We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spring skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Certificate of Excellence
milwaukee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice spring skiing”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We took 4 days to do some spring skiing this past week. It was great. beautiful views. I preferred Alta for some easier runs just coming off knee surgery. Its true their blues are more black. Of course the rest of the family was great with it. Lodge is really nice and most staff seemed helpful. Rooms were clean. Lockers were great. Pool was heated perfectly.
First night at the Cliff Lodge started a little rocky food wise. We (family of four with twin 11 year olds) were very hungry after a day of traveling. Kids ordered room service while my husband and I went to Aerie for sushi. Room service took forever for grilled cheese and mac n cheese. Then when we called they said the order got messed up. This was after an hour. The kids waited longer and it came both cold and fries were burnt. Do not order sushi at Aerie. It was horrible. I sometimes grab grocery store sushi for lunch and it wasnt nearly as good as my local store. My husband and I have had lots of sushi and this was not good. As my husband said "at least the edamame was good". Yikes...our other dinners at the Italian place and mexican were much better.
Shuttle service was remarkable! They were so awesome picking us up anywhere in Snowbird Alta area. We tipped them well.
Loved chatting with the staff for tips. They seemed to really know everything about the hill and area.
We enjoyed the change from our usual ski trip to Colorado. Overall nice place

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sjsMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    185
    85
    31
    16
See reviews for
145
97
15
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The cliff lodge is convenient for dedicated skiers, very nice lockers at the ski inn/out area. We went for the 2nd time to snowbird (this time for a conference) and had a standard room, which is generously sized, but it is still a standard room, and a microwave in some cliff lodge rooms would be an awesome option. (In general, I believe that choice and pricing of standard condos (e.g. 1-2 bedrooms) at snowbird leaves room for improvement.) The cliff lodge is a fine hotel and well run. The pool/hot tub area is excellent. The happy hour deals/specials of various places at the resort actually do give you some more affordable options for eating out (which is needed given the limited options). In terms of skiing, keep in mind that snowbird is steeper and more demanding than Colorado resorts, this is not the best place for beginners or weak intermediates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadfeldheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I recently stayed with my 12 year-old son for five nights and four days of skiing, and our experience was absolutely great. The staff was attentive, helpful, and unfailingly polite; the hotel is not new, but it is very well maintained; and the location was superb. This place is ideal for good skiers: ski in/out convenience, great runs and awesome views make for a perfect skiing holiday. the downside for non-skiiers is that there is not a lot to do outside of the slopes: there is no town, shopping, dining/nightlife options, or many activities for non-skiers; also, there is a lack of many beginner's runs, especially coming down from the main peak to the hotels. Having said that, if you are an intermediate skier or above, and you want to ski an awesome place, Snowbird is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHMurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The lodge is really very convenient located, in two minutes reach from the Snowbird center (less than 1 minute if you ski down); the mountain-view rooms are really spectacular. Overall, rooms are spacious, with big windows and the extra locker, on the first floor, for skies and equipment is extremely convenient. The three restaurants in the lodge are really good (far better than any east coast restaurant in terms of food) and the additional restaurants in the Snowbird center provide more than sufficient variety. The outside hot tubes and pool are clean and decent, kids loved them.
The lodge itself looks terrible, resembling a concrete bunker, and the inside is pretty warn out as well; yet it is spacious, clean and cozy. And services have been excellent, extremely helpful and kind staff throughout the lodge and resort.
Yet everything is really expensive; if you visit any other resort around (especially Alta, five minute drive distance) you will be amazed how cheap everything is compared to Snowbird.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuanaMiruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just got back from a 4 day weekend at Snowbird and stayed at the Cliff Lodge. Our very positive experience began with reservations! The Snowbird reservation staff were amazing and helpful, talking to me knowledgeably about the mountain, the property, and even hand-picking one of the largest rooms in our category for us! On arriving, we received the very same friendly service from the front desk staff, the ski shop staff, and even the folks on the mountain! The hotel is impressive from the outside and very nice on the inside as well. The hallways and rooms are slightly worn, but still very nice. The persian rugs everywhere are a nice decor touch. We had a deluxe bedroom with one king bed and a pullout sofa. Our room was absolutely huge, with more than ample closet and drawer space, a TV/DVD, safe, mini-frig, and wet bar. We found the rooms to be quiet and comfortable. As far as dining, the meals everywhere at the resort are overpriced as they usually are at ski resorts. The a la carte breakfast at the Atrium restaurant was very good with many options, and a very good espresso bar. The El Chanate restaurant served respectable Mexican food (and we usually never eat Mexican food outside of Texas). Prices at El Chanate were better than at the Aerie restaurant upstairs. Just across from the hotel at Snowbird Center was a decent pizza place as well.
The ski rentals were very easy, well priced, and the employees were friendly and competent. We had a ski locker with boot dryers to store our equipment. Literally our locker was steps from the snow!

And perhaps the most wonderful thing after a long day of skiing was the heated outdoor pool and hot tubs! It was very relaxing to sit in the hot tub while surrounded by the beauty of the Wasatch mountains!

We would definitely return to the Cliff Lodge! It was a great vacation with a great ski resort. If you need to have shopping or something to do other than skiing, this is not the place for you! This is a skiers resort! But if you want a comfortable place to return to after a long day of skiing and maybe just relax, then you will probably be very happy at the Cliff Lodge. The only reason I have given only 4 stars is due to the slightly worn look of the hallways, and slight wear in the room, as well as the expensive nature of the meals relative to the quality of the meal.

Room Tip: Deluxe bedrooms are VERY spacious! Ask the reservations agent to choose a large room for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Most convenient location for skiing Snowbird. You come here to ski, eat and sleep, not much else. Yes there is a roof top spa and some bars but there is no town or village to really walk around. If want that you need to go to Park City. This is a place for real skiers.
The accommodations are purposeful and adequate nothing super lux. If you have a mountain view room be prepared to listen to snow cats grooming during the night. The rooms feature high-speed wi-fi but it is anything but high speed. I had to go to lobby anytime I needed to use laptop. Every room has it's own locker on the ground floor for skis and boots which is very convenient. Take your slippers off, put boots on, walk out door with skis and you're off to the tram for some of the best terrain available in the world. Plus it is only a half hour drive from SLC airport.
We used Canyon Transport for transfer to and from SLC since no car is needed while here. Check in and out at the Cliff were a breeze, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The spa and roof top pool were very nice. I would like to see a steam room in the mens locker room, like the sauna, as opposed to just one co-ed steam room near the treatment waiting room.
The top floor restaurant Arie was OK. We had to wait 15 minutes for our table even with a reservation. Then were very surprised to see many empty tables once we were seated. We had a truly spectacular meal up the road at Shallow Shaft and also found the Bistro at another Snowbird hotel to be very good.
Overall had a good experience, they just need to tweak a few weak spots.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AboyGT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Love staying at the Cliff Lodge. The rooms are comfy with nice views, but the part we love the most is the rooftop pool, jacuzzi and exercise room. If you can, stay in the upper rooms so that the spa is included, otherwise you have to pay an extra price per person to use the roof. There are pools on the ground level as well that are lovely and allow children, but the roof is romantic and a unique and wonderful experience. The bathroom has a glass window dividing it from the bedroom so you can look through the room and out the window for a view, or you can pull the curtain closed for privacy. The black bean nachos in the Mexican restaurant are the best! Summer and fall at the Cliff Lodge are great times to go as prices are lower and you can do some nice hiking above Alta.

Room Tip: Mountain or Valley views are both nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headin4tsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowbird
1.3 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
7.9 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#2 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
9.0 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Goldminer's Daughter Lodge
4.2 mi away
Silver Fork Lodge
Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alta Peruvian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Property: The Cliff Lodge & Spa
Address: Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a comfortable mountain setting, The Cliff Lodge and Spa has 514 accommodation options, three restaurants, two lounges, two swimming pools, four hot tubs, extensive meeting space and Snowbird’s only ski-out, ski-in accessibility. The Cliff Lodge is the flagship of the four lodging properties at the resort. Guests of the Cliff Lodge don’t have to worry about toting their gear back to their room as each room and unit is assigned a convenient indoor locker. Lockers includes boot dryers, shelves and plenty of space for your skis and snowboard. Camp Snowbird is the resort’s comprehensive, state-licensed daycare facility with an on-premises kitchen and nursery for infants 6 weeks and older. Camp Snowbird offers a seamless integration with the resort’s renowned Mountain School to smoothly incorporate lessons on the nearby Chickadee Run and throughout the mountain with customary daycare offerings such as games, movies, arts and crafts and naps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cliff Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Lodge And Spa
The Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Lodge Utah
Snowbird Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge Snowbird Utah
The Cliff Lodge & Spa Snowbird, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing