We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good foods.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Agave - CLOSED

El Agave
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really good foods.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We saw new mexican restaurant was open there so we tried.
Wow, they were good. I tried seafoods burrito and my goodness, they used good portion of seafoods and tasted great. My husband ordered his steak burrito and he loved it too. Friendly waitress and good portion of quality foods. We will be back :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo60-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING MEXICAN RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was so happy to stumble upon this little GEM! Until I found El Agave, I thought the only decent place for Mexican Food in Salt Lake City was Red Iguana but this place is just as good if not better and it is located much closer to our house. The service has always been amazing (we've become quite the regulars), the food is EXCELLENT. I took 65 people in for my birthday last year and every single person who had dinner said they really enjoyed it and most of them have gone back on their own.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiddy_UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I went there last weekend with my family and had a great experience . The chips and cabbage salsa are great
I had the mole poblano better than red iguana. My wife had the Chile Verde it was also tasty .

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nowayjose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average Mexican fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It is good, but not great. Another okay choice for Mexican in the area. The service was very good, but the food was nothing notable - not bad, just not WOW! or anything. I would call it average compared to the other 5-10 Mexican restaurants in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“...first time....experience was okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

There are a lot of mom and pops Mexican restaurants in town...not any one is outstanding from our perspective so we thought we'd give Agave a try. We went on Saturday evening expecting a crowd, but we were seated immediately. The host and wait staff are pleasant and eager to please. As other reviewers have stayed the decor is new and the menu has "routine" Mexican fare. Fresh chips and two salsas (tomato and cabbage) were brought while we were perusing the menu. I selected the chipotle enchiladas with rice and beans...my husband ordered carne aside and a chile relleno also with r&bs.

The red salsa is very much tomato based...too thick for my taste...almost as though it was
straight from the can with some onions and heat added. The cabbage offering appeared to be filling for fish tacos...dry and not impressive.
Rice and beans were typical. The filling of the chipotle enchiladas was fine; chunks of chicken
breast and spices. The sauce was again of the same thick tomato consistency that the salsa was made from...not appealing to me.
My husband enjoyed the carne asada which was thinly sliced and well marinated...(they forgot to bring the warmed tortillas with his meal) relleno was fair, battered but not deep fried and the Anaheim chile had heat.
Service was timely and pleasant....but we felt no compelling reason to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Agave also viewed

 
Sandy, Wasatch Range
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing