We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner we had at Snowbird”
Review of The Steak Pit

The Steak Pit
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Snowbird
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best dinner we had at Snowbird”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

While the Steak Pit is a bit pricey, the steak is excellent and the service was great! Located in the lower level of the Snowbird Center, the Steak Pit was easy to get to and well worth the visit. It's one of the only restaurants we visited that we would definitely go back to on a future trip.

This would be a good place for couples and groups. In theory it would be a good place for families but might be a bit pricey for kids, not sure if they have a kids menu or not.

The waiter was very friendly and easy going. It was a refreshing change from some of the other places we had been to!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kudos4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great steak, convenient location”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

If you don't have a car, you can get a good steak dinner at a competitive price

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We had fun here...”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I had changed my mind about going to the Steak Pit, but I am glad we stuck with the plan. Our server was a load of fun, and we enjoyed a really cozy booth. Good bread, a solid steak, and a good attitude make what could be a pretty cheesy experience downright fun.

This is a place where you pick your steak or other somewhat predictable entree from the set and... go. But the service was great, and they do seem to know how to cook a steak. Many fine dining establishments manage to goof that, you know.

Here for a few days? Give the Steak Pit a shot. It's in the bottom of a ski mountain lodge, and the decor is ski mountain pine set in concrete, but so is everything at snowbird. Give in, enjoy the people, and have some fun.

The Steak Put normally takes reservations, but they didn't on New Year's eve. These folks worked hard to make everyone happy.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food after a long day”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Never had a bad meal. After a long day nothing like a good steak. Service has always been very good and on numerous occasions the owner visited our table to make sure my wife and I were satisfied. It is a little loud at times but after a long day who can hold back the stories.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank DBMNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Attractive but average”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

As the Shallow Shaft (our favorite) had just closed for the summer, we ate at the Steak Pit. The place is rather noisy even in the off season. Salad is served in a kitchen bowl suitable for mixing cake batter, rather odd. You serve yourself which is fine, but from that bowl? Too expensive for something that junky looking. The steaks were OK, somewhat overcooked. Wine selection fine, though expensive. Waiter overfilled the wine glasses, so we asked to handle that ourselves. Staff very pleasant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanGogh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steak Pit also viewed

Snowbird, Wasatch Range
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
 
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
 
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Steak Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing