We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tries to be way too many things at the same time - and almost succeeds”
Review of Sundance Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundance Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundance
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I don't think Robert Redford knew exactly what he wants to build here. A luxury resort? A cosy place for great skiing? The nice place in the neighbourhood for fine dining? A down to earth, "we are all friends" place for the festival? An arty, rustic cultural center? Obviously, nobody can succeed in so many categories, but this place gets quite close.

Pros:
- Great, big rooms. We had a loghouse with two rooms, lots of square meters, lots of wood, nice, warm carpets, great kitchen, surrounded by tall pine trees.
- A good basic restaurant and a great fine diner
- Excellent ski lift, reaching really nice views even in the summer, I imagine they are amaying in winters
- Lots of trees, greens, small lakes
- a nice location, close to Provo, good day trips to many parks, Salt Lake City, Antelope Island
- has a very interesting "we know we are unique and cool but we downplay it" atmosphere

Cons:
- Unusually large area. It took us 10 mins one way with kids to walk from the room to the restaurant, a bit too long
- The bathtub had scratches, and looked old and outdated
- Booking tables on a Friday evening can fail, they promise you will have something with maximum a bit of wait, you go there on time, wait 45 mins, kids running around, eventually getting sleepy, you walk back to the house with them (long walk)
- No spa or swimming pool

Overall, it worth its somewhat hefty price and can act as a good place to discover central Utah, but will not give you a full resort experience.

Room Tip: Check the distance to the restaurant :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 433 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

The scenery around the resort was beautiful,but there wasn't enough places to sit and enjoy the outdoors. There are only two restaurants and it gets a little boring going to the same place night after night. Glad we have been there, but not high on my list to go back anytime soon.

Room Tip: Whatever you do don't get a room that has a B after the number. The rooms are small,dark and noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1029Care
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I didn't think I'd get a chance to stay here and it was even better than I had imagined.

The whole place blends into the mountainside and greenery so well you wouldn't know it was there...which is the point. It's a very ecologically conscious place.

The staff are excellent and looked after me beautifully; from the valet who drove me up to my room when the walk was too steep, to the front desk staff who were fabulous.

I was given a cabin up in the Mandan district. Quite high up on the hill behind the main buildings.

It was absolutely gorgeous and completely self-contained.

It had a full kitchen, washer/dryer, deep jacuzzi, gorgeous walk-in shower, balcony and the most comfortable bed.

The toiletries were all organic and handmade, the towels luxurious.

Everything was of the highest quality and I could have lived here for a couple of months, easily.

Pendleton blankets drape over the sofa and cover the bed. The decor is lovely without trying too hard.

There was no iPod dock or luggage rack - I used the bench. There was a TV and a rocking chair to watch it from, or you could sit on the leather sofa.

There is free parking within a short walk from the cabin. You need the maps they give you when you check in, it's a circuitous drive up. If you don't want to drive up and down, you can just call the valets and they'll come and get you.

I also went to the spa which was only a short walk down the hill from my cabin. It was total luxury and worth it.

It was fantastic and you have to stay here at least once.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at Sundance three nights out of five for a recent vacation. First night was in a Mountain Suite. A few nights later we came back and stayed in a Sundance Suite. Mountain was much more than we needed. But had a creek running outside to listen to. Sundance Suite much more typical if you are used to a normal business hotel. Lodging quality and amenities were great. Staff was probably the most helpful, pleasant, etc. that we have experienced. Food at the Foundry Grille was excellent. Don't miss the Sunday brunch if you are there. Everything is pricey, but "you get what you pay for". We'd go back without any second thoughts. Lots of small state parks and trails to wander off to in the area. Keep in mind that it is probably at about 5000 feet elevation, so one can get winded easily.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

So I can't review the rooms. The grounds are beautifully kept and litter free. Took a picnic lunch and ate on the lawn - no picnic tables though. We rode the ski lift up and back, a great way to see the fall colors. Tons of bikers were riding up and biking the trails down. A great family outing!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have yet to find another place like Sundance. The unique surroundings, the crisp smell, and overall wholesome goodness...these are only a few things that make Sundance so awesome. This resort is one of the best kept secrets in America.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

You were a wonderful respite in the middle of our road trip through the states. I only wish we had more time to spend, but can honestly say...we will be back again. We stayed in one of your private mountain suite cabins and it was so much more then we expected. It was gorgeously appointed and so comfortable. We had a truly memorable dinner at the tree room. The food was fantastic and thanks to your staff we left feeling like part of the family. They were great! We also had an amazing breakfast at The Foundry Grill. The Trout Eggs Benedict was the best Eggs Benedict ever, and the staff was just the friendliest and warmest...Again, wonderful people in a creative and peaceful environment. You notice all the love in the details...I would highly recommend Sundance! Thanks for the memories, we look forward to returning and making some more!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkSanctuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sundance
20.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
735 reviews
15.9 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
895 reviews
16.5 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
626 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
20.7 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Park City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort

Address: 8841 N Alpine Loop Rd, Sundance, UT 84604-5538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sundance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundance
Price Range: $294 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundance Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded by Robert Redford in 1969, Sundance Mountain Resort is a year-round luxury mountain resort dedication to conservation, the arts, and community. We offer lodging accommodations ranging from a standard room to a four-bedroom home. We also have award-winning restaurants, shopping outlets, conference and catering services, and much more. Our Resort offers the following year-round activities: • Fly fishing • Art classes • Spa treatments • And more. We also offer the following seasonal activities: • Downhill skiing and snowboarding • Cross country skiing • Hiking and mountain biking • Horseback riding • Summer Theatre and Bluebird Cafe Concert Series • And more. "Sundance is an arts community, a recreational community, a community of people who appreciate the beauty of nature and feel the responsibility to preserve it... As you'll see, Sundance has many shapes, many moods, and many possibilities. Somewhere in our community awaits an experience which belongs to you and we are committed to helping you find it." -Robert Redford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sundance Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Hotel Sundance
Sundance Resort Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing