We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ok but pet owners beware of the "cleaning fees"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sandy
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Ok but pet owners beware of the "cleaning fees"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

It's always interesting when a hotel decides to be pet friendly but you just know they don't like pets. I knew the hotel allowed dogs but didn't know of the pretty steep fees that accompany this. There was some story conveyed about how a special service has to be called in to clean the room after a pet stays there. Hmmm. So, they don't turn a room until this "service" shows up? The whole thing was a little fishy or as Diane Sawyer said to Whitney Houston, "show me the receipts." It's more like using the "home" branding to take a little more $ from pet owners. The 4 star Monaco has no such fees or policy either, which is where we ultimately went. This Hyatt was clean and the furnishings were modern and comfortable. A little noisy if you face the freeway.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank herculepoirot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSandy, General Manager at Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for the feedback regarding our pet policy. To follow up with you, we do bring in a third party to clean and disinfect the rooms after each pet departs. As we are a hotel that can have extended stay guests, we want to ensure that the pet dander is removed as much as possible for the next guest. If there was someone that had an allergy, and they were here for a month, we wouldn't want them to find the pet dander from prolonged exposure.

I would be happy to discuss this further if you would like. I can be reached at Jeff.Olpin@hyatt.com. We appreicate the time you took to respond, and we hope your travels are enjoyable.

Kindest,

Jeff Olpin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    132
    28
    15
    9
See reviews for
180
73
27
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Easy to find from the highway- great rooms-nice and very homey- kitchen was clean and very up to date- staff is very courteous and helpful-hot tub and pool are heated which is great since I stayed December 1st- will definitely be staying here again next time I am down this way- loved it

Room Tip: I always stay on second or third floor in the end rooms- lass traffic and noise- even though I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angel771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

the hotel is just off the main highway that runs to Salt Lake City, so it's convenient. The hotel looks fairly new, so the rooms are nicely decorated and the common areas look clean. Parking is free. Nothing special about the hotel, just a good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsbmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have stayed in this beautiful hotel 4 times in the same year for a total period of 2 months. Its excellent location with a very good view over the surrounding mountains, close to shopping centers and restaurants, large suites with cooking facilities all make it an excellent place to stay.

Very friendly direction and staff make it a very pleasant home abroad, not to mention their generous breakfasts every morning and happy hours in the afternoon during the week days.

Located in the southern part of Salt Lake City, just by the I-15, makes it an ideal place for reaching most of the activities in Down Town SLC which you can reach in 15 minutes most of the times.

Whenever possible, I will be looking forward to stay in this beautiful and peaceful hotel.

Room Tip: West side rooms face the I-15 and has a wide panoramic view over Southern Jordan, the mountains and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Levent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSandy, General Manager at Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Good Afternoon Levent O,

Very glad to see you back with us Levent! We are always happy to take care of you. I regret that I wasn't able to see you in person during your visit.

See you again soon, and until then best wishes, and kindest regards,

Jeff Olpin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Saying full amenities, a full kitchen, office area, and nice big bathroom are what you get at Hyatt House, definitely sell this location short.

Everything exceeded my expectations, including the location and neighboring businesses in the area.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hunter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Highly recommend this for business travelers who like to have a little bit of space to come back to after a long day. The room had a seperate kitchen with all the tools and appliances you would need if you wanted to stay in plus a very nice bathroom with walk in glass and tile shower. The pool here has a beatiful view of the snow capped mountains even in August! All around impressed with the property!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I would like to give the Hyatt House-Sandy a 3.5 on a scale of 5.
The rooms are comfortable and accomodating. I had a sound sleep, a decent shower and enjoyed the free breakfast.
I would stay again if my work travels bring me back to the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_p_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City / Sandy
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Sandy
1.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City/South Jordan, UT
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy

Property: Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy
Address: 9685 S Monroe St, Sandy, UT 84070-4295 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Sandy/Salt Lake City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandy
#3 Family Hotel in Sandy
#4 Business Hotel in Sandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Sandy/Salt Lake City Hotel Sandy
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing