We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular setting”
Review of Iron Blosam Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Snowbird
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Blosam Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent three nights here with friends and enjoyed our stay. Go for the mountain view. Our friends did the 'canyon view' and ended up with their patio very close to the main road up the canyon. Road noise was bad, and it was too hot to close their doors. They ended up moving after one night. Units are somewhat variable in size and layout. They are all timeshares, so the ones for rent are always rather variable. Many families and children were up there.

We had a room with only a mattress from a fold-out sofa. The mattress as okay, the best I've ever slept on from a fold out. However, if you don't like a firm mattress, it would not work for you. The small kitchen was a nice feature. The two pools seemed nice, although we didn't use them. Having an adult only pool is nice. The breakfast up at the Cliff Lodge which was included for us was quite good, and the restaurant had a superb setting. We've stayed near Park City before, but there seemed more to do up at Snowbird. There is much spectacular hiking close by.

Room Tip: again, get the mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joevincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 98 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were there too late for snow play and too early for summer activities, thus, the resort activities came in handy for our children (7 and 9 at the time). We exchanged through RCI timeshare therefore it is difficult for me to rate "value". We had a loft suite that sleeps 6. The loft had two queen size beds, a full size bathroom and direct entrance from the hallway. Downstairs had a rather small and compact kitchen but adequate and a 6-person dinette against the wall; and a very nice decent living area with a wall-mount full-size murphy bed. There was a full-size bathroom next to the hallway entrance as well. The loft as well as the living room had a panoramic view of the mountain from a wide but narrow balcony with a table and chairs. We were so amazed at how clean the unit was. No dust what-so-ever, not even on the silk plants they had. The beds were firm enough for a good night sleep. The resort ground was clean and pleasant. The resort staff was very friendly and they had lots activities you can participate for no-to-very-minimal fees. We enjoyed the bingo games, definitely one of the best bingo games we ever participated in. The tie-die had a small fee but was well worth it. Since the resort itself depends on winter and summer activities to entertain the guests, in-between season is quite "boring" for lack of better word. However, you can visit many places in the nearby area. We ventured outside to Heritage Park, a must-see while there in Salk Lake City which is about 30 min. drive depends the traffic. Through some local package deals, we went to Museum of Fine Art (a child-friendly museum), Dinosaur Museum and Gardens at the Thanksgiving Point, to name a few. We would definitely go back and visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FunJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We live on the Caribbean island of Curacao and a long time ago we have been as a couple on a wintersports vacation in France. We wanted this time to go with our two daughters so they could learn how to ski as well. This was our first wintersports vacation in the USA and we couldn't have picked out a better area, nor a better resort. We used our time share to stay at Iron Blossom Lodge and it was magnificent. The Lodge has great rooms with all necessary amenities. The fire place was also very cozy and toasty. From our room we had a terrific view on the snow covered mountains; just picture perfect. The kids enjoyed to go every morning to the second floor, where one is free to take not only complimentary hot chocolate (with tiny marshmellows!), coffee or tea, but also huge green apples or energy bars. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they do their best to accomodate you with anything, even when your car gets stuck in the snow. The housekeeping department is so accomodating, it would put other housekeeping departments in other hotels/resorts to shame! Even the other guests were very friendly and easy-going.

We did not go to the outside heated pool, because coming from the Caribbean (where we can swim everyday in the crystal clear blue ocean) it was hard to phantom the idea of swimming in hot water and then to get out in the freezing cold: no way, jose, not for us! But we could could see that many people had a terrific time at the pool.

For us, overall the Lodge offered very high quality. Also its surroundings were magnificent, with great snow and - again - very very nice and friendly people at the Snowbird Center and all horeca establishment we went to: the Tram Car Pizza (most delicious pizza's!), the Bird Feeder (best hot dogs we ever tasted) and the Forklift restaurants. Also we had great fun with the guys working at the Center, where we hired our gear. Two thumbs up for Jackson and his crew!

Basically the Iron Blossom Lodge presents itself quite unassumingly, whilst it is in essence excellent, because it has wonderful people and it is a terrific place. We will certainly go back there!

Family Martha-Alberto from Curacao

Room Tip: Try to get one with a fire place! If you stay on the fifth floor, you can easily walk to the SnowBi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jefka_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Large clean rooms. Great views and lifts are a short walk. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The pool and hot tub were the highlights!

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissa41585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I loved how this place is operated. There is no maid service which I like! One goes down to the 4th floor to a window to get fresh towels and what ever you need. The outdoor hot pool is terrific and the indoor jacuzzi's are huge. We had a studio with a double murphy bed and a pull out sofa and we had them bring in a roll-away for a 3rd person and there is not enough room to pull out the sofa with the roll-away in the room. The lift is right across the street and the bus to Alta and Snowbird Center stops right out in front! Awesome!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BunnieinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Iron Blosam. The staff is very accomodating....ready to please and make your stay enjoyable. The outdoor pool was heated to 100 degrees while the large indoor hot tub had great jets to soothe those achey muscles after skiing. Children under 16 were not permitted in the hot tub but had a great time in the outdoor pool. Our kitchenette was well stocked and housekeeping had everything you would need. I definitely would stay here again. We were just across the street from Snowbird!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crystal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our room was very nice. It had that snow lodge feel that you want, with lots of wood and such, but also had all the amenities we could want. There was a free wine & cheese party, a great restaurant and lounge. My son enjoyed the game room with lots of other kids.

The location is nice. You can walk to the Wilbere lift. If you'd rather go to the Gad lifts or Snowbirds Center, it's a very short walk to the bus route and buses go by frequently. You almost never have to wait more than a couple of minutes. The resort also has a truck and they seem very happy to shuttle you about as needed if you don't want to use the resort buses.

The staff was super helpful. The bellman was exceptional. There was a huge snowfall on our last night. When I woke up, there was 18" of snow throughout the parking lot. The bellman told me when they would plow the lot. Once they did, he personally dug out all of the snow behind my car and pulled it up to the door for me. It was definitely above and beyond.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowbird
7.2 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood
14.7 mi away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City/Cottonwood
4.7 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Cottonwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Blosam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Blosam Lodge

Address: Resort Entry #2, Snowbird, UT 84092-9000
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Snowbird
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Snowbird
Price Range: $89 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 159
Also Known As:
Iron Blosam Hotel Snowbird
Iron Blosam Lodge Snowbird, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing