We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski in/ski out location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Certificate of Excellence
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great ski in/ski out location”
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I was one of a group of 34 persons who traveled to Snowbird/Alta from CT to ski. Immediately prior to our arrival, they had 70" of snow in 4 days!!! Phenominal.

Cliff Lodge & Spa was a perfectly fine place to stay. The rooms are done in earth tones, feature a small fridge, hair dryer, iron, ironing board, room safe. Our double room had a leather sofa at one end of the room, a desk and also a table and a couple of chairs. The bathroom was roomy, had plenty of towels and toiletries.

A wonderful collection of oriental rugs is displayed on the walls throughout the hotel and there was an oriental rug on the floor in each of the rooms. The hotel itself is a huge concrete building that was obviously built to withstand potential avalanches. There are several meeting rooms and a couple of restaurants in the building. If you have children who are into this type of thing, there is a large game room with all sorts of electronic games and a pool table.

The building also houses a small store where you can purchase miscellaneous food items and souveniers, a gift shop that offers oriental jewelry and furnishings, and a large ski shop.

Adjacent to the ski shop, ski rental and repair section of Cliff (all within the building) is a huge locker area. Each room has its own ski locker featuring individual boot warmers which are turned on each night. The combination lock is yours to set as you choose. It's a great convenience to go down to your locker to put on your dry boots in the a.m., and then walk a few steps to the outdoors to put on your skis.

The restaurants, with the exception of the Mexican restaurant, were all expensive. It did help a little that we were offered coupon books for 50% off a second meal (after they added an 18% gratuity) for various restaurants both in the building and at the Snowbird Center just a short walk away. The Mexican restaurant (I think the name is Canante) was our favorite (great food), followed by the Steak Pit at Snowbird Center (huge salad bowl for the table comes with the meals). Aerie Restaurant at the top of the building had S L O O O W W W service and high prices. Their breakfast buffet on the Sunday morning was expensive and disappointing (they did not replenish several items). DON'T order from their ala carte menu if you go to the buffet. The rest of your table mates will have gone to the buffet stations twice before you get your meal. (That happened to us.) Room service is also available.

There is a fabulous spa at the top of the building with pool, hot tub, sauna, yoga, etc., etc., but there is a fee for this. Hot tubs and pool on the third floor are free. Large room with lots of exercise equipment. Don't know if fees were involved.

On a return trip to Snowbird, it's likely that we'll stay there again. However, it will be with the knowledge that meals are EXTREMELY expensive (except for the Mexican restaurant). We were able to stop at a grocery store en route to the mountain and we purchased breakfast and lunch items to prepare and eat in our rooms or on the mountain. If we had to pay for meals other than dinner, the week would have cost a fortune.

The fringes of the rooms needed a good vacuuming. Sheets were crisp and clean, though, and the beds were comfortable in spite of the fact that they were not made the same way on any of the days we were there. The bell hops were MOST helpful getting stuff to and from our rooms and also assisted loading busses and vans. The front desk staff had "blah" personalities but guest services personnel were great. They have computers to use at no charge.

Nightly activities (movies, lectures, food specials) are posted on pamphlets left out for the taking each day.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    185
    88
    31
    16
See reviews for
146
97
15
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Sure, this is a good location for great skiing and boarding, it's just a pity they think that gives them the right to fall short in running a decent hotel.

The hotel is drab and has no style. It reeks of a no-soul investor who wants to suck as much out of it without putting anything in.

The staff are friendly when they're not trying to charge you a fee for everything. The advertised 'business centre' is really internet for 20usd an hour on slow computers - dial-up prices in the broadband age - and printing anything will cost you too. The 'gym' is really part of the pay-for-membership spa, another fee they don't disclose on their website and all the travel booking sites until you arrive.

So that means if you're done skiing for the day and don't want to fork out more cash ontop of the pricey room rates, you can either sit in your room watching TV or go swim and relax in the overcrowded free spa and pool on the lower level. In short, you get very, very bored here, very, very quickly.

Restaurants are all overpriced for mediocre meals - as another review mentioned, the mexican is the best value (if you can find it). Restaurant staff are obviously tip hunting - we had our water refilled at least 6 times in 30 minutes when it wasn't even empty and thrice were asked if everything was 'ok'. It's nice to have service, but not when it's purely tip motivated and just interrupts your meal and conversation.

Try skiing somewhere with a village - you won't feel like you're trapped in a zoo.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinnBob, Manager at The Cliff Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
We deeply appreciate your feedback about our resort and hotel and thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff and mountain. We value each guest’s opinion and strive to offer a wonderful experience for all of our guests at Snowbird.

We regret that you feel negatively toward the décor and style of our hotel and furnishings. We have received very positive comments regarding the Cliff Lodge design from highly regarded architects and designers. The Cliff Lodge is a one of a kind hotel which may not appeal to all guests but we hope that everyone can appreciate its unique presence in the setting of the Wasatch Mountains. The Cliff Lodge guest rooms were also recently renovated in a multi-million dollar project to enhance the guest experience. Our large pool and 3 accompanying 12 person hot tubs are situated on the north side of the building providing amazing views of Mt. Superior and surrounding peaks inspiring a one of a kind experience for each guest of the hotel.

We also regret your feelings toward our prices for our business office. We do offer complimentary high speed wireless internet to all guests within the Cliff Lodge and complimentary fax and boarding pass printing services for hotel guests. Fees for computer use are in place to ensure this service can be equitably used by all guests. In the case of the Cliff Spa, the relaxing atmosphere that is expected for such a facility can only be provided if a fee schedule is in place. Unfortunately by offering these facilities to all guests at the Snowbird Resort without a fee would result in a degrading of the services and ambiance found and expected in a spa.

Once again thank you for your feedback. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Cliff Lodge at Snowbird Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

The best part about my room was the window in the bathroom that allowed me to look out on the mountains from no matter where I was in the room.

Other than that, it was a fairly standard room. There were no fantastic amenities and I definitely wouldn't characterize it as a "resort" room, but it was decent enough. The staff was courteous and the available restaurants were decent. Avoid the Aerie - overpriced for nothing you wouldn't find other places in the resort.

Do consider using the hot tub, though, if only for the view of the valley thanks to the clear retaining walls. Also, if you have time, go up the tram to the top of the mountain. The views were phenomenal.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trigeekgirl236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

I had to change reservations. They were not flexible at all and were not willing to provide refund or move reservation. Very unprofessional. The person/manager I talked to was Mike [---]. Besides that the place is overprized and I would not recommend it as a getaway in the mountains

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CreativeTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We got to stay at the Cliff lodge via a friend of ours timeshare, and could not be happier with it. The location is perfect, as you can ski right out onto the mountain. The locker room is a great amenity so you don't have to bring your skis and boots up to your room with you. The rooms themselves are very spacious with nice views, though as people have mentioned a little dated. We ate at both the lounge on the top floor and the mexican place, and we were happy with both. The skiing is great, though if you are a a skier, it is worth looking into going to Alta for a few days. Overall we were very pleased, and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2009

We got a very good price for thanksgiving of this year. We loved the ski lockers that dry your things overnight. The valet guys were always very nice and helpful. Front desk was so-so. Room was very nice, liked the picture window in the bathroom. All the views are great because it is a beautiful area. Our one real problem was the food, everywhere at snowbird it was terrible (chanate was the worst), even though the service was great. The food was definitely trucked in and very little homemade, what a shame in such a beautiful place and with such nice designs and interiors. Skiing here is a bit steep and we prefer to get the pass that allows us to go to alta to ski, but i think it is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I was here when I was pregnant and my husband absolutely loved the whole place cos he's a snowboarder. But the altitude left me a bit breathless and the spa was not the best, it needs updating and looks kinda seventies. The view out of the windows in the lounge area was great, and also in our room. The thing to keep in mind is that this resort was built to stay up during avalanches so it's very concrete and cold/sterile looking in a way. I thought they could have done better with the furnishings, everything looked pretty beat up, especially in the bathroom. I was thinking that the window that looked into the room from the shower, would be great for watching a baby if we had one then haha. The sushi was decent in the restaurant and the breakfast buffet is worth it, there is nothing stupendous though, it's really a haven for snowboarders.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NamasteKnitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowbird
1.3 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
7.9 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
827 reviews
4.2 mi away
Silver Fork Lodge
Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#6 of 60 in Park City
574 reviews
9.0 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
6.0 mi away
The Inn at Snowbird
The Inn at Snowbird
#2 of 2 in Snowbird
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Property: The Cliff Lodge & Spa
Address: Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a comfortable mountain setting, The Cliff Lodge and Spa has 514 accommodation options, three restaurants, two lounges, two swimming pools, four hot tubs, extensive meeting space and Snowbird’s only ski-out, ski-in accessibility. The Cliff Lodge is the flagship of the four lodging properties at the resort. Guests of the Cliff Lodge don’t have to worry about toting their gear back to their room as each room and unit is assigned a convenient indoor locker. Lockers includes boot dryers, shelves and plenty of space for your skis and snowboard. Camp Snowbird is the resort’s comprehensive, state-licensed daycare facility with an on-premises kitchen and nursery for infants 6 weeks and older. Camp Snowbird offers a seamless integration with the resort’s renowned Mountain School to smoothly incorporate lessons on the nearby Chickadee Run and throughout the mountain with customary daycare offerings such as games, movies, arts and crafts and naps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cliff Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Hotel Snowbird
The Cliff Lodge And Spa
Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Lodge Utah
Snowbird Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge Snowbird Utah
The Cliff Lodge & Spa Snowbird, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing