We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is amazing”
Review of La Caille

La Caille
Reserve with OpenTable
La Caille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 216 Restaurants in Sandy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 3500 E. 9500 S.
Green River, Wyoming
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location is amazing”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had been wanting to try La Caille for years when I use to live in the area, but at the time was a student and couldn't afford it. I did finally try it with my wife and thought it was worth the wait. there are so many choices in the city, that we almost opted to eat downtown. I am glad we committed to making the trip to La Caille. The food was very good. The atmosphere was unbeatable. Very romantic. Retaurant, grounds, staff, all great. We will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    42
    25
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A red brick path into this restaurant shows your in for a treat....”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

La Caille in Sandy is a wonderful fantasy garden full of different species of animals and plant life. It is extremely lush and we drove right past the restaurant because the entrance is so grand we thought it was a private road from someone on Rich and Famous. :) I won't spoil the surprises found here but go early so you can take time to enjoy all the restaurant has to offer. On the down side it is expensive and you have to valet or run over the attendant waiting at the road for you. This I would assume is to keep non paying visitors out? I am an amateur photographer so I really enjoyed the scenery which is set up for wedding photos but....
There is not a big choice on the menu and I settled for chicken which was extremely tasty and French cooked. The waitresses attended to our every need and everyone that worked there was pleasant and willing to assist you. However the bill was 140.00 for 2 people plus a tip and valet tip which to me no matter how beautiful the grounds, how great the service and how cute the wild life I would like maybe some yummy crab legs and extra large shrimp for this kind of money not chicken. So although it was lovely and we had a great time we venture on to see new places. I give La Caille thumbs up for the uniqueness and would advise anyone to dine there at least once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovingUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
398 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Food "good" but grounds amazing!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place is worth the short drive from Salt Lake City just to see the spectacular grounds. It's a fantasy / fairy type setting with black and white swans, ducks, ponds, etc and flowers galore.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueEyeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Divine Settings, Romantic”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Food and service were of excellent quaity, the waiters, waitress and host were all attentive. The atmosphere and the surroundings were romantic and lovely. We wandered around the grounds, took pictures, spent time at the winery on another day with friends who also enjoyed the restaurant as much as we did. I love the fireplace and the special attention given to the grounds upon arrival it sets the right mood for a gourmet dinner. The peacocks,swans and small animals just added to the ambiance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Recommend Caille Restaurant strongly”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The location of Caille is just fantastic. You drive in through a narrow gate and a long driveway to the restaurant which is in a kind of pseudo French chateau. The grounds are spectacular, very nicely kept and arranged, with peacocks and black swans ambling about, with a mountain backdrop. Often used for weddings. The restaurant is under new management, and the food was just great, service was excellent. In our party there were three adults and two children. The children's menu was about $12, with filet mignon and creme brulee. My daughter and I shared a lentil salad ($12). She had salmon ($38), I had rib-eye steak ($48), my wife had canard. My rib-eye steak was 8 ounces, thick, could hardly finish it (not used to this much food), and it was excellent. (never had one before, usually had filet mignon elsewhere.) They served thin french fries (aiguillettes) with it, very tasty, would have preferred more vegetables (they had one brussel sprout on a plate.). Dessert was Chantilly cake ($14) with whipped cream and icecream. The cake was very good, shared by all. My daughter and I had a glass of St. Emilion each ($12). Good.

Small criticisms: would have preferred vegetables instead of french fries as standard, instead of this enormous steak I would have preferred half the size, costing less. (They had a filet mignon only with lobster for $60, or chateaubriand by the ounce, minimum about $50). All in all, the quantity of food for each dish was large, maybe too large. Of course the prices are on the very high side.

The restaurant tries to please you by offering complimentary little additions, as sherbet for palate cleanser, complimentary truffle for the ladies, etc.

The restaurant is in many ways extraordinary, but of course the prices are correspondingly high (for Utah)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caille also viewed

Sandy, Wasatch Range
 
Sandy, Wasatch Range
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 

Been to La Caille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing