We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time-warp adorable”
Review of Cedar Crest Inn

Cedar Crest Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sterling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Crest Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sterling B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Like visiting Grandma's old mansion! Quaint, homey, dated in a rather cute way. We'll go again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Middle Utah - amazing countryside..We were attending a reunion in Manti, Utah 6 miles from Sterling . Wanted to choose a place to stay outside of the city of Manti as there were only 3 or 4 motels or inns that were at all acceptable and most were booked. The Cedar Crest Inn website is easy to use and very nice and does give a true depiction of the premises.
We stayed in Room #5 which was called the Bridal Suite----maybe in 1970.... But we knew we weren't in Las Vegas as to room amenities, so we stayed. The room was quite large with a raised king size bed with a canopy frame. A part of the room had a table and armchairs as well as a small sofa. A fireplace with a new artificial pine log to burn was a nice touch and a wrap-around balcony which had a few chairs and a neat swinging love seat facing the best part of the property---its views! The entire valley with a lake and a backdrop of multi-colored vistas of towering peaks in the background, 180 degrees around, were awesome!!
The Inn does provide a free breakfast for two, or for a minimal charge for more than two. We did not partake of the breakfast as the dining area was dusty and worn, although it didn't smell musty or the like, just not our cup of tea so to speak.
There is no coffee maker in the room and minimal bath amenities for something called a Bridal Suite. The tub was a large tiled jetted affair that had jets that could blow you out of the tub! The hot water lasted as long as you wanted, which was nice considering how long it took to fill the tub.
The rooms had relatively little dust, had a small refrigerator and not much else. It had a central a/c system that was just adequate as it was humid in late August. There was an additional 10000 BTU wall mounted a/c to supplement the main one but it was too loud to sleep with.
The oddest thing was that we never saw the proprietor and I don't think they live on the property. They could be reached by phone at any time but had no manned lobby or front desk. It sometimes seemed like the Inn industry was a side business for the owners, rather than a current, exciting beautiful place. Was it worth staying at? Yes, it was rustic, worn and satisfactory and don't expect a 4 star B&B, just enjoy the surrounding countryside and the quiet and solitude.

Room Tip: Room #5 is at top of stairs and is very large with a terrific view from the main room and the bathro...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibmistered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We mostly decided to stay at this place due to the proximity of Palisades state park. It is very close and surprising to find a B&B in that area.

The place however was in various states of disrepair, and the owner (or manager or whatever) seems to be getting a little old to keep things straight. I assume they have someone else to help maintain and clean the place but it was not as thorough as it should have been. A couple small holes here and there, a section of the building boarded up and roof being worked on, and base boards coming off and looking pretty bad in the dining room. It's really too bad because I feel this place could have so much potential. It has some really good views, and neat rooms and family rooms. It seems to have been quite the place back in the day. It was mostly clean, clean enough for the rooms, bedding, bathroom. But still could have been kicked up one notch to make it a lot better. Places like the decks were in disrepair and a little dirty.

The breakfast was one of the better things of the whole stay. At least the food was, but the whole experience of getting it was a little off. They had kids delivering the food which was nice and all but they should have planned out the whole thing with telling the kids what meals went where. Long story short, we got short changed a kids plate for awhile which made it hard when we all had our food except for our youngest child and we all had to wait for a while for them to fix it. Not much customer service either as there was no formal "sorry." The manager or owner (we never really knew who he was because there was no formal introduction from him) the next day also had some issues with mixed up the receipts between us and another customer.

The main upsides were a big selection of movies, good tasting breakfast, and the price of staying there. But we will likely not visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

This B&B was lovely and spacious. The dining room and the guest room we were in were in "original" condition - as far as style of carpets, wallpaper, light fixtures, etc. Yet with amenities such as DVD/VCR and lots of movies. The location was a bit difficult to find after sunset, but the view in the morning was well worth it. The owner was gracious and friendly. Our bathroom was not as clean as I would have liked, but we later learned that they are not typically open this time of year (made an exception for us as we are a family with 5 young children and they also have 5 - now grown - children), so it is understandable that a bit of dust and cobwebs may have been overlooked. The bedding was freshly laundered. Overall, a great place to stay. And the rates are fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mom2-5lilmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2006

Cedar Crest Inn is located 5 miles south of Manti and sits on the top of a hill at the mouth of 6 mile canyon. It is less than 1/4 mile from Palisade Lake and Golf (18 holes) The grounds and flowers are beautiful. The innkeepers were very helpful about places to see in the area and the local restaurants.

Our room looked out over the entire valley and was lovely. It had a king size four poster bed, jetted bathtub and wood burning fireplace. Every night the innkeepers would bring us freshly baked cookies, or fresh cheeries from their trees. We had breakfast in bed, at no additional charge. The breakfast is one of the best. We enjoyed picking movies at no charge from their large collection. The television in our room was one with a 45 inch screen..

We will definately return and recommend our friends. It would be a wonderful place for family reunions.

5  Thank Makinzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
8.0 mi away
Gunnison Inn
Gunnison Inn
#1 of 2 in Gunnison
3 reviews
20.4 mi away
Super 8 Salina/Scenic Hills Area
20.0 mi away
The Lazy Inn
The Lazy Inn
#1 of 2 in Spring City
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Inn

Address: 819 Palisade Road, PO Box 650099, Sterling, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Sterling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sterling
Price Range: $55 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Cedar Crest Inn Utah/Sterling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing