should bring with us, which was really useful and saved us a shopping trip when we got there. Our party comprised 2 couples and we stayed in a cabin, which was really good value for money. (There aren't many cottages you can book for just 2 days in the UK). The accommodation was spacious but cosy. Dixie advised us on how best to spend our 2 days, given we were expecting a snow storm on our 2nd day!! So we walked the Navajo loop plus a little more on the first day in blue skies and sunshine, followed by a wonderful evening soak in the hot tub. We then awoke to light snow and did the Peek a Boo Loop from the Tropic Train - just down the road from Stone Canyon Inn. We bunkered down in the cabin for the afternoon snow storm, which is when the cabin came into its own. We were as warm as toast, and really comfortable. Bryce Canyon is truly wonderful (our favourite stop on the trip) and Stone Canyon Inn (+ cabins) is a perfect base for a visit. (PS The Inn looked good too. We were envious of the smells at breakfast!)

Room Tip: All the cabins look the same in layout, and are nicely spread out with good views, so pick any.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Olive56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We called on our way to Bryce and were surprised they had a opening. We were given the guest cottage which could house an entire family and then some. Bernie greeted us and gave us a brief tour, and lay of the land. He was very cordial and answered all our questions. Our accommodations were very comfortable and mad for a good night sleep. Our morning breakfast was a treat and very delicious. We had a great oppurtunity to meet the other guests and compare notes on our vacations. The location of the inn is beautiful and the night sky was breathtaking. A great place to stay if you visit Bryce Canyon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaPGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent just one night with Dixie, our host, at The Stone Canyon Inn, they are quite close to the Bryce Canyon National Park. The Inn is well appointed and the rooms are of decent size. We stayed in The Wildflower Room, it has beautiful views of the scenery in the area. The bath area is a bit small, but not so much as to be uncomfortable. Dixie offered advice fitting for a short stay and served a delicious breakfast to sent use on our way the next morning. We would certainly stay at Stone Canyon for any visit to the Bryce area.

Room Tip: This Inn is two story, if you have mobility issues. There are first floor rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins on the property and in the evening you wouldn't know that you had neighbors. Very quiet.The owners were perfect, checked us in, gave us some advise about the trails and hikes in Bryce Canyon and then left us alone. The hot tub in the evening after walking all day was perfect, the stars were indescribable. Go

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runesyzygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in the inn. Room was very comfortable, the gourmet breakfasts unusual and delicious. Hosts friendly, lively, very interesting and gave tips on special sites to visit.
Overall a very enjoyable stay; in my mind better than being in the park (views are much better!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZYX032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My fiancé and I happened across this incredible place unknowingly by virtue of the internet. We were looking for a place to stay near Bryce Canyon N.P., which it is a little off the beaten path from Bryce, but totally worth the 20 minute or so drive out of the park. The Stone Canyon Inn is incredibly appointed and managed by truly wonderful hosts. The price was totally worth it, in fact, I would say that it is an incredible deal given the location and what the nearby places have to offer for the same cost in lodging. Our room was fabulous! It had a spectacular view of Bryce Canyon N.P. and surrounding area. Our room also had a large Jacuzzi tub with large window looking out on the scene as well. We loved it so much, that my fiancé was inquiring about getting married there. Enough said! Definitely worth the stay. We wish we had stayed longer than one night, hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,052 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
555 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
4.3 mi away
Bryce View Lodge
Bryce View Lodge
#4 of 6 in Bryce
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Canyon Inn

Address: 1380 W. Stone Canyon Lane, Tropic, UT 84776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range: $139 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay at Bryce. We have four secluded cottages with two bedrooms, two baths, fully equipped kitchen and private hot tub. We also have 4 bungalows that are free standing king suites. They have a king bedroom, bathroom, living area and private porch. Stunning views from right under the rim of Bryce Canyon. Hike in to Bryce from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stone Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Canyon Hotel Tropic
Stone Canyon Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing