We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag of good and bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Steak Pit

The Steak Pit
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Snowbird
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A mixed bag of good and bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I'll start this off on a good note. The food at the Steak Pit was really good. Expensive, but good. My ribeye was one of the best I've ever had. My wife's filet was also very good. They were both cooked perfectly. Our salads, a DIY affair, were also very good, as was the bread and the side orders. Things begin to unravel after that. First, the location. Wander around the locker area of the Snowbird Center long enough and you'll find the place. Not a bad thing, but weird. The beer selection was limited. I like craft beers and many other places at Snowbird had a better selection and our server almost seemed put out by having to serve me a beer instead of a glass of wine. As to the server, he seemed quite aloof at first, then got friendly and didn't want to shut up to the point of being annoying. Bottom line: the Steak Pit has put some of the pieces of the puzzle together but they're still missing a few and need to to get it together to be top notch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricochet_Rabbit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
150 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Steak wonderfully cooked to order”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our waiter was not only knowledgeable about the food, but the mountain as well. He shared his knowledge of runs that only the locals know. The steaks were came grilled to perfection and were nicely accompanied by sides. Although on property, this restaurant was no more expensive than any similar high-end steak restaurant elsewhere. Very good and a great late night after ski destination

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank irondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not a good experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

we ate their at the end of February. I would say only eat here if you are sick of going to Aerie and Shallow Shaft, as those are the best places in the area. My wife had a 'mediocre' pork chop and I had a 44$ steak, that was good but damn, this place is not worth it. On top of that, our waiter was so rude it was riduculous. I left him about a 12% tip and noticed that he had added on another 10$ to the tip after we left. saw it on my credit card. F** unreal. I would call and fight it but it's not worth wasting another second on this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Carnivore's Haven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I admit that my recollection of an earlier visit 5-6 years ago conflicted with the poor reviews; yet, memory served my sons and I quite well indeed. We had friendly competent service by Michael who offered informed choices to our queries and was attentive in his manner.
I had perfectly done tenderloin, sons had sirloin and ribeye also done to order. Prices include very generous mixed salad and large portion sides; therefore, high value. My tenderloin was among top 10 in my 64 years of dining. Paired with Francis Coppola Zinfandel! Mud pie desert very good finish.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful. Seriously bad!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The worst service I have had in years. Over priced, food from the 40's. The server, Crystal, spilt 2 drinks on my friend & said, "I don't know what to do", then walked away without doing anything. We got a towel and clean the table ourselves & payed for the overly priced, spilt martini.

The food was over cooked & saturated in butter. Gross! Thanks for ripping us off Snowbird. Appreciated!

Stick to what you know, good skiing, obviously not restaurants.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalieloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steak Pit also viewed

Snowbird, Wasatch Range
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
 
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Steak Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing