We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
135
42
11
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
135
42
11
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bison great room capitol reef old west hot tub vintage room first floor large fireplace dining room windows carried our bags western charm the utah national parks outdoor cats modern amenities box lunches surrounding cliffs blueberry pancakes
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 209 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This historic lodge is located close to Capital Reef Park and is a perfect oasis after a long day of hiking and exploring. The lodge is lovely and well kept with historic photos and artifacts. Every room has its own theme; each cozy and comfortable. Super comfortable bed! The great room is perfect for lounging as are the front and side patio areas. The hot tub in the middle of the back lawn is spectacular for night sky gazing. Breakfasts are delicious but not included. The family that owns/runs the lodge is friendly, accommodating, helpful in every way. We loved this place.

Room tip: Rear facing mountain best. 1st advantage of ext. door & small patio. Front view of fields & bison but some road noise.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cvcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Reading reviews about service was a little scary but we did not experience poor service so perhaps there have been significant changes from ten years ago.

This place is beautiful juxtaposed against the towering rock cliffs and has a small herd of bison roaming in the front yard.

The rooms are smallish but so are the far more expensive lodges in Yellowstone or Yosemite to name a couple. Concur with the comments about sound transmission between the rooms and perhaps some thick rugs could help reduce it. Just be forewarned.

Breakfast was very good and $20 for farm eggs and bacon for two is not expensive.
Staff was very accommodating. Charlene took care of all our requests including refrigerating our wine and beer.

As a further suggestion, it would be wonderful if there was a Keurig coffee maker available for guests in the dining room - 24 hours a day.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank elfinforesttony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

We spent two pleasant nights at the Lodge at Red River Ranch in Autumn, a second floor room. The room was clean, comfortable and charming with an atmospheric Old West decor. Although the room was a bit dark, it was a well air conditioned respite from the outdoor heat.The onsite restaurant offered a delicious breakfast with polite and friendly service.The innkeeper was unobtrusive but available when needed. It felt as if we were staying in a private home rather than a lodge. I most enjoyed sitting outside with a morning coffee watching hummingbirds fly and bison graze against the spectacular red rock background.

Room tip: The upper floor balconies are very small. They are useful for stepping out to take in the view, but not for sitting.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank r0adtrip4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

We loved our recent stay here. The room was quaint and charming and well appointed. It is set in beautiful open countryside and was very peaceful. While breakfast is served on site, we missed not being able to have dinner or a drink here, needing to drive into Torrey for this. It was a quiet stay with not much interaction with other guests or the family who own/run the lodge.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank str0nges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

We loved our stay at the Lodge at Red River Ranch. This is not a lodge like those at Bryce Canyon or Zion NPs - this is a real lodge. Each room is unique. It's family run. Has loads of character. Board games are available and more.

There are a couple of outdoor cats (Mazie and Benji) to greet you (well Mazie hangs out more than Benji), but they both came with us when we went for an evening hike below the cliffs on the property. The breakfast was laid back and very tasty, favorites included the french toast and blue berry pancakes.

There was A/C but we didn't need it at night, just open the windows and let nature do its thing. It really was a great way to sleep.

Also don't miss the stars - living on the east coast of the US really has too much light pollution to see anything like what you can see here. We wish we could have seen more of them but we kept exhausting ourselves in Capital Reef.

We visited in the summer (July), I'd recommend early hikes with a leisurely afternoon to avoid the heat, then go back out after dinner or in the late afternoon for round two if you want.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cinnamon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews