We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The reviews say it all...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Philadelphian

The Philadelphian
Ranked #41 of 214 Restaurants in Sandy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The reviews say it all...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have to admit, I was both curious and anxious to visit The Philadelphian. It is not often that you hear praises regarding an establishments menu by repeat clientele, while at the same time being told that the place is filthy and has a generally apathetic staff. In a nutshell, everything you've heard or read on Trip Advisor was correct. The sandwich, fries and onion rings were good, not great. The place was not filthy, it was borderline nauseating. Advice to all, carry out during less busy times of the day to minimize potentially noxious exposure to both the staff and environment. If you do stay, bring some Febreeze to mask the embedded smell of grease which will be permanently absorbed into your clothing when you leave. You may also want to bring some Clorox wipes for your hands, table, chair, food basket, hands, ketchup bottle, fry sauce bottle, hands, drink cup, oh and yeah, your hands. Nothing in this place has been cleaned in a millennium.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    7
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NOT a philly cheesesteak. Long wait for food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I'm a recent transplant from eastern Pennsylvania and have had the opportunity to try 2 of the local cheesesteak spots in the valley. The Philadelphian was just plain terrible. The food: a good cheesesteak starts with good bread. Even alot of philly places lack this unfortunately. The bread at Philadelphian was gummy, too soft, and not wide enough to hold a considerable amount of steak. The meat resembled a roastbeef but not sure. It wasn't chopped up properly and honestly tasted like something you'd get at a gas station. The sandwich lacked the proper amounts of condiments in combination. Not enough cheese. Poor construction overall. I ended up dipping the sandwich into fry sauce, which I would never EVER do with a real philly. The fries were halfway decent however. Restaurant: If the food were good, I wouldn't care that the place was a dump. A dive requires the food to be good, which is why it's just a dump. Plus the food took forever! Plan on a long wait to get your crappy sandwich. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
248 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good sandwiches but a dirty kitchen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The sandwiches are good but the kitchen area needs a MAJOR cleaning. You can get 6 foot sandwiches for parties as well. The steak and pastrami sandwiches are my favorites.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank kj7hz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good sandwich, total dump”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

How has the health department allowed this place to stay open?
With that being said..... I'll take mine to go.
Good sandwich, fresh cut fries.
Try at your own risk.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelagentDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
198 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Last Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

I used to frequent this sandwich shop regularly. The last time I stopped in the place was so dirty that I determined not to return. The food has always been tasty, but I can't imagine how the Board of Health didn't close them down by now.

Helpful?
Thank Namealreadyinuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Philadelphian also viewed

 
Sandy, Wasatch Range
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 

Been to The Philadelphian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing