We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Room layout impractical for tv viewing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iron Blosam Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Snowbird
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Blosam Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Room layout impractical for tv viewing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The lodge itself along with the staff were very nice. Our room was nice but the furniture was awkwardly laid out. I do not know which type of room we had but it had one Murphy bed and one sofa bed- neither of which was in a good position to watch tv during down time. We sorted that out by removing the mattress from the bed, moving the sofa bed and putting the mattress on top of the sofa bed in front of the tv. The tv was bolted to the table it was on and of course was limited by how far you could move the table due to the cord, hence all the effort moving the bed. One thing that was super annoying was our bathroom shower. It wasn't meant for tall people. It was adjustable but even at its highest setting, it reached my shoulders (I'm 5'9") so I had to duck to wash my hair. The facilities were all very clean and well maintained except for the arcade, which was a total letdown. The games were old and clearly not routinely maintained.

Although I rated the lodge 4 of 5, we won't be back. We did not realize there wasn't a village to stroll around, etc. like other ski resorts. This area is really meant for hard-core skiers when the snow is good. Unfortunately the weather wasn't good at all during our stay which obviously is no fault of the resort. On a positive note, it is very close to Salt Lake City and other activities to do so we had a good time after all, just not in Snowbird. Make sure you rent a four wheel drive in the winter time. Hope y'all have better weather!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bmac420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
31
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I went there last week for our anyversary. We loved it!! the place is cozzy and the view is amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Everyone was plesant and alwasy had a smile. We would love to come back soon. The only thing that we did not like is that our studio had a sofa bed and not an actual bed. Awesome ski experience!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson,WY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Was extremely disappointed in the room. Sliders were tough to open. No privacy on balcony. There was not even a small microwave to reheat anything. Hallways were noisey. The check-in & check-out process is a nightmare. You have to try to get your own luggage to your room using only 2 elevators. What a nightmare. 2 longest weeks of my life.

Room Tip: Try another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morticia274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have a one week time share 4 bed suite and this is one of the few good values in skiing time shares in the country. They keep it in great shape but it is old enough to have a stable resale situation. It is almost ski in ski out (just accross the street.) Iron Blosam has the best hot tub and pool in the area but the hot tub isn't for kids. The staff is friendly and the freebies like newspaper, snacks, local shuttle service and welcoming wine/cheese party each week are appreciated. Each year they are updating the rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th level or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dogdocdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed at Iron Blosam Lodge in September for the past 10-15 years. We love the location and the fall colors. In years past, coffee filters have been provided. We called to inquire about the absence of the coffee filters and was told that they no longer provide them in the summer because the Mormons were offended by their presence. You have got to be kidding me!!!!!! You should be ashamed Snowbird!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kairlotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Hotel accommodations with two bedroom timeshare unit within hotel that offered Spectactular view of mountains from balcony. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

We visited the first week of June and summer activities did not open until mid June. Therefore, alpine slide, tram ride, and ski lifts to top of mountain were closed as well as other resort activities. Several options for restaurants on property but a little pricey. Wonderful heated pool and large hot tub as well as nice fitness room, tv room, laundry facilities, and a large game room. There was an adult only pool and a family pool which was nice. Wifi in rooms but connectivity very poor. Planned activities included hiking, different hikes on daily basis. Be sure to sign up early as slots filled up quickly. Must be physically fit with no respiratory problems as elevation is 8000 feet.

Resort is 6 miles up a winding road and located very near Salt Lake City. The Utah State Capitol is beautiful and well worth the visit. Natural History Museum of Utah had a wonderful dinosaur exhibit as well as other exhibits. We drove to Moab, Utah and went to Arches National Park and to Canyonlands National Park. We spent one night there. The town of Moab has many restaurants and activities as well. We could have spent another day there as well.

We would recommend this resort, but just don't go for the summer until mid June to enjoy all the resort's offerings.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen and Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Spent a night at the lodge previewing a timeshare opportunity as this is such a property. I was very impressed with the professional staff and array of amenities. Sleep comfort was great - actually awesome - considering I slept on a hide-a-bed! The rooms seem a tad bland, but that's okay. For the maintenance fees, the week I've bought during the winter will be a killer deal compared to the rates of other offerings at Snowbird!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utahskibum85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowbird
13.8 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
7.2 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
15.0 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City/Cottonwood
15.1 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
The Cliff Lodge & Spa
#2 of 3 in Snowbird
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Blosam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Blosam Lodge

Property: Iron Blosam Lodge
Address: Resort Entry #2, Snowbird, UT 84092-9000
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 159
Also Known As:
Iron Blosam Hotel Snowbird
Iron Blosam Lodge Snowbird, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing