We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for a week of the best skiing”
Review of Iron Blosam Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Snowbird
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Blosam Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Bremerton,wa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a week of the best skiing”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great lodge to stay in for on the mountain access for skiing. Our unit has a kitchen so preparing your own dinners is easy. The staff often goes above and beyond in taking care of your needs. Snowbird does have the best snow conditions and trails for all levels of skier.
Don't miss a chance to visit Little Cottonwood Canyon and a stay at the Iron Blosam
Oh, yes the big hot tub and pool are great after a day of skiing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Either a view of the ski area or the mountain on the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayFawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Previously, I had stayed mostly at the Cliff Lodge. This was our first week at the Iron Blosam. Much better than what I expected. Very casual and comfortable definitely not as luxurious as The Cliff. We had the studio for 8. It had two queen beds with a bathroom in the loft. A murphy bed in the living room and a pull out couch. Since we had two couples we each took a separate floor. Very spacious and cooking was a joy there were plenty of utensils. We actually gave an after ski party and there were plenty of regular and wine glasses for everybody. We had the most gorgeous views from our two story window. It definitely help that we had the top two floors. Each floor had its own entrance. It also help that we were across from the elevator. We also used the hot tub every day after skiing. Do not forget to take the parking lot bus. It will take you to the tram center where you could boot up in comfort. It will also drop you off after skiing.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floor. You will have less noise and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamie_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed at the Iron Blosam for a week and can't complain, it was nice. The room had a small kitchen, which was handy and allowed us to save money by cooking our own meals, it was easy to stop in for lunch. Plus there is a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel (open winters only) which is convenient if you don't feel like cooking, plus there are other places to eat nearby at the rest of the resort.

The room had great views of the mountains surrounding it and you could see down the canyon for a beautiful view of the valley (be sure to get outside for the sunset, it is beautiful).

To access the skiing you have two options: you can walk down to the Wilbere Lift or you can walk to the Snowbird Center. I'd suggest walking to Snowbird Center as it is an easier walk and you can store your skis/snowboard at the center so you don't need to carry it with you, also, there is a bit of a hill to the Wilbere Lift.

The staff at the Iron Blosam was fantastic. They were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomePersonHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the Iron Blosom (IB) the week before Christmas, through a Intervale Getaway Vacation. We were given a studio unit which sleeps four. The studio was spacious and the three of us that stayed did not feel cramped. Plenty of storage for your clothes and ski boots. Skis and poles can be stored at the ski lockers on level 2. The unit had a full kitchen, a dressing area with a sink and counter space, a bathroom and a living room, dining room, sleeping area. The sleeping area consists of a pull out couch and a murphy bed. The unit is new and updated, with granite counters and a flat screen TV. The pull out couch is EXTREMEMELY, and I mean extremely inadequate, it is by far the WORST bed I have ever slept in. Thin mattress, and very hard. The pillows are a joke. Flat and do you no good. The room is VERY dry, and HOT. We did not run the heat, but the room stayed almost dry sauna like. The room does come with a humidifier to combat the dryness, but using it will cause you to be in wet hot Sauna. We were located on level 5 overlooking the pool (which is on level 2) and the mountain which you would think would be nice due to the view. No one from the resort polices the pool so kids typically spend very late nights down there, with no sense of how loud they are. We had a hard time falling asleep due to the noise, even with the balcony door closed. I can only imagine the noise coming from the pool during the height of the season when the resort is typically crowded. Ask for a canyon view if this is going to bother you. On the pro side the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, you have to request housekeeping if you want it. We forgot to request it and then wondered why the room was never serviced, our fault. The gym is small and limited in equipment, but after a long day of skiing (that is why you are going to this resort), you really don’t need it. We did not use it. The hot tub and outdoor heated pool is great after a long day. The IB has a business center, where you can print out your return tickets. If you have a lot of things to plug in (electronics, boot dryers, batteries to recharge, etc.) you might want to bring an extension cord, with a multi outlet at the end of it, since the room does not have a lot of outlets in it. The IB is part of the larger Snowbird Resort so there are a few other properties with sleeping accommodations and places to eat, within walking distance from the IB. There is also a convenience store and ski store in the resort area. If you are skiing at Alta or snowbird and plan on eating in the snowbird resort area you don’t need a car. We have been doing this trip for a few years now and typically use Canyon Transport (CT) to get us to and from the airport. GREAT SHUTTLE SERVICE. We also ship in our ski equipment, and some dry goods for breakfast and lunches directly to the resort, which they will hold for you until you arrive. CT will stop at a local supermarket for you before you drive into snowbird so you can pick up food, this needs to be arranged beforehand with CT and the market, as CT for details. We would stay at the IB again, solely for the convenience of being on the mountain, not having to drive to dinner or rent a car to get around. The resort needs new beds and pillows and some more policing of the pool area to cut down on the noise.

Room Tip: Choose Canyon view if the noise from the pool is going to bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomkatfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just stayed at the Iron Blosom the first week of December and it met my expectations. The rooms are not "fancy" but they are clean, large and convenient for skiing. There is a restaurant on site which is convenient. Our 2 bedroom timeshare had a full kitchen, 2 queen beds and a pull-down bed. Our room had a fireplace that was nice after a long day of skiing. We stayed on the 4th floor and woke up to amazing views of the mountain. This is where you want to stay if you want to wake up, walk across the rode to the lift and ski all day. Afterwards you can grab a drink, bite to eat and rest well in your clean room. The other advice I can give, is be prepared for the altitude - drinks lots of water! Also, the air is very dry, so it was nice that our room had a humidifier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Autumn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place has lost all of its appeal! The staff can not handle the masses of children running up and down the halls, having elevator races...breaking one of the elevators. Then the pool is over run by loud partying, underage, drinking teenagers!! We were there for a whole week and the kids just laugh at the staff, bragging about how no one checks id's and they can do what ever they want. We told the desk over and over about watching kids drinking and making fun of the staff, then I heard other guests telling the front desk and security the same things we had seen and all the guy would do is wait till 10PM and tell them the pool was closed!! I am not sure why the real police don't check on this place! We have been coming up here for years and every year is worse!! I wish the management of the Snowbird community would pay some attention to this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 711Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was an exchange and we were not disappointed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. There were daily activities offered. Their restaurant, The Wildflower, was exceptional, offering gluten free calzone and pizza. During the off season they are only open from Friday - Sunday. Tram to the top of the mountain at 11,000 feet offer exquisite views of the area. We happened to be there during Oktoberfest and enjoyed food, music and vendors of all types. Guided hikes were offered each morning with a guide that was able to explain the terrain and vistas. Also, daily were tai chi and relaxation classes. Two pools were available as well as a gym, saunas and kids activity room. A great family place, even if it's not ski season.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowbird
7.2 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City/Cottonwood
4.7 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#2 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
6.9 mi away
Goldminer's Daughter Lodge
6.0 mi away
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
#2 of 3 in Snowbird
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Blosam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Blosam Lodge

Property: Iron Blosam Lodge
Address: Resort Entry #2, Snowbird, UT 84092-9000
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 159
Also Known As:
Iron Blosam Hotel Snowbird
Iron Blosam Lodge Snowbird, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing