We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Gorgeous!”

Antelope Island State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Antelope Island Tour
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful park located on the largest of the Great Salt Lakes islands; features lots of white-sand beaches, hiking and biking trails in addition to a variety of flora and fauna, including deer, bob cats, and of course, antelopes.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I chose this location to shoot a video, and we specifically chose it for its contrast. It had mountains, fields of grain, peaks, flat land... everything. Not to mention buffalo, antelope, birds, and coyotes! Buffalo Point was worth the hike (even with TONS of film gear) and was such an amazing view. We went at the beginning of March this year (there was tons of snow still on the ground), so it was chilly but still enjoyable. I would love to camp here in late spring or early fall. They have campsites you can reserve for $10 a night! Plus they have a view of Salt Lake City OVER the lake, with the mountains in the background. I loved it. I would go back there again to film and most definitely to hike, bike, camp or picnic!

Not to mention, everyone is Utah is incredibly nice and helpful, they made our experience even better. The park rangers were all very sweet and accommodating.

The only thing i'd say - check out the bathrooms on the map! There aren't a ton, so plan accordingly :) There also aren't any food or drink options. So coolers and snacks are a must.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank reneec156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    266
    47
    8
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“100% Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We just spent two days shooting a promo video piece on Antelope Island for a local author and it was absolutely incredible. There are so many distinct looks + views with very easy access. We really lucked out with the weather, so that didn't hurt the experience. Definitely make the trek over to Buffalo Point - breathtaking, especially at sunset.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonathanfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
233 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Best way to explore Salt Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We wanted just to see Salt Lake and got this tip. It was great! We observed buffalos, antelopes and hares, have been to the nice visitor's center and saw the ranch that's also worth visiting. The trails must be pretty exciting too. It's a pity that there's no road around the whole island. The fee of 9 USD is not very low. But it was definitely worht the visit!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blodenwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WALTON BEACH
Level Contributor
197 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great chance to see some wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

First off, we went in September, thus missing the throngs of people. Such a plus! Once we reached the park entrance, we proceeded to drive the 5-6 mile causeway which links to the island, and were treated to a bevy of birds and waterfowl on either side of us. Am sure that view would be quite different depending on the time of year. Since there isn't much shade to be found in the beautiful wide open spaces of the island, we were again grateful for the season in which we visited. The visitor center, with modern restrooms, was interesting, albeit on a small scale. We were fortunate enough to see many bison, mule deer, pronghorn (related to goats and antelope), and six coyotes, and it was much fun trying to spot them. The historic Fielding Garr Ranch is quite interesting to visit, but it is 11 miles through the park at 25 mph, so time could definitely be an issue. Open year round, $9 per vehicle.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank windgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Buffalo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The whole reason for this place is to see buffalo. You see them and then you're done. If you already drive near here anyway, that's worth the trip, otherwise, debatable.

Helpful?
Thank Rose-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antelope Island State Park also viewed

 
Syracuse, Davis County
 

Been to Antelope Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing