We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Basic accomm with lovely views, suited us fine....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Tropic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Basic accomm with lovely views, suited us fine....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Didn't get to meet Jeanne but Kevin introduced himself when we arrived, showed us to the room & told us where we could eat. Not a huge choice of restaurants in town, but it's a small place! As with other reviews, we were a bit disappointed in the lack of amenities in the room: no wardrobe (we did have some drawers), no fridge or coffee making facilities but it didn’t bother us too much. Being upstairs we didn’t hear anyone else and found the B&B quite tranquil. The only real down side for us was the temperature in the room - it was roasting all night. We had an upstairs room with a balcony but because the room was at the side of the house, with a big window (no curtain), it got sunshine all day and on our 2nd day we couldn't face going back to the room until the sun was going down. There was a fan but we had to open the door to the room & the door to the balcony to circulate any cooler air which didn’t lead to much privacy. We had a nice stay but we did feel it was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VixieOrch40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    58
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
35
146
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

As with the last two reviewers, we were disappointed in the lack of common amenities: no place for clothes (even wall hooks), no frig., second-hand bedding and towels. The mattress was old and hard. The pillows were also hard and lumpy. Upon arrival we felt no welcome from Kevin, certainly no helpful advice about the area. We clearly heard every footstep and flush from above. From the pictures, I expected a small ranch in an open area. The house is actually in a neighborhood of the small community.
While I commend people for trying to enhance their income in a bit of a depressed area, we could not justify paying over $100/night for such poor accommodations. We left after one night even having to pay for three.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Manager at Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Our Bed and Breakfast has never advertised that it is a private secluded ranch. We are in fact two miles from the park entrance with room views looking right into Bryce canyon. we have never charged a guest for rooms they booked and didn't stay. unless their room could not be filled. Also September is the busiest month of the season so I'm sure the room was filled. If you can show me where you were charged and didn't stay I will gladly issue you a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our experiences were similar to those of other reviewers. Upon check-in we were hastily taken to our room by a man who didn't introduce himself. I suppose that was Kevin, but we saw no more of him or of Jeanne. Breakfast was served by their daughter-in-law and was an adequate selection of home made items plus cereal, fruit, juices, coffee, etc. The room, which was on the ground floor, was small with no sitting area and no closet. The bathroom was large and held some of our overflow items. There was no refrigerator or coffee maker, and no common area for guests to gather. The concrete walkway in front of the room was equiped with a bench but was not very useable because it faced directly west into the setting sun. We heard a lot of noise from the room above but otherwise the B&B was very quiet. There was no separate control over heating and cooling, so the downstairs rooms tended to be cool while the upstairs rooms were hot. Regardless, upstairs rooms are probably superior because they have a balcomy overlooking Bryce and would be shaded in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter and have balconies with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stilltraveling65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good breakast with the owners daughter in law giving us a varied selection of home made items together with the normal cereals,fresh fruit,juices etc.
We didn't see much of Kevin and Jeanne and the layout with the guest rooms having no direct access to the house left us with only the bedroom to relax in.There were no wardrobes,fridge or coffee facilities in the room(we were able to use the fridge in the kitchen but access was on request)
The bathroom,bedroom and linen were clean but well used.
The view from our verandah was tremendous looking out towards the canyon and the area was very quiet.The closeness to the canyon was a good advantage and for the hikers a walkable 4 miles.A short walk (1 mile round trip)off US12 to Mossy Cave was also close by.
Overall not perfect but good value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Bryce Canyon Livery Bed & Breakfast. Jeanne & Kevin were wonderful hosts. By the end of the stay we felt like family. They were so helpful with suggestions and information about the area. Jeanne shared interesting stories about the history of their beautiful family land. A beautiful setting and view of Bryce Canyon.

The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. We stayed in the Tammy room. The only drawback was that there was no table to use in the evening to play cards or use my computer. Had to sit on the bed. The bathrooms were small, but adequate. A small shelf in the bathroom would have been nice to be able to put your cosmetics on. The ceiling fan made a clicking sound, but only on high. Eliminated that by just putting it on medium.

The breakfasts were good, but two of the mornings they ran out of food. We had plenty but those arriving a bit later did not. Make sure you get there by 8:00.

We spent one full day at Bryce and the second day took an ATV through the Grand Staircase. Wonderful experience. Be sure and set it up through Jeanne. Her son gives tours and is wonderful. His wife Brie helps with the breakfast.

Only really negative experience was eating at the Pizzeria in Tropic. Pizza was not eatable and I love pizza. Don't waste your money there. Not much in town to choose from however.

Thank you Jeanne and Kevin for contributing to a wonderful vacation for us. It certainly made our trip to Utah for the first time memorable.

Room Tip: Get the room on the ground floor if you don't like steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed one night in the Kevin and Jeannee Room. While not plush, it was clean and comfortable. We sipped a glass of wine on our balcony overlooking a beautiful country view next to Bryce Canyon. It is conveniently close to the Canyon entrance. At breakfast we met other travelers from Germany, Spain and the US. International conversation over breakfast is what sets these establishments apart from hotels...and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My experience with B&B's is that the beds are always super-comfy with lots of pillows but this was not the case here. Mediocre to low end mattress, one pillow. Made for a not-so-comfy night of sleep. Sheets were clean.The ceiling fan made a faint, irregular ticking noise (like a tiny woodpecker).

My wife and I were in the Tammy (or was it Tiffany?) room. Had a nice patio facing Bryce.

Bathroom was budget too. Not much counter space, rather plain and uninspired.

Breakfast was a totally different story. The woman we met (Irene) who was subbing in for the owners cooked us a mean breakfast - lots of eggs and even more bacon as we don't eat wheat. Great coffee and conversation where we found out she was actually from our hometown of Vancouver BC!! We left with our stomachs full of solid home cooking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMAK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.0 mi away
Bryce Canyon Lodge
Bryce Canyon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,564 reviews
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley
0.7 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast
Address: 660 W 50 S., P.O. Box 24, Tropic, UT 84776 (Formerly Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast is Located in the heart of Bryce Canyon. Tropic Utah, to be exact. We are NOT located on the main Highway (Bywy 12) instead, we are west of the main Highway 4 Blocks with a spectacular view of Bryce right from every room and balcony including the beautiful front porch. Waking up every morning to watch the sun light up the pink hills and kiss the beautiful gardens on the property is both breathtaking and refreshing. We are in a quiet part of town with very minimal traffic and light pollution so stargazing from the front lawn is easy and enjoyable. Our Rooms are newly remolded, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very rewarding. With our signature homemade sour dough waffles and berry syrup every morning to go along with the main dish and fresh fruit. Coffee, tea and orange juice are always served and refreshing. With a warm home feel to this quante little place you will be sure to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bryce Canyon Livery Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Canyon Livery Bed And Breakfast Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing