We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and pleasant staff but the freight train was annoying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn South Jordan
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in South Jordan
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good price and pleasant staff but the freight train was annoying”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed one night passing through Salt Lake City. Sleep Inn is a mid scale property with a shower no tub normally, which was exactly what I booked. The best breakfast staff I ever experienced with attention to detail. I was on the ground floor near the breakfast area and it was fine. The freight train ran five times between 9:30 PM and when I checked out at 7:30 AM. I'm a light sleeper and the whistle did wake me up.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XCaliforniaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    50
    28
    14
    15
See reviews for
45
28
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springville, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel is located between I-15 and a railroad track and is surprisingly quiet. The biggest source of noise (and the biggest disadvantage) for this hotel is the wall mount unit used for heat/air conditioning. The wall mount does not work on a thermostat and so runs constantly unless you turn it off. I stayed here 4 nights and didn't want the noise of the fan, so I got the room pretty warm, turned the fan off and used an extra blanket (which they happily provided for me). I could hear the train rumbling a few times but was never awakened by the train or the traffic on I-15. My room was on the I-15 side.

My room (202) was clean and the furnishings were nicer than more expensive places that I've stayed in. The towels were the softest I've ever had in a place of this price range.
The small fridge wasn't super cold and wouldn't freeze anything in the freezer portion but was adequate for refrigeration. The microwave worked well as did everything else in the room.

The cleaning staff did a better job than many places I've spent multiple nights in.

You do have to walk outside to get to the pool but I didn't find this a problem even in the cold January weather. The hot tub was out of order the first night I was there but the maintenance personnel were working on it and had it up and running for the remainder of my stay. The hotel didn't have a lot of traffic so I had to pool to myself every night I was there, which was awesome! It's a fairly good size pool and hot tub.

Breakfast is simple. A waffle maker, toast, bagels, boiled eggs, apples, oranges and juices.
There is a Denny's right next door. There are only two very small tables to sit at in the breakfast area so going back to your room might be the best option if it's busy. The water in the hotel tastes terrible.

Someone else posted frustration with getting to this hotel from I-15 which has an easy fix. There is an island that prevents you from being able to access the Frontage road (300 West) from 10600 South when travelling west. The solution is to go past Frontage road to the next light (one block further west). Turn left and then follow the signs to the Super 8 Hotel, which is next door. Really pretty easy.

I was in town for business and stayed 4 nights. I am still amazed and delighted by the price and quality of the Sleep Inn and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Second story rooms don't get as much use so if you can handle stairs (no elevator) ask for a sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquaticqueen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I was just passing by in Utah and i saw there sign for $54. and had to stay and when i got in to check the price it was really $51!!!! WOW even better i said!!! they have a pool and it was nice you do have to go out side to go back in the pool but it was no biggy!! Loved the Guy that checked us in he was really funny and gave us some good ideas to go eat!! i forget hes name but i know he has red hair. the other kid in the morning did not really talk to us and was on hes cell phone all the time so that sucked!!! but i guess you cant have good serives all the time. Room was very clean and nice and when im back in Utah i will be back at the Sleep Inn!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
540 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I only paid $52 on a Friday night. The hotel is right off the freeway, but with the fan on in my room I did not notice any outside noise (except a barely dectable train rumbling). My room included a refrigerator and microwave. The property has a nice pool and hot tub, which was clean. There is a computer to use in the lobby. WiFi was free and worked well. Room had flat screen TV and the heat/AC worked well. There are a lot of restaurant options within close driving distance, as well as the Jordan River Parkway walking trail.

I left too early to sample the breakfast. The front desk people were very friendly. I would stay here again for the price!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishing Creek, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I've had several overnights in Salt Lake, and usually I'm at a place closer to the airport, but this time I found myself at the Sleep Inn in South Jordan. It's way the heck out there, although if you have a car, it's not too far from the city.

The hotel is definitely one of the older Sleep Inns. It's much more like a motel than a hotel (as the older ones tend to be). The property was clean and had a safe feel to it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed wasn't big, the comforter had a big hole in it, but otherwise, it was reasonably clean (had that kind of feel that it may be slightly less than perfectly clean, though--but no overt dirtiness). The air in the room wasn't great.

All in all, this place will set you back as much as a fleabag motel (once I looked online and saw what it costs, because I wasn't footing the bill), and it's far superior to that, so if you want rock-bottom prices and a decent place to sleep, it's acceptable. However, I usually love Sleep Inns for a quick in-and-out kind of place, and this one kind of lagged behind the rest.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESVASpiderTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepinnsouthsouthjo, Webmaster at Sleep Inn South Jordan, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sleep Inn South Jordan for your recent stay in our area. I appreciate your telling me that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I would have expected nothing less, but it is always nice to hear.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Staff received our commendation for the courteous, helpful, friendly manner in which they treated you, our valued guest.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Sleep Inn South Jordan. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel is squreezed between a railroad track to the rear, and noisey I-15 to the front. So, go figure....but the price is nice at 50/night. If you like a quite sleep...I would recommend staying at a hotel not located so close to the highway. Also, it's a bit difficult to get to this hotel - it's located on a Frontage Road (hmmm). You got to make a U-turn at the light to get to the road. Rooms average and clean, parking out front is free, and breakfast is just good. Overall, ok.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LaoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Good location, decent room, decent breakfast, good front desk. The room could use a little deep cleaning and repairs (hole in bathroom door, like someone punched it). The beds were not the greatest and I have had better breakfasts. There is a train that goes through once or twice in the morning that might disturb some, It never bothered me as I was already up. Worth the stay for the price, really not as bad as some make it to be.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedivader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Jordan
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cottontree Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City / Sandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Salt Lake City - Sandy
0.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City/South Jordan, UT
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn - South Jordan - SLC South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn South Jordan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn South Jordan

Property: Sleep Inn South Jordan
Address: 10676 S 300 W, South Jordan, UT 84095-4028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > South Jordan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in South Jordan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn South Jordan 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sleep Inn of South Jordan/ Sandy conveniently located in the South Salt Lake area, at 10600 South and near the South Towne Mall, the South Towne Expo Center, and the Rio Tinto Stadium. This South Jordan hotel offers the ideal location for skiers visiting the Salt Lake City area. It is centrally located between Salt Lake City International Airport and local ski resorts, including Alta Ski Area, Brighton Ski Resort, Solitude and Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn South Jordan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn South Jordan Hotel South Jordan
South Jordan Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn South Jordan Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing