We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Mexican”

El Chanate Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Snowbird
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average Mexican”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Visited El Chanate for dinner with a group of friends while staying at The Cliff Lodge for a ski holiday. Very few choices in Snowbird, El Chanate was a convenient and acceptable choice, located right in The Cliff Lodge at ground level. Food and service average, bar closed quite early, 9:00 p.m. Menu had plenty of Mexican options to cuoose from. Nothing remarkable here in a very good or very bad way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    63
    49
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tex mex at its best”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

After years of mediocrity el Chanate has stepped up its game and now serves delicious food and great beer. Our group of 4 sampled a variety of plates and they were all very good. And, as long as you book after the family rush between 6 and 8pm you get great service and avoid the whining children, understandably tired after a day of skiing. Make a reservation!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Being from Texas and having lots of TexMex options, I usually lower my expectations when visiting TexMex restaurants outside Texas.
This location was convenient and clean. Staff was very friendly. Food was adequate...not too spicy and satisfied the craving for a little TexMex. Others around us had nice things to say about their margaritas.

Helpful?
Thank DavidVonZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Huge portions, great margaritas!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Après Ski...at Snow Bird. Warm and friendly. Creative menu.
Outdoor seating of course wasn't opened in December but would have been a nice view.
Bar was busy with football games. Inviting

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dyanndesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mexican done well”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

On our way to this restaurant we asked the driver if the food was good, he said "it's hard to mess up Mexican". Hmmm, coming from Australia we knew only too well how this cuisine can be messed around with in our homeland. So how pleasantly surprised were we to find a diverse ranging menu, very fresh tasting foods and all very well executed. The complimentary salsa and house made corn chips were so tasty and a very generous serving too. My Baja shrimp tacos were delicious and so fresh, my partners spicy chicken wings devoured with shlurpy mmmmssss! The service is efficient, proficient and pleasant. Would recommend El Chanate to anyone visiting Snowbird.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cat063__11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chanate Restaurant also viewed

Snowbird, Wasatch Range
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
 
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
 
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
 

Been to El Chanate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing