We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Varried menu and healthy choices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Agave - CLOSED

El Agave
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Varried menu and healthy choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lots of choices for meals, so something for everyone. The flavor of the food is average for Mexican, but the big distinction is they allow you to substitute salad or steamed veggies for the beans & rice. This is uncommon for Mexican, so a nice change if you want to try healthy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really good foods.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We saw new mexican restaurant was open there so we tried.
Wow, they were good. I tried seafoods burrito and my goodness, they used good portion of seafoods and tasted great. My husband ordered his steak burrito and he loved it too. Friendly waitress and good portion of quality foods. We will be back :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo60-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING MEXICAN RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was so happy to stumble upon this little GEM! Until I found El Agave, I thought the only decent place for Mexican Food in Salt Lake City was Red Iguana but this place is just as good if not better and it is located much closer to our house. The service has always been amazing (we've become quite the regulars), the food is EXCELLENT. I took 65 people in for my birthday last year and every single person who had dinner said they really enjoyed it and most of them have gone back on their own.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiddy_UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I went there last weekend with my family and had a great experience . The chips and cabbage salsa are great
I had the mole poblano better than red iguana. My wife had the Chile Verde it was also tasty .

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nowayjose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average Mexican fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It is good, but not great. Another okay choice for Mexican in the area. The service was very good, but the food was nothing notable - not bad, just not WOW! or anything. I would call it average compared to the other 5-10 Mexican restaurants in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Agave also viewed

Sandy, Wasatch Range
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 
Sandy, Wasatch Range
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing