We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Caille

La Caille
Reserve with OpenTable
La Caille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 214 Restaurants in Sandy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 3500 E. 9500 S.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

La Caille has had some difficulties in the last few years, but they are overcoming them. The food was very good and the customer service was excellent. They also have a very good wine list. I had the duck and my partner had the rack of lamb. The duck was prepared very well and I enjoyed every bit. The rack of lamb was outstanding and I highly recommend it. The staff is very friendly and committed to customers enjoying their meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill8659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    32
    21
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad Ending”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Dining was 2 people. Bill $250.00. Atmosphere was nice. Food was pretty good, nothing more than expected for that price. Paid our bill and were leaving and the parking valet charged us $5.00 for their services. There are some 20 acres and you are forced to park where and when they tell you to. I can see having to pay a valet in San Franciso at Fisherman's Warf where parking is at a premium. Or downtown Los Angeles, but with 20 acres and tons of parking spots available for banquet usage, diners are forced to valet their car and then pay a separate company $5.00 plus tip to valet your vehicle. Unbelievable! That's just not okay, no signage to this requirement and it was a rude ending to a previously nice evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The grounds of this restaurant are beautiful - be sure to save some time to walk around a bit. We were greeted by a valet who was very friendly and helpful. We did not have reservations and arrived at 4:10 - right around their opening time at 4:00pm on a Saturday. The hostess seemed less than enthused to be helping us and informed us that it was going to take a few minutes to seat us because "they just opened at 4:00pm". In my opinion, if you open at 4:00pm, you should be ready for customers at 4:00pm. We waited a good 25 minutes to be seated even though there were only 2 other tables being used in the entire restaurant. Our waitress was cute, friendly, but didn't know the menu well at all. Our food was satisfactory, but not worth the price we paid. I'm glad we checked out this place, but we will not be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
398 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Amazing from the drive up, to the buildings, grounds, decor and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband searched this place out when we were recently passing through Salt Lake City. He had been here years and years ago and remembered the cute ducks and peacocks that roamed the grounds. Wow! I was incredibly impressed upon arrival. This is like a french country estate out in an up-scale suburb of Salt Lake (Sandy, Utah). Go, go go! An adorable building houses the restaurant that looks quite old, charming, quaint and authentic. The food was good, decor interesting. We took tons of pictures!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueEyeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Make belief French cuisine in an Alice in Wonderland setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

On a business trip to SLC we took a break to have lunch at this "make belief everything" place. Getting to the point: the food vaguely resembles French cooking....I suspect though that the kitchen personnel has never even been near a French chef or kitchen. Undercooked puffed pastries, gluttonous "French onion soup" that's "over-cheesed", steak that was " forgotten" on the grill and thus ended up overcooked, service that resembles more the kind of interaction one experiences at a roadside truckstop, and a decor that tries hard but was a cheap castoff from central casting.....I'm sorry...so underwhelming that it "hurts". I didn't have to pick up the bill though. As they say: "different strokes, different folks". But French......nah?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dh2dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caille also viewed

Sandy, Wasatch Range
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 

Been to La Caille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing