We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Place”
Review of Sundance Resort

Sundance Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Sundance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owned by Robert Redford and known for its film festival, Sundance is uncrowded and offers top-notch skiing and atmosphere.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Getting to Sundance Resort is a beautiful drive from almost any direction, and the beauty doesn't stop when you get there. We took the life to Ray's Summit and then hiked along a narrow trail to a picnic table where we could see a beautiful waterfall. Out of our bag came a bottle of wine, some tapas and salad and we were set for a wonderful picnic in one of the most beautiful settings imaginable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank edpaytontulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    42
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Robert Redford's Resort in the mountains near Park City, UT”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Gorgeous setting. Went as a group of five. Took the short ski lift up to the top and hiked a bit. Beautiful views at the top.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wizmizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Summer at Sundance”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Sundance on a hot day is beautiful. The parking lot was full, but staff directed us to another parking area where they had buses to take people down to the main areas. After a quick lunch at the deli (pickup picnic style food, all very tasty) we took the lift up the mountain. The lift stops frequently....so if you are not a fan of heights, this may not be the place for you. My family took the easy Mandan hike.....easy for Sundance, maybe not for everyone. This mile long loop took you around the mountain, with big drops to one side. It was beautiful, and we came across a flock of wild turkeys, but a little much for kids. We took the lift back down. Sundance is a pretty place to spend your day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eml76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous views while horseback riding”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have gone horseback riding many times while on vacation, but by the far the best horses and paths are at Sundance Resort. We had a two hour ride on a gorgeous Sunday morning in this beautiful canyon with the Stewart Falls as our destination.Very nice leader who chatted just the perfecta mount and was very kind to our 9 year old rider. Followed by brunch at the resort, looking up at the canyon scenery...doesn't get much better!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City USA
Level Contributor
768 reviews
356 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Respect for Nature is No. 1”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've been coming to this outdoor recreation area since it was called Timp Haven & all it had was a rope tow up to a death-defying tubing run (errant tubes careened into the river). I happened to meet Robert Redford on the ski lift on day, not long after he bought the place in 1969. Ever since his stewardship of the resort began, his respect for nature and the environment have been his guiding lights. I respect him for staying true to that. The resort is in a magnificent natural bowl that some years gets pretty good snow - and some years pretty marginal snow. The wintry offerings have been supplemented with indoor and outdoor theaters, wholesome restaurants and luxurious lodging options. The resort retains a very rustic character, which I find charming. Although the film festival of the same name, which originated here, has long since out-grown the place (and moved to other locations in Park City, Salt Lake City and other venues), there is still one theater operating here...and I find it fun to take in one of the films each year, in the spirit of remembering the place's roots. The resort seems to be very well managed and maintained. I always consider it a treat to come here. If I can come at a time of year when the Alpine Loop drive is open, it's a wonderful day trip. Plenty of hiking trails, horseback rentals - oh, and if there's good snow, the skiing is terrific fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jg3arrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundance Resort also viewed

Sundance, Wasatch Range
Sundance, Wasatch Range
 
Provo, Wasatch Range
Sundance, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing