We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, but not great”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #102 of 218 Restaurants in Sandy
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
802 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but not great”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had lunch here with a friend.
Cool vibe, slightly pushy waitress, but efficient non-the-less.
Good sized menu, lots of seafood options. Not exactly cheap or great value for money.
Ordered a platter. Everything was battered and deep fried. Chips were good and coleslaw a bit soft - it should be crunchy - obviously had sat in the fridge for a few days.
On the whole the food tasted pretty good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
262 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Seafood and clam chowder”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

First time here in years. Clam chowder was very good. Main course was coconut shrimp, crab stuffed shrimp, hush puppies, fish and chips and great balls of fire. All of it was good but nothing exceptional. Still, not a bad meal though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kj7hz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

It was okay. Just close to the movie .. It was too salty for me though. Nice huge space so maybe good for family and large group for meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo60-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will not return to Joe's Crabshack”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ate at the Sanford, FL location
The service was slow and not overly friendly (seemed inexperienced)
Restaurant was very noisy
I ordered Salmon / broccoli / rice:
1. The salmon was over-cooked and dry. I asked for some soysauce to help moisten it...nope, they don't have any soysauce. They offered standard coctail sauce (for salmon???) - I accepted. They brought a tiny, near-thimble-sized paper container of it...big deal. It helped a couple mouthfulls of the dry salmon go down more easily.
2. The 'steamed' broccoli was absolutely RAW...what the hell?
3. The rice was dry and flavorless.

The best part of my dinner was the bottle of beer - it was cold.
Conclusion: Overpriced and not up to reasonable standards.
WILL NOT RETURN OR RECOMMEND TO ANYONE. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank floridafraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed. Again...”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying I love JCS! I love the atmosphere, I love the people, and I love the food...usually. This visit was a disappointment all around. The place was dead; we were one of two tables being served. The service was mediocre at best; I finally had to ask for a drink refill after two visits from our server and she never bothered to offer desert after our meal. The meal was tasty but poorly prepared; the crab wasn't cooked properly and the clarified butter tasted rather rancid. Was hoping for better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

West Jordan, Wasatch Range
 
South Jordan, Wasatch Range
 
Murray, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing