We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, just horrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My family came up to enjoy a relaxing week. We got here the last weekend of Oktoberfest and it was packed. We went out to swim and sit in the hot tub and there was only one of the three hot tubs working. So you have a booked to capacity hotel with one working hot tub. The response I received from the front desk when I asked when they would be up and running? "Well, they have been down for five days now and we have nothing saying that they are going to get fixed". Thank you so much!

Then we wake up Monday morning to the pounding of hammers and drilling so loud it sounds like it is in the next room! So I call down to the front desk and they tell me that they have posted on the website that there would be construction. I asked if they would move us to the other side of the building and they said no. By now, mind you, all the Oktoberfest people have left and there is about 15 cars in the parking lot so the majority of the lodge is empty! But we can't move? I asked about moving again on Tuesday when the noise continued all day and they said pretty much the same thing just in a more rude, I don't care about your stay tone. WOW! For being in the hospitality business, they get an "no stars".

I don't know if they are nicer in the winter with the skiing guests. I sure do hope so. But you would think our money is as good as anyone else and they would want to make everyone's stay as pleasant as possible. It certainly hasn't been the case for us. I am ready to cut my trip short because of all this. They ought to be ashamed!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the East Wing of the lodge. It seems to be where all the amenities are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shemaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 495 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

I'm giving an average as I think the Cliff Lodge needs a little update. Was there for a conference and have been there 5 times in 5 years. The people who work there are very nice and attentive to what you need. Room seemed to be cleaned quickly. It was hard to find a cup of coffee when you needed one. In room coffee maker, but there was no tea which was surprising. Internet connection was not good at all. Even cell phone wasn't that great, but you are in the middle of no where. It is absolutely beautiful there! If you are lucky you will see a Moose. I would recommend coming during daylight as the road is dark and has cliffs. Also, you must prepare yourself for altitude. Drink plenty of water before you get there and continue to do so you don't get major headache or throw up It is at about 8,000 feet. Pool and spa area looked really nice. I think the spa upstairs doesn't carry as much as it use to because of bad economy in US over last 5 years. Bed and pillows comfortable. Nothing fancy but nice.

Room Tip: Get a view room if possible mountain side to see gondola to 11,000 feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmelwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Decent stay at the mountain lodge... A confusing layout, but it has all of the amenities... My didn't like was that no resteraunts opened before 7am... I'm an early riser... But the food was good & I would imagine if you were skiing, you can't get any closer. Nice folks & nice place

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you go to the hotel website and click on "contact us," there is no email option, nor is there a "feedback" form for taking complaints like this one. The only telephone number shown on that webpage is an external contractor for taking reservations, whose recorded information states not to bother them if we are trying to reach the hotel directly (unbelievably, it says that such information should be taken from the hotel website itself). The reservation contractors were snippy about being asked to waste their time looking up the hotel phone number instead of taking a reservation. When I finally got the reservations contractor to provide a phone number so that I could speak to Cliff lodge personnel, the person to whom I complained about the bad website clearly had never been trained how to take complaints; he failed to acknowledge the merit of the complaint and he offered no intention to fix the problem other than transferring my call to someone else. The second person wrote down my complaint, but also failed to acknowledge its merit. Cliff Lodge is a pretty nice place to go, but let's hope you don't need their help prior to your arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tens0rit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great building with timeless architecture, but the experience went downhill from there. We stayed in a standard room which was well appointed but took forever to cool down - had to open windows but the window coverings made it difficult to get a flow of fresh air. The mattresses need to be replaced - body impressions have taken over, shower head malfunctioned, tub nozzle diverter didn't work, tub/shower drained oh so slowly and the Decor in the public areas are starting to show their age (worn carpet, sun faded tapestries). High expectations come with a structure so striking in a setting so beautiful, but i guess that it is still a ski resort staffed with folks that work at ski resorts. And don't expect to find a reasonably pricey meal at any of the restaurant establishments at the resort.

Room Tip: ask for on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A friend and I stayed up here recently this weekend. Can't say enough nice things about this place. The room itself is pretty basic, but spacious and clean. The front desk service was top notch. My buddy called down to the front desk and asked for two cups to be delivered and they were delivered within 10 minutes. We ate at the restaurant on the 10th floor, and although it's on the expensive side, It was damn fine dining. I would gladly come back to the Cliff Lodge anytime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Totally blown away by the Cliff lodge! Everything was perfect, the food, the staff, the room, even the weather was pretty good. The staff was so friendly, many were from Utah which was nice because they are 'locals'. Not like many chain hotels that only hire cheap labor. If you can afford
it stay on the ninth floor which includes all the tenth floor pool and club membership amenities. Thank you Cliff Lodge for a great week!

Room Tip: Ninth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowbird
1.3 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
8.8 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
8.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge at Snowbird
Lodge at Snowbird
#1 of 2 in Snowbird
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Snowbird
The Inn at Snowbird
#2 of 2 in Snowbird
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Address: Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range: $344 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a comfortable mountain setting, The Cliff Lodge and Spa has 514 accommodation options, three restaurants, two lounges, two swimming pools, four hot tubs, extensive meeting space and Snowbird’s only ski-out, ski-in accessibility. The Cliff Lodge is the flagship of the four lodging properties at the resort. Guests of the Cliff Lodge don’t have to worry about toting their gear back to their room as each room and unit is assigned a convenient indoor locker. Lockers includes boot dryers, shelves and plenty of space for your skis and snowboard. Camp Snowbird is the resort’s comprehensive, state-licensed daycare facility with an on-premises kitchen and nursery for infants 6 weeks and older. Camp Snowbird offers a seamless integration with the resort’s renowned Mountain School to smoothly incorporate lessons on the nearby Chickadee Run and throughout the mountain with customary daycare offerings such as games, movies, arts and crafts and naps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cliff Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Lodge And Spa
The Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Lodge Utah
Snowbird Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge Snowbird Utah
The Cliff Lodge & Spa Snowbird, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing