We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sundance Resort A Must!”
Review of Sundance Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sundance Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundance
Certificate of Excellence
Coto de Caza, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sundance Resort A Must!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just spent a long weekend at the Sundance Resort in Utah. The food and service was beyond excellent! It was a very warm and friendly atmosphere and the rooms were great. Lots of privacy and beautiful scenery. This place is a MUST visit to get away and relax. We plan to make it an annual trip. Put it on your bucket list of places to stay. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResortTeam, Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are truly flattered by the many compliments in your review of Sundance Resort, thank you. It was a pleasure to have you spend the weekend with us and we’re thrilled that we could provide you with the accommodations, services and scenery necessary to create a memorable experience. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    69
    31
    10
    11
See reviews for
114
147
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Mountain Suite. We had 1 king bed and a sofa bed for our kids, aged 5 &8 and a kitchenette.
The room was lovely and clean, as we're the surroundings. Very rustic but still a luxurious feel.
But overall we came back with very mixed feelings.... Some parts of our stay experience were excellent while others, definitely not what you expect from a luxury resort.

Our less-than-stellar experience started at the ski shop- Which is CRAZY expensive; my son lost his gloves and we paid 25 bucks for the same gloves we had gotten from a regular store for $7. The ski instructors were average at best. My 5 yr old had snow in his boots, chest, and gloves when I picked him at the end of the lesson. He was crying and had ice burns on his hands. The instructor apparently never bothered to brush the snow off of him from his falls. They had several different instructors over 3 days and didn't really take to any of them expect Kelly- he was the friendliest and the nicest to them. Ask for Kelly if u go to ski school. Wes at the ski tent was also friendly and sweet.

About the stay- the Sunday brunch at the main retaurant- The Foundry Grill- was awesome but the food otherwise is nothing to talk about. The Owl Bar has some nice drinks but the baternders and the wait staff were lacklustre in their service- not a smile from any of them!

We bought 16 ski lessons but used only 9 (we cut short our trip because there was absolutely nothing to do at the resort in the evening- no hot tub, no après ski activities). We told mgmt that we are leaving early but dont expect a refund for the room but requested they refund or use the payment for unused lessons towards our very expensive equipment rental from the resort, we got the run around you'd expect from a phone provider! the front desk told us to talk to the ski shop about this. the ski shop told us to go to lesson school, where we we told that front desk gets all the payment and only they can do it. after several calls, meeting different people, the front desk manager decided to refund us only 3 lessons after all that run around!!

The room also became crazy hot at night despite turning the heat off. We had to crack the window to sleep and the water situation was just like the guest below mentioned. Very low pressure and not enough hot water to fill the bath tub.

Our Overall experience was ho-hum at best. We certainly won't be coming back. Maybe I am picky put I expect better service when I spend $1000/ night in the resort.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sumusabumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResortTeam, Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Although we were happy to learn about your appreciation for the luxuriousness of your accommodations, we are disappointed to find out that there were aspects of your stay that you were not as enthusiastic about. We would like to take a moment to address the issue you encountered regarding the temperature in your room. Instructions regarding the thermostat are posted in our guest rooms explaining that only minor adjustments should be made incrementally and guests must allow sufficient time for the temperature to regulate to avoid the room becoming too warm. We are sincerely sorry for the difficulties you experienced and hope that you will one day allow us to welcome you back again for a stay that exceeds all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've visited Sundance every year but one since 2006. Sadly, this year it was truly a disappointment, largely due to our accommodations.

Every year, we stay River Run mountain suites. This year, however, our suite was not well maintained: the toilet seat was broken, there were chips in the tub wall and although we paid full price, what we got was literally 60% of the size of any suite we've stayed in at Sundance in the past. (We were never once told that we would be in a smaller suite, something that matters when you are travelling with children.)

As a returning guest, we used to arrive to a lovely basket of goodies. This year, there were none, not even a welcome note. The kitchen lacked oven mitts, dish towels and other necessities. There were no books or magazines in the suite, as in the past. Our suite got so hot, despite our turning down the thermostat, that we literally had to sleep with the door open at night to cool it down... in February! And the hot water disappeared quickly, something that made taking showers in the morning a lukewarm chore.

Our visit to the Foundry Grill was disappointing, as well. We waited 30 minutes for a simple lunch and our waiter was often nowhere to be found. The cost of that lunch was equal to the amount we spent on groceries for the 3 days prior.

We still love much about Sundance: the friendly staff, the beautiful locale, the simplicity of it all. But, based on where we stayed this time, the suites are definitely in need of renovation and unless you have an unlimited budget, I would plan on cooking in your suite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaJollaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResortTeam, Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are so very sorry that your most recent stay at our resort did not live up to your past experiences. It is always our goal to deliver exceptional service and provide comfortable, well appointed accommodations for everyone. It is truly regretful that your suite this year was not up to par. We encourage our guests to share their concerns during their stay so that they may be addressed immediately as we wish to create an experience to inspire a return visit. Customer satisfaction is our ultimate goal and we will share your feedback with the team so we can continue to improve. We look forward to your next visit and providing you with the service and experience that that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Sadly, we only had one night at this amazing place. If you are looking for a rustic, high-end experience, this is it. We had drinks in the Owl Bar (so fun) then dinner in the "less fancy" restaurant. The comfort food was delicious with friendly service. Our cottage (35A) was spacious with a fireplace and deck. It was warm and cozy. The bed was super comfy. It was a short trek down the well-maintained path to the restaurants, bar, etc.

I am not a skiier (although my husband is and raved about the experience) I found plenty to do. I took two art classes at the art studio - jewelry making with Katie and pottery making with Tim. Both artists were fun and knowledgeable, making the classes personal. I made a gorgeous star ring and three pottery pieces. It is really too bad the art classes are a well-kept secret. I asked the concierge about fun things to do and she never mentioned the art classes. Luckily, I found them myself. The resort really needs to do a much better job advertising these classes.

There really isn't a central lodge area for us non-skiiers to hang out although there are places to get coffee and snacks.

Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResortTeam, Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review. At Sundance Resort we offer a wide range of winter activities as well as art workshops for our guests to participate in. The Art Studio provides a creative outlet with their daily workshops which include the jewelry and pottery classes you attended as well as photography, printmaking, and drawing & painting classes. We are sincerely sorry that you were not informed about the classes when you inquired about activities available at the resort but were glad that you discovered them and enjoyed creating works of art to take home with you. We hope that you and your husband can return soon for another stay as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A perfect resort for the family and not bad for pro skiers and snowboarders.
The lanes and instructors are nice but the rent lodge is too small. So get early in order to be fast on the line. There's night ski as well. The snow patrol helps a lot the begginers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResortTeam, General Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We are very glad that your time at Sundance Resort was so enjoyable. Our 42 runs are ideal for all skill levels and our certified professional instructors coach beginners as well as seasoned skiers and snowboarders. Thank you for your review; we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Have never been to Utah before, really did not know what to expect from our stay at Sundance. When we arrived it was Saturday Dec 29 just coming in from quick trip to Vegas where we had stayed at the 4Seasons Sundance is rustic compared to that yet the vibe was magical and we could feel that we were definitely on a piece of earth that was blessed by Nature's spirit. Some of the service was phenomenal then you get someone who is not as wonderful and it throws you off. The crew that checked us in we're lovely. The wait staff in Foundry were so cool. The Nordic Center crew really awesome and good at what they do. The guys shuttling us around when were too cold or lazy to walk at night. We built fires every night in our room. We felt part of something wonderful. The only weird thing was our room did not get cleaned and they gave us a credit. That was a bit frustrating yet worked it out. We are not downhill skiers yet enjoyed Nordic and Snowshoeing. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnisaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResortTeam, General Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Sundance Resort. We’re delighted that your first visit to Utah included a stay with us. Each and every one of our guests holds a special place in our hearts and your gracious praise for our staff members is truly appreciated. We’d love for you come back and see us again soon and please be sure to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Average hotel. Location is absolutely beautiful. If feels as if you are in a very remote location even though there are many lodges and rooms all around. I had arranged for chocolate covered strawberries and sparkling cider to be waiting at our room before our arrival and was promised by the concierge person on the phone it would happen, but of course it did not happen. I had to call to let them know and they finally brought only the strawberries later that night. The next day, upon returning to our room from a short walk, we were locked out of our room because the front desk gave us the wrong keys. I had to call for someone to run up with the correct key.

We stayed at one of the Sundance Suite. Very drafty doors and windows, but the wood fire place made up for that. The small fridge was very noisy and the bathroom door didn't close all the way. Another room above us was very noisy. We could easily hear walking and voices etc....

The food from the Deli was good. The Tree Room restaurant was over priced, small portions, very pretentious, not worth it. Sunday Brunch at the Foundry was very very good. Great variety and prepared very well.

Nordic Center for cross crountry skying and snow shoeing was a fun experience. Beautiful trails.

Overall I give this resort an average score because they don't seem to pay attention to the small details and that can make all the difference.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbagbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceResortTeam, General Manager at Sundance Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Although you have shared with us an appreciation for our location and beautiful surroundings, we are disappointed that your overall experience was not as you had anticipated. Since it is always our desire to take care of our guests’ needs to create an exceptional experience we are truly sorry for the issues you encountered. We hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations and that you will let us know if there is anything we can do make your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sundance
16.5 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
15.9 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
827 reviews
17.9 mi away
The St. Regis Deer Valley
The St. Regis Deer Valley
#13 of 60 in Park City
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#6 of 60 in Park City
572 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
20.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#4 of 60 in Park City
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort

Property: Sundance Resort
Address: 8841 N Alpine Loop Rd, Sundance, UT 84604-5538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sundance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sundance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundance Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded by Robert Redford in 1969, Sundance Mountain Resort is a year-round luxury mountain resort dedication to conservation, the arts, and community. We offer lodging accommodations ranging from a standard room to a four-bedroom home. We also have award-winning restaurants, shopping outlets, conference and catering services, and much more. Our Resort offers the following year-round activities: • Fly fishing • Art classes • Spa treatments • And more. We also offer the following seasonal activities: • Downhill skiing and snowboarding • Cross country skiing • Hiking and mountain biking • Horseback riding • Summer Theatre and Bluebird Cafe Concert Series • And more. "Sundance is an arts community, a recreational community, a community of people who appreciate the beauty of nature and feel the responsibility to preserve it... As you'll see, Sundance has many shapes, many moods, and many possibilities. Somewhere in our community awaits an experience which belongs to you and we are committed to helping you find it." -Robert Redford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Sundance Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Hotel Sundance
Sundance Resort Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing