We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stone Canyon Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Certificate of Excellence
Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
“Outstanding bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We spent a lovely few days at Stone Canyon Inn in September.
The room we stayed in was gorgeous. It had a magnificent view of the sunrise and a large Jacuzzi bath tub as well.
The breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cedar room and it was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    105
    34
    15
    4
See reviews for
128
329
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We enjoyed the owner, Dixie, and found her helpful, but were surprised that she asked us to pay balance upon walking in the door. She offered the fridge and freezer for personal items, then seemed annoyed when we took her up on it next day.

Enjoyed meeting other guests at breakfasts, but found the limited menu unhealthy and not a great start for a day of hiking. Did NOT appreciate owner Mike's so-called cowboy poetry, and understand from reading other reviews that he does this regularly. Our first morning a very nice employee served and was helpful without being obtrusive. He also gave us great recommendation for a hike in Bryce Canyon.

For the price expected to have some kind of afternoon beverages available and more options for breakfast.

Our second-floor room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The view was outstanding. The home is beautiful and looks up-to-date. Great location for a B&B.

We did not realize there was a hot tub on the premises, this was never mentioned to us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hikecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We loved our stay at Stone Canyon Inn. What an unexpected delight. The place was absolutely beautiful both inside & outside. The hot tub on the deck was great after hiking, deer came almost to our front door to nibble on foliage, the view was amazing & the owner, Dixie, was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stone Canon Inn is absolutely amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed our romantic getaway. Dixie and Mike are wonderful hosts...Dixie's food is glorious and we loved Mike's cowboy poetry at breakfast each morning. The inn is tasteful and comfortable in a beautiful setting. We stayed in a cottage adjacent to the main inn and it was spacious, immaculate, and wonderful with great desert views. Nearby Bryce Canyon is amazing, astounding, and awe-inspiring.We look forward to going back to Bryce Canyon and will definitely stay with Dixie and Mike again. Lisa & Steve

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This was my first experience staying at a B&B but it won't be my last! Stone Canyon Inn was quiet, clean, comfortable, and in a lovely setting near Bryce park. The owner was warm and friendly, guests were pleasant, and breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

After reading the great reviews and paying $200 per night plus taxes we had high expectations and were very disappointed on arrival at this b&b. We had paid one night's deposit in January and upon arrival was immediately taken to pay the balance for the other two nights. We were amazed by the lack of welcome and have never had to pay up front for hotel/b&b stays before. We were then shown to our room, the view was fantastic but the bedspread and settee cover looked like they needed replacing. There was no tea and coffee in the room or the little extras that you would expect for the very high price we paid. We did not find the owner welcoming or interested in us and found this b&b very business like.

During our three night stay we did not sleep well as we could hear toilets flushing, water running, people walking about and jacuzzis from the rooms above us. Other guests seemed happy with their rooms so perhaps staying upstairs in the less expensive rooms would have been better and certainly quieter!

We did not see the owners after the first morning and two very nice people served breakfasts for the next two days.

On a positive note the b&b is in a stunning location, breakfasts were nice and we enjoyed meeting and chatting with guests at breakfast time. Other guests seemed to be happy with their experience at this b&b but it certainly did not come up to the standard of service for which we had paid and we could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorsyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed in the guest house, which is beautiful, spacious, and clean, complete with soft leather couches, a large kitchen, and the washer/dryer enabled us to do our mid-trip laundry. We loved it all and everyone we met in the Inn was superbly friendly and very helpful regarding local logistics and more. Great setting. Light October snow on Bryce was gorgeous.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulErickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
3.3 mi away
Bryce Canyon Lodge
Bryce Canyon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley
1.4 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
1.5 mi away
Bryce Canyon Country Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Canyon Inn

Property: Stone Canyon Inn
Address: 1380 W. Stone Canyon Lane, Tropic, UT 84776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay at Bryce. We have four secluded cottages with two bedrooms, two baths, fully equipped kitchen and private hot tub. We also have 4 bungalows that are free standing king suites. They have a king bedroom, bathroom, living area and private porch. Stunning views from right under the rim of Bryce Canyon. Hike in to Bryce from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stone Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Canyon Hotel Tropic
Stone Canyon Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing