We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow in early October!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Certificate of Excellence
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Snow in early October!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Decent stay at the mountain lodge... A confusing layout, but it has all of the amenities... My didn't like was that no resteraunts opened before 7am... I'm an early riser... But the food was good & I would imagine if you were skiing, you can't get any closer. Nice folks & nice place

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    185
    85
    31
    16
See reviews for
145
97
15
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you go to the hotel website and click on "contact us," there is no email option, nor is there a "feedback" form for taking complaints like this one. The only telephone number shown on that webpage is an external contractor for taking reservations, whose recorded information states not to bother them if we are trying to reach the hotel directly (unbelievably, it says that such information should be taken from the hotel website itself). The reservation contractors were snippy about being asked to waste their time looking up the hotel phone number instead of taking a reservation. When I finally got the reservations contractor to provide a phone number so that I could speak to Cliff lodge personnel, the person to whom I complained about the bad website clearly had never been trained how to take complaints; he failed to acknowledge the merit of the complaint and he offered no intention to fix the problem other than transferring my call to someone else. The second person wrote down my complaint, but also failed to acknowledge its merit. Cliff Lodge is a pretty nice place to go, but let's hope you don't need their help prior to your arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tens0rit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt lake City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great building with timeless architecture, but the experience went downhill from there. We stayed in a standard room which was well appointed but took forever to cool down - had to open windows but the window coverings made it difficult to get a flow of fresh air. The mattresses need to be replaced - body impressions have taken over, shower head malfunctioned, tub nozzle diverter didn't work, tub/shower drained oh so slowly and the Decor in the public areas are starting to show their age (worn carpet, sun faded tapestries). High expectations come with a structure so striking in a setting so beautiful, but i guess that it is still a ski resort staffed with folks that work at ski resorts. And don't expect to find a reasonably pricey meal at any of the restaurant establishments at the resort.

Room Tip: ask for on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A friend and I stayed up here recently this weekend. Can't say enough nice things about this place. The room itself is pretty basic, but spacious and clean. The front desk service was top notch. My buddy called down to the front desk and asked for two cups to be delivered and they were delivered within 10 minutes. We ate at the restaurant on the 10th floor, and although it's on the expensive side, It was damn fine dining. I would gladly come back to the Cliff Lodge anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouray
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Totally blown away by the Cliff lodge! Everything was perfect, the food, the staff, the room, even the weather was pretty good. The staff was so friendly, many were from Utah which was nice because they are 'locals'. Not like many chain hotels that only hire cheap labor. If you can afford
it stay on the ninth floor which includes all the tenth floor pool and club membership amenities. Thank you Cliff Lodge for a great week!

Room Tip: Ninth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Loved staying here, I would recomment a room near the top mountainside view, this gives you easy access to the spa and the adult swimming pool, this pool is on the roof and has an open sky view great place to watch the mountain goats across the canyon!
Watched a cow moose and calf wonder the grounds unmolested by the guests.
great range of activities and dining options

Room Tip: Mountain side view near the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishrovers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

although a couple of things in the rooms are a little dated - this is a most wonderful place to stay! I was very impressed with the people at the valet - very helpful, and when I mentioned we would be leaving again in 15 min. he left it close AND actually remembered me 15 later without me having to show my card. What a treat that doesn't happen often any more!! The front desk people were terrific and helpful. Check in was easy - and when I asked to have my nieces name on the room too - it was slick as ever and not a grilling session.

The rooms were lovely - how could they not be with that view! both sides of the hotel are gorgeous in the summer. So beautiful! The beds and pillows were very "sleep inducing" and even the shower was almost perfect.

The restaurant was delicious and again the views, stunning!

I would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motrzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowbird
1.3 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
7.9 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#2 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
9.0 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Goldminer's Daughter Lodge
4.2 mi away
Silver Fork Lodge
Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alta Peruvian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Property: The Cliff Lodge & Spa
Address: Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a comfortable mountain setting, The Cliff Lodge and Spa has 514 accommodation options, three restaurants, two lounges, two swimming pools, four hot tubs, extensive meeting space and Snowbird’s only ski-out, ski-in accessibility. The Cliff Lodge is the flagship of the four lodging properties at the resort. Guests of the Cliff Lodge don’t have to worry about toting their gear back to their room as each room and unit is assigned a convenient indoor locker. Lockers includes boot dryers, shelves and plenty of space for your skis and snowboard. Camp Snowbird is the resort’s comprehensive, state-licensed daycare facility with an on-premises kitchen and nursery for infants 6 weeks and older. Camp Snowbird offers a seamless integration with the resort’s renowned Mountain School to smoothly incorporate lessons on the nearby Chickadee Run and throughout the mountain with customary daycare offerings such as games, movies, arts and crafts and naps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cliff Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Lodge And Spa
The Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Lodge Utah
Snowbird Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge Snowbird Utah
The Cliff Lodge & Spa Snowbird, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing