We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in the campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bryce Pioneer Village
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
loomis ca
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Stayed in the campsite”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

While most people stay in the cabins, we opted for the campgrounds. Picnic table and restrooms nearby. It could have used a bit more shade and the restrooms needed attention, but staff was very friendly there. Tropic is about 15 minutes away from the entrance to Bryce National Park and not a bad option for those on a budget. Not sure if it's windy all the time, but the wind really blew the 3 nights we were there in June. Made it difficult to cook or enjoy sitting outside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    146
    155
    43
    49
See reviews for
108
193
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Staff was friendly and there was easy access to our room from parking lot. However, wifi didn't work, rooms were small, AC plug didn't work so I luckily changed plugs and it worked and we found 2 strange bugs about an inch long in our room and one crawled on me while trying to fall asleep.

I'd recommend somewhere else unless you need a place to stay like we did for the half marathon and everything else was booked and expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runforfunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Ranch, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed two days at this location and can not recommend it.... The advertisement is miss-leading! These are NOT cabins. They are tiny, un-kept duplex units barely large enough to turn around in for a premium price. Tropic itself is a seasonal three block long stop to Bryce Canyon City where Bryce Canyon National Park exist... about ten miles further west on Hwy 12. Tropic's businesses are few and each charges ridiculous prices for what is offered. $14.00 for a bowl of pasta, $3.50 for a cup of bold coffee or a run through the one grocery store where I did fined an apple to eat. But the Bryce Pioneer Village is really the Tropic Pioneer Village that caters to foreign tourist brought in on buses. Unfortunately, the room I had was less then clean with worn-out towels, peeling paint, and no movie (HBO, Staz, Showtime)channels. In addition, the staff was so-so when it came to customer support. Top this with no access to the room until four PM, the rowdy bar that stays loud a stone's throw on the property, the dilapidated locks and doors and siding, and the 1.5 inch gap at the room's entry door bottom which allows in cold air and unwanted crawling creatures, etc... Just don't stay at this place. I'm glad my experience at this stop is over. Go the extra miles to Bryce Canyon City where you are next to the Canyon and not in an imitation/want-to-be scrap of a town named Tropic. You have to wonder why a three block town in the middle of a high desert is named Tropic?

Room Tip: Fined another hotel or cabins... There a many to choose from... and pay a little extra if you must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VitalSigns2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tropic hotels

Logan, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

There wasn't anything very nice about this motel, but I found it acceptable. I stayed there to enjoy Bryce Canyon, not for a luxurious hotel experience. My room was old and a little dingy, but it was clean. The water pressure in the shower was pretty low. I wasn't ever able to connect to the WIFI. There is a nice, grassy area with picnic tables behind the cabins. The staff was polite and helpful. I don't think I'd opt to stay here again, but it wasn't too bad and I don't have any serious complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeCatLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont,utah
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for the Bryce Canyon Half Marathon in July and it was horrible! we could not even get a cup of coffee! It was a single wide trailer made into a hotel and it smelled horrible! The beds were very uncomfortable! I will not waste my money here again! They have a great location just very poor upkeep.

Room Tip: dont waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My spouse and I stayed at this property for two days this October on our first visit to Bryce National Park. I did not check the Trip Adviser reviews but got information from the Frommer's book on the National Parks. This motel was described as clean, a good value in a relatively good location. Frommer's also stated that the rooms had phones, WiFi, and that the property had two hot tubs. We did have a large room with a refrigerator and microwave. The appliances worked and the water was hot. This is where the compliments end. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, the WiFi did not work, there was no phone and the towels and sheets were disgusting. The towels were grey, frayed and smelly. The sheets were thin and barely covered the bed. When I asked for a phone for the room, the desk staff stated that I must not have found it. Well, I may be in my 60's but I know what an empty phone jack looks like. There were no hot tubs. Apparently the room that we occupied did not have WiFi reception since the siding interfered with the reception. It was suggested that I sit outside on a cold and rainy evening and maybe I could get some reception. The staff member appeared to neither know how to fix problems and/or did not care. I usually find some good things to say about places (I found the hot water to be the good thing) but in this case I would not recommend this property at all. This property needs a major overhaul and the staff needs a major attitude adjustment.

Room Tip: Try to stay closer to the park when visiting Bryce Canyon National Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theavailablemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you're coming on a big tour group bus, I guess this place would be OK. I was not happy that a bus started up its engine outside my window very early in the morning; after all, the main reason you go to a hotel is to get a good nights' sleep. I was even unhappier when my shower turned cold in the morning. Rude awakenings with very little amenities. I will not be back - ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,840 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
627 reviews
18.9 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
481 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bryce View Lodge
Bryce View Lodge
#4 of 6 in Bryce
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryce Pioneer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Pioneer Village

Property: Bryce Pioneer Village
Address: 80 South Main Hwy 12, Tropic, UT 84776
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bryce Pioneer Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bryce Pioneer Village! Recently under new Management, we are Bryce Pioneer Village and we strive to make your stay a great experience. We have four types of rooms, which are: Single Queen Motel Rooms or Cabins, 3 Queen Cabins, Double Full Size Bed Motel Rooms, & Double Queen Size Bed Motel Rooms. We also have an on site Restaurant, "The Showdowns" (Please call ahead to see if we are open with entertainment on select nights, or go to our website for more information) There is plenty to do here in Tropic, including a secret back trail to Bryce Canyon National Park from here called Tropic Trail. We recently added a Pool/Hot Tub to the hotel, and are always making improvements in regard to our way of business and look forward to sharing what we have done with you! - Andrea Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Bryce Pioneer Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Pioneer Village Tropic, Utah
Bryce Pioneer Village Hotel Tropic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing