We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This entire project needs an update” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bryce Pioneer Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bryce Pioneer Village
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This entire project needs an update”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My spouse and I stayed at this property for two days this October on our first visit to Bryce National Park. I did not check the Trip Adviser reviews but got information from the Frommer's book on the National Parks. This motel was described as clean, a good value in a relatively good location. Frommer's also stated that the rooms had phones, WiFi, and that the property had two hot tubs. We did have a large room with a refrigerator and microwave. The appliances worked and the water was hot. This is where the compliments end. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, the WiFi did not work, there was no phone and the towels and sheets were disgusting. The towels were grey, frayed and smelly. The sheets were thin and barely covered the bed. When I asked for a phone for the room, the desk staff stated that I must not have found it. Well, I may be in my 60's but I know what an empty phone jack looks like. There were no hot tubs. Apparently the room that we occupied did not have WiFi reception since the siding interfered with the reception. It was suggested that I sit outside on a cold and rainy evening and maybe I could get some reception. The staff member appeared to neither know how to fix problems and/or did not care. I usually find some good things to say about places (I found the hot water to be the good thing) but in this case I would not recommend this property at all. This property needs a major overhaul and the staff needs a major attitude adjustment.

Room Tip: Try to stay closer to the park when visiting Bryce Canyon National Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theavailablemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    108
    125
    37
    45
See reviews for
87
144
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ivins
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you're coming on a big tour group bus, I guess this place would be OK. I was not happy that a bus started up its engine outside my window very early in the morning; after all, the main reason you go to a hotel is to get a good nights' sleep. I was even unhappier when my shower turned cold in the morning. Rude awakenings with very little amenities. I will not be back - ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tropic hotels

California City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Bryce Pioneer Village works, but does not impress.
Anyone who has made the Bryce Canyon trip knows the hotel situation. If you don't get into Ruby's you have to stay in Tropic (7 miles outside of Bryce).
Bryce Pioneer Village is one of those places in Tropic.
The hotel is built in a bungalow style with several buildings. I was first slotted into a room in the new building. It's across the river bed from the hotel lobby. Wifi did not work (bad signal). I moved across the river for the second night. Rooms are older on that side.
As the room was just for sleep, shower and leave it was fine.
Plus side:
1) Staff was great.
2) Walking distance to breakfast and store. I am all about park the car and stroll.

Room Tip: If WiFi is important, stay in rooms less than number 44. Over 44 is across the river. Try to get 24...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Arrived at hotel on part of fly drive booked though ATI. There seemed to be three sizes of wooden cabins. Wife suspected we would get the small ones at the rear. She was not wrong. The cabins can best be described as a large block of very small rooms. We found the room had one small bed a scruffy shower which had a strange type of small worm climbing from behind the tiles. Poor lighting, one ceiling light, window that did not lock properly and the main door had poor quality lock, so poor that we placed a chair behind it whilst sleeping. I suspect that this hotel save the worst rooms for ATI customers. I will be contacting ATI to advise them. Did not bother to complain as we suspected the complaint would have fallen on deaf ears

Room Tip: Dont even go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bundicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have stayed at many budget hotels around the country. This is one of the worst.

The positives are it had a bed, running water, and heat. The tv was digital, but only had around 10 channels. The best positive is that it is close to Bryce Canyon.

The room was dirty and old. The floor was not level, the bed was very hard. The hot water in the shower was not consistant and it did not drain. The outside door did not seal. They advertised Wi-Fi internet, but it was not working. No breakfast, but they had coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georden7 W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

If we hadn't arrived so late after spending a wonderful day in Bryce Canyon followed by a buffet supper in Ruby's, we would have found somewhere else to stay. It spoilt our 'perfect' day. I refused to set foot in the shower cubicle, use the towels or sleep in the bed, curtains were dirty and hanging off the wall,
It was booked through ATI and we have asked them to make sure that the remainder of the hotels booked for our self drive are not going to be like this......our hotels were supposed to be 'standard' or 'upgraded'...this falls a long way short of standard

Room Tip: Do not book any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAndyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here. This place is so dirty, dingy, old, unkept. The beds are terrible probably 20yrs old. The carpets are stained and unvacumed, the sheets and towels are so dirty and old you dont even dare touch them. The two front desk staff that we talked to Aly and Shauna are rude and dont seem to know what they are doing. Also I woke up to sores all over my arms due to bed bugs... DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwilkenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,106 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bryce Canyon Lodge
Bryce Canyon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
1.4 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryce Pioneer Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Pioneer Village

Property: Bryce Pioneer Village
Address: 80 South Main Hwy 12, Tropic, UT 84776
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bryce Pioneer Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bryce Pioneer Village! Recently under new Management, we are Bryce Pioneer Village and we strive to make your stay a great experience. We have four types of rooms, which are: Single Queen Motel Rooms or Cabins, 3 Queen Cabins, Double Full Size Bed Motel Rooms, & Double Queen Size Bed Motel Rooms. We also have an on site Restaurant, "The Showdowns" (Please call ahead to see if we are open with entertainment on select nights, or go to our website for more information) There is plenty to do here in Tropic, including a secret back trail to Bryce Canyon National Park from here called Tropic Trail. We recently added a Pool/Hot Tub to the hotel, and are always making improvements in regard to our way of business and look forward to sharing what we have done with you! - Andrea Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Bryce Pioneer Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Pioneer Village Tropic, Utah
Bryce Pioneer Village Hotel Tropic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing