We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice upscale option at Snowbird”
Review of The Lodge Bistro

The Lodge Bistro
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Snowbird
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice upscale option at Snowbird”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The dining room is "scenic" with giant windows overlooking the mountain and pedestrian path. We could see deer tracks so if you're lucky perhaps some wildlife will drop by during your dinner. The dining room is tiny so reservations are definitely recommended. Food was top notch (maybe not "big city" quality but very good) though it was on the expensive side ($30 entrees). The service was great, and it was a very romantic way to cap off our trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LanSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food scene at snowbird has historically been average-poor but several restaurants have been upping their game. We were very pleased with the new bistro menu. Good vegetarian options and a game special suited everyone in our party. The service was on the slow side, but hey, it's snowbird time!

I highly recommend having a dinner here after a hard day of skiing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you like garlic, you'll love it here!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

In Australia we seemed to have learnt to take great produce and do as little to it as possible in the cooking and presenting process. Here they seem to have been able to source the great produce but then place so many heavily seasoned sauces and garnishes on the plate, the star of the dish fades into near obscurity. I ordered some sea scallops, lovely in themselves, but when placed on top of a red pepper sauce so over powered with garlic, my palate was from then on deadened. My partners steak was similarly "ruined" with a least 8 whole cloves of roast garlic perched on top. The service here was good and we enjoyed the evening but would not have chosen to return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cat063__11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful romantic spot!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The food is superb and changes with the seasons. The staff are attentive, the views of the mountains are beautiful. The feeling is intimate, like being in someone's private dining room. We have been often and never disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Condor15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant rivaling many in SLC and Park City”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stopped into the Lodge Bistro after spending a day at Snowbird this summer, and had an excellent meal. My expectations were instantly increased before ordering (after viewing the menu and just talking with the hostess/ waitstaff/ bar staff). Tables were candlelit, covered white paper, and inviting.

We started dinner early and finished after most other patrons had left. There were too many good options to try. Between my party and myself, I think we tried just about everything on the specials board and the dining room menu. The desert offerings very well received too.

It's hard to go wrong with a versatile menu. We were expecting no options for a vegetarian, and were pleasantly surprised with a few options. The cherry cola BBQ lamb ribs were another favorite (for all but the veggie).

The wine, beer, and cocktail offerings were also vast and all encompassing. Surprising for Utah! A tasty porter on nitro was the best of the draft selection, according to the beer snob at the table; he had it for desert. The wine selection and staff knowledge was also very good.

I can't wait to come back to ski, I have heard nothing good about their après ski offerings and winter dinner menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hunter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lodge Bistro also viewed

Sandy, Wasatch Range
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
 
South Jordan, Wasatch Range
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 
Snowbird, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Lodge Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing