We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtful staff + beautiful surroundings = perfect anniversary”
Review of Sundance Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundance Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundance
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Customer service is king here. We reserved our suite over the Internet as part of the "Table for Two" package, and the following day we got a call from the hospitality group to help us reserve a table at one of the two restaurants on site. At that time my wife mentioned briefly that this was a special occasion for us - our anniversary. A few days later, we got another call informing us that the staff were thinking how they could make our anniversary more memorable for us, and that a nicer room had opened up that was closer to the restaurants - with our permission they would move our booking to that room (they didn't want to move us if we had a different preference). Our experience has been that all the rooms in the resort are very nice (we've stayed there 4 times now), but we took their recommendation, finding out later that the room they had recommended was considered the best in the resort. When we arrived, the front desk staff greeted us warmly, wished us a happy anniversary, and made us feel like VIPs. The suite indeed was beautiful - a fun open floor plan very nicely decorated, and right next to a large stream, which delighted us with the sound of water cascading over the rocks. We were further surprised and delighted with a hand-written card wishing us a happy anniversary, and directing us to the refrigerator where they had stashed some complimentary chocolate dipped strawberries and sparkling cider. Our dinner in the Tree Room was wonderful with outstanding flavors and fun and unique dishes - you must try the spring pea soup and the lemon sorbet! Following dinner we took a delightful walk along the paths next to the streams. Sundance is well kept and very beautiful and peaceful. One thing you do need to know is that the rooms do not have central air conditioning because of the mountain climate. However, on the (fairly warm) days that we were there, the fans and portable A/C unit provided made for a very pleasant room temperature. Following a nice breakfast in the Foundry Grill, we capped off our weekend with a trip up the chairlift. We will be back to try out some of the many trails that run through the mountains (this is our first time staying at the resort in the late summer). The resort has spectacular beauty but the staff made this a truly incredible experience.

Room Tip: We loved the pines area, but each area has its own charm
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Sundance Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 416 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We loved our stay here I just wish it could have been longer. We had a beautiful chalet which was clean and well appointed. The meals were amazing and the scenery was inspiring. From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful and caring, even the booking agent was great, we actually spoke for 45 minutes. She helped us to plan the rest of our stay in other locations. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer as we didn't have time to try any of the scheduled walks or classes. We also loved the Sundance shop, I could have stayed and shopped for hours...oh wait, I did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view not too far from the restaurants, especially when it is cold.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My daughter (27) and I spent 5 days solely at the Sundance Resort this summer. It was everything the website stated, and more. I was prepared to deal with some unpleasantries mentioned in some other trip advisor reviews, and I never encountered anything except a very high level of professionalism from every single resort employee, no matter their position.

The nuts and bolts: The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and nicely decorated. Our bed was comfortable, with nice linen, no lumps or pits. They give you plenty of pillows, and even extras in the closet. Our room was one of the farthest out, and was a walk to get to, but we were also able to park very close if we chose to drive. Plus, the resort has drivers who can pick you up and take you to your room almost instantly. The longest we waited for a ride was about 5 minutes. I've waited longer in larger hotels. We enjoyed walking, but if you have mobility issues, there are a lot of stairs, but there are plenty of options.

The restaurants were top notch. I liked the flexibility of the dining as a whole. They cover it all, from deli to fine dining, and everything we ate was beautifully prepared. The decor is beautifully done, and no matter how many times we ate in the same room, we found something new to look at. The Owl Bar is the resorts bar/pub, and I highly recommend that a casual evening be spent there. My daughter and I had the pleasure of meeting some great folks, and got to enjoy live music from a fantastic local band.

The Art Shack. Truth be told, it's the resorts art shack that brought us to Sundance. My daughter is a research scientist, but relaxes by creating jewelry. The art shack has a jewelry silversmithing class, and since the purpose of our trip was to just relax, why not spend it learning something new. She ended up making 4 gorgeous rings. The instructors were very professional and kind. They spent quality time explaining the art and process. It inspired us to take one of the other art classes that they offer, pottery. We had such a good time, and were taught so well, that we've decided to buy our own potters wheel. The art shack also offers drawing/painting and photography. We will definitely do those upon our return.

We took advantage of the spa and got much needed massages. The massage therapists we had were very good. They both were cognizant of our needs. I can confidently say that the experience was exceptional for both of us. One of the best massages that both of us have ever had.

A local gentleman suggested that we get our lunch from the deli and take the ski lift on a round trip to have the best view any lunch can offer. He was right, and we will never forget that one of a kind view of Utah. The ride is an hour round trip and worth a day trip to the resort for that very reason.

We purchased a package that included horseback riding and mountain biking with our nightly rate. The horseback ride was one of the nicest I've ever done on a vacation. Our trail guide was kind, professional and was clearly meant for this line of work. It was the highlight of the trip for me. The downhill biking was nice. We were fitted on two cruisers and we spent the morning following the Provo River. When we finished, the resort sent our guide, Owen, to pick us up. He was a very kind and professional gentleman.

The grounds are beautiful and maintained at a very high level. It is easy to see why so many creative types of people visit. It's truly inspirational. You never feel as if you're in a big resort. It's creatively laid out to give the impression that it's intimate. Well done.

It seemed as if the resort genuinely wanted us to have a good time. We were constantly asked if we needed anything, and if we did, there was no hesitation. Our Concierge, Kimberlee was very helpful. She even called us prior to our visit to prearrange our activities so that we didn't waste a moment while at the resort. That was very impressive and only further demonstrates their high level of service.

I highly recommend that you visit this resort, no matter what the season is.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHuante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Probably best known for its founder, Robert Redford and the annual indy film festival which it co-hosts with nearby Park CIty Utah, and for it's fabulous skiing mountain every winter, Sundance is a great bet for a getaway in the summer as well. The rooms are like mini cabins, many designed around a mountain stream which provides the perfect backdrop of cool and quiet. Beautifully designed for the guests complete comfort, there's a serenity unlike similar world class resorts, and with designer kitchenware, art and furniture. The rooms are all differently arranged...no two even remotely alike. Some even have hot tubs above the babbling brook for hikers in need of a place to end the day. Comfortable and classy.
The rooms are a staging area for the many nature trails up and down the mountains amidst the birch and pine forests and beautiful seasonal wild flowers.
The intrepid will want to take the ski lift to the top of Sundance and look over the Great Salt Lake basin...easily 40-50 miles on a clear day. As you ride down a steady stream of mountain bikers zoom along below only to catch the lift next to the YURT at the bottom again and again and go down the various trails.
The shopping, for those unacquainted with the catalog, is spectacular. Clothing, furniture, much indian inspired along with beautiful jewelery, designer elements, cutlery and props.....an enlightening array of objects that would improve any room anywhere.
The walls of the hallways of the main building are covered with memorabilia from the film festival where Redford has entertained practically every majore star and producer/director over the past three decades.
Then there's the OWL bar which was moved hook line and sinker from Wyoming; with its gorgeous rosewood bar legend is that this was a favorite of Butch Cassidy's Hole In The Wall Gang.
The main dining feature is the fabled TREE ROOM, an exquisite haute cuisine experience with candle light, subdued settings, all serving as a backdrop for native american art from across the west. Oh----and there's a huge tree around which the dining room was constructed. The food is terrific. The service outstanding. The price reflects the atmosphere, cuisine and service perfectly.
The grill room provides a lovely luncheon/brunch setting, while the deli is perfect for taking a HUGE sandwich out on the trail. There's no need to ever leave Sundance.
The variety of service personnel from the greeters at reception to the drivers who take your luggage to your room to the ski lift operators and jewelery/yoga/art instructors are all devoted to the guest. Top drawer.
We've seen mid size corporations and organizations using the state of the conference center which sits along the lake in the middle of the resort.
Hikers, conventioneers, foodies, skiiers, film buffs....it's all there for the picking. And during summer live musical productions are an extra added attraction.
Sundance is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near or ON the mountain stream on the first floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baird t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

When you come here in Summer, the rooms (which are very nice) don't matter at all. Just plan to live outdoors where wandering trails go along the side of picturesque brooks and wildflowers in bloom everywhere. Grassy knolls dotted with college kids picnicking took me back to my own college days. The ski lifts take you to gorgeous running, hiking and mountain biking trails. And down the street is a 13 mile Provo/Jordan River trail that was a fun run. Everything is accessible - not self-important. I really wish my wife and kids had been with me on this trip - what a place to be with the family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in Wildfllower cabin with our party of 7. The stay was a highlight of our 3 week road trip. The cabin was incredibly comfortable, nothing was overlooked, the hot tub on the deck was wonderful after a day of hiking. We enjoyed the Sunday Brunch, food was superb, leave space for it all! We also enjoyed the bar, wonderful setting, great service. The spa treatments were great. Our hike to nearby waterfall was brilliant ( lots of different trails can be accessed via Sundance chairlift) , be warned the water is freezing but walking under the waterfall is exhilarating! The staff at Sundance could not be more helpful and informative, the shuttle service was great. The hotel prices for what we got were great value. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: If there is enough in your party go for Wildflower Cabin, its fantastic
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith_hooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the last year and none before. But it is already my favorite place to stay. The customer service is second to none. Each room is individually done. None that I have stayed in are close to the same, but all are amazing. The staff remembers you and you likes. Even down to the cookies and diet coke in the fridge. It is the perfect place for families. If you are looking for a resort without all of the crowds but all the amenities then this is your place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sundance
16.5 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
15.9 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
859 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
17.9 mi away
The St. Regis Deer Valley
The St. Regis Deer Valley
#13 of 60 in Park City
847 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort

Address: 8841 N Alpine Loop Rd, Sundance, UT 84604-5538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sundance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundance
Price Range: $291 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundance Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded by Robert Redford in 1969, Sundance Mountain Resort is a year-round luxury mountain resort dedication to conservation, the arts, and community. We offer lodging accommodations ranging from a standard room to a four-bedroom home. We also have award-winning restaurants, shopping outlets, conference and catering services, and much more. Our Resort offers the following year-round activities: • Fly fishing • Art classes • Spa treatments • And more. We also offer the following seasonal activities: • Downhill skiing and snowboarding • Cross country skiing • Hiking and mountain biking • Horseback riding • Summer Theatre and Bluebird Cafe Concert Series • And more. "Sundance is an arts community, a recreational community, a community of people who appreciate the beauty of nature and feel the responsibility to preserve it... As you'll see, Sundance has many shapes, many moods, and many possibilities. Somewhere in our community awaits an experience which belongs to you and we are committed to helping you find it." -Robert Redford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Sundance Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Hotel Sundance
Sundance Resort Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing