We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The perfect spot”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We attended a conference at theCliff Lodge and Spa. It was our first trip to Utah and after the conference we did touristy day trips toPark City, Big Cottonwood Canyon and the Great Salt Lake. This was the perfect location for these trips. We plan on attending the conference in a few years and look forward to staying there again. The facilities were terrific and the Snowbird Complex was awesome? The Peruvian Chair lift is a must do activity. The staff was very attentive and helpful. We definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: We requested a mountain view. We loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeeprs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    183
    85
    31
    16
See reviews for
144
97
15
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights. The rooms are average. We had 2 queens with a small couch. Our view was of the mountains a nice plus. The pool is small and several times chairs were hard to find. The spa and workout center on the top floor is nice but you must be 16 or older. They wanted proof of age of my 16 year old son and wouldn't take my word for is age. So we had to use the crappy 1st floor fitness room with limited equipment for him. This was a huge turn off. We ate several meals here and found the service to be slow. Food was good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BKSNtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
284 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We've stayed here many times before since we have a conference that's held here every two years. On this recent visit, as we've done occasionally in the past, we booked a room on the spa level which included access to the spa pool.

Our room was a large room with a view of the mountains. It had a large chair with ottoman, king sized bed, small couch, table, and desk. The bathroom is large enough, with a large sink area, and interestingly a window into the bedroom (plus a curtain!). Our conference has always provided meals, but the buffets in the Aerie restaurant have been excellent as has the conference food.

The hotel is also within walking distance of more of the Snowbird complex including the tram, outdoor activities, and more restaurants. There is a pool for the hotel in general (mostly mobbed by kids when we've visited) and a smaller quiet pool at the spa.

We only see two downsides to this hotel: (1) the internet has been very slow in the past, though recently under Ibahn it has improved, and (2) there really isn't anywhere to sit outside in a shady area and just enjoy the view - the only real sitting areas outside are the pool.

Overall, though, Cliff Lodge is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was the 3rd time my family and I stayed at the Cliff Lodge for a weekend during the summer. The rooms are clean and nice--nothing fancy. Watch out for that big room-facing window in the bathroom. Luckily there's a curtain for guests who prefer their privacy.

The outdoor pool and hot tubs are fun, and have nice views of the surrounding mountains. Staff is uninterested but polite. Dining options (at least during the summer) are limited and unexciting. And a bit pricey for what you get in terms of selection and taste. The beautiful location is what makes the Cliffs somewhere worth staying--at least once.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The higher floors are more likely to have mountain views, unless blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just spent a wonderful week at the Cliff Lodge. We had a 9th floor 2 room, fully furnished condo with 2 balconies. One balcony had a 2 person Jacuzzi. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We hiked each day in Alta, the town just minutes away, and took the tram up the mountain to hike to Mt. Baldy. All the hiking was very enjoyable with great scenery and the occasional wildlife (deer & moose). After hiking, we spent the afternoon on the top floor lounging by their outdoor pool and hot tub. On the top floor is also a fitness center and spa with tread mills and weight lifting equipment. Many activities are offered by resort for adults and children. Just check their website to see all there is to see and do.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick3256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Cliff Lodge and it was a great stay. The great 8th floor room was complimented by welcoming staff, from the front desk to housekeeping staff. The complimentary valet service was a very nice and unexpected extra, too.

Snowbird is amazing in winter, but don't hesitate to visit in the summer; very easy to get too and plenty to do/see.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hunter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

OK, a disclaimer about the middling score: I stayed here when you could not ski, and most of the negatives in my review would not apply in the winter. When the slopes are open I imagine guests would be thrilled to have such easy access to the slopes, a ski school, shops for equipment, and every other ski-oriented facility you could want.

In the summer you still have fantastic views of the mountains. The rooms are spacious and modern, and there are a couple of pools and a spa that were pleasant enough. The staff is super-friendly. There is a slide open for the kids, and you can take a tram up to the top of the mountain and walk down the ski slopes. It is not ideal hiking, since the slopes turn into a wide, treeless clearing, but you do have some nice vistas.

In the summer some of the limitations of the place do become more noticeable. There are few places to eat at the resort (and even fewer to drink) and they close early. The mountaintop
location is gorgeous, but it means that going anywhere else requires a car with a good GPS,
time, and a strong stomach to withstand winding mountain roads. The nearest rental car place (down the mountain and a town over) is extremely inconvenient to use, and the shuttle service only serves a few places, so I think it is essential to either come with a car
or rent one at the airport.

The lodge, and the resort more generally,
is a labyrinth: probably the result of too many retrofitting and rehabs. Any place you want to go seemed to require ducking around extra hallways and stairs, and the signs tend to disappear at the crucial moment. The maps of the place are confusing
to start with, and in the summer they are obsolete since they focus on amenities that are seasonal. And of course you need to be walking past and around many closed ski-oriented facilities. l found that the staff were always more than happy to direct me, but still after a few days here I was exasperated at having to ask how to get from A to B for the 10th time.

Still,
I liked the place well enough, and if you are going in ski season you should check some of the other reviews to see how it stacks up against the competition.
.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mondrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowbird
1.3 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
7.9 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#2 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
9.0 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Goldminer's Daughter Lodge
4.2 mi away
Silver Fork Lodge
Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alta Peruvian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Property: The Cliff Lodge & Spa
Address: Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a comfortable mountain setting, The Cliff Lodge and Spa has 514 accommodation options, three restaurants, two lounges, two swimming pools, four hot tubs, extensive meeting space and Snowbird’s only ski-out, ski-in accessibility. The Cliff Lodge is the flagship of the four lodging properties at the resort. Guests of the Cliff Lodge don’t have to worry about toting their gear back to their room as each room and unit is assigned a convenient indoor locker. Lockers includes boot dryers, shelves and plenty of space for your skis and snowboard. Camp Snowbird is the resort’s comprehensive, state-licensed daycare facility with an on-premises kitchen and nursery for infants 6 weeks and older. Camp Snowbird offers a seamless integration with the resort’s renowned Mountain School to smoothly incorporate lessons on the nearby Chickadee Run and throughout the mountain with customary daycare offerings such as games, movies, arts and crafts and naps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cliff Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Lodge And Spa
The Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Lodge Utah
Snowbird Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge Snowbird Utah
The Cliff Lodge & Spa Snowbird, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing