We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old but still great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“old but still great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in this lodge on 1/17 for 5 nights. The building and interior look a lilttle outdated but it is a great place to stay. The room is spacious and clean. All the staff members are very friendly and helpful. Each room comes with a tall locker for skis and other equipment on the first floor so we did not have to drag around the skis after all day skiing. There is a decent size of heated pool and 3 hot tubs next to the pool. The food in the resort is good but pricey. However, unfortunately in any ski resort, it was expected so it was not a surprise. Overall staying in Cliff lodge was very pleasant and fun experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i1snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    178
    83
    31
    16
See reviews for
140
96
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a great getaway about 20 min from the city. You can ski or board all day then hit up the spa in the evening for a relaxing massage or dip in the roof pool/ hot-tub.

The restaurants here are pricey but tasty. There is a beautiful sushi bar mid way up the building, a buffet at the top called the Aerie, and steak restaurant in the basement.

The rooms range from large single room with two queen beds, to full on lodge suite with hot tub on balcony, kitchen, and living room with mountain view.

You can rent gear and ski/ board out the door. Which to me is one of the best feature of this resort.

Room Tip: Can't miss here, both sides of the hotel offer great views of the mountain. The only concern wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We wantedto be able to ski in/out on our trip to Snowbird so we stayed at the Cliff Lodge. It ran about $300 per night for 2 adults and 2 children taxes included. Meals were not included. Excellent food is available on the 10th floor restaurant and on the first floor. The room was spacious and the service fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigershark6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The last time I stayed at the Cliff was 15yrs ago. I wanted to show my adult children the "Best Snow On Earth". I did not check other lodges. I wanted to stay at the Best for the money and the most convenite. My experience was the same as “The Cliff needs some improvements. Reviewed December 27, 2012..” It was not any one thing that bothered me, but when you add them all up, it equals disappointment. Torn drapes, shower/tub not working properly, worn finishes and a poor attitude at the Atrium. We were on longer allowed to use the pool/hot tub on the roof as part of the package (a separate Spa fee required). The Atrium was the last straw, no spoons at the table setup. If I wanted to stir my coffee or eat cereal I had to get one back at the buffet, and I had to stand in a different line to get coffee and pay different amounts for a large or small coffee? At these prices I expect better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gareth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The rooms and the views are quite good. Rooms are a generous size (much better than what I experienced at the Lodge at Vail last year) and clean. Several restaurants, ski lockers, pool, hot tubs, ski in ski out. If I were coming to Snowbird this is where I would stay.

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidgolfer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Fantastic in the winter I imagine equally nice in the Summer. If you're skiing in UT, you ought to check out Snowbird and stay at e Cliff Lodge! It has ski in ski out proximity and super nice people! The hotel has a wide variety of eating options and all the resort stores are interconnected when charging purchases to your room! Makes it convenient!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ces G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is lovely. Rooms are a good size, comfortable and clean.

Hotel has lots of useful amenities - great outdoor pool, shops, restaurants, ski rental and it's ski in ski out. The best place to stay if you're coming to Snowbird.

Some of the comments on here suggest the hotel needs a refurb. And whilst it'd be great to do this, there's absolutely nothing wrong at the moment.

Key factor in choosing this hotel - the staff and service is exceptional.

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittymaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowbird
1.2 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
7.8 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#2 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
9.0 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Goldminer's Daughter Lodge
0.7 mi away
Alta Peruvian Lodge
1.3 mi away
Snowpine Lodge
Snowpine Lodge
#2 of 5 in Alta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Lodge & Spa

Property: The Cliff Lodge & Spa
Address: Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, Snowbird, UT 84092
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a comfortable mountain setting, The Cliff Lodge and Spa has 514 accommodation options, three restaurants, two lounges, two swimming pools, four hot tubs, extensive meeting space and Snowbird’s only ski-out, ski-in accessibility. The Cliff Lodge is the flagship of the four lodging properties at the resort. Guests of the Cliff Lodge don’t have to worry about toting their gear back to their room as each room and unit is assigned a convenient indoor locker. Lockers includes boot dryers, shelves and plenty of space for your skis and snowboard. Camp Snowbird is the resort’s comprehensive, state-licensed daycare facility with an on-premises kitchen and nursery for infants 6 weeks and older. Camp Snowbird offers a seamless integration with the resort’s renowned Mountain School to smoothly incorporate lessons on the nearby Chickadee Run and throughout the mountain with customary daycare offerings such as games, movies, arts and crafts and naps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cliff Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Lodge And Spa
The Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Hotel Snowbird
Cliff Lodge Utah
Snowbird Cliff Lodge
Cliff Lodge Snowbird Utah
The Cliff Lodge & Spa Snowbird, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing