We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It looks better than it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sandy
Certificate of Excellence
Commerce City, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It looks better than it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for a week for a major trade show, 2 year in a row but will not stay here next year. Hyatt sets the bar very high and you come to expect that at all Hyatt hotels. This one looks very nice but it's lost on the details... bath room, paint, couch...all need some updates. Breakfast if very bland... With the above said, the rooms are big, the full kitchen is great, the pool, fitness center are nice. Staff was average not not overly great...located right off the highway it the road noise can be a bit loud.

Room Tip: try and get a room not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTskiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    115
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
154
65
26
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rigby, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Modern, clean rooms. We had a two bedroom suite and it was prefect for two couples who wanted privacy but wanted to be together. Breakfast was delicious and fresh. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the Rio Tinto stadium. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jays820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was taken here as part of a business plan meeting side-trip, basically a 2-day getaway to see the area - and best part, paid for by someone other than me! I (we) really enjoyed the place and the city. Great rooms here, very large and modern. Incredible views, good pool, and superb breakfast bar. Very attentive staff for such a busy place. Though I was there for business, I would bring family here if/when I return to SLC. It seemed to be a well-run operation offering everything for a pretty decent price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

i stayed here on July 7th to July 8th in room 419. The check in was really quick it took less than 2 minutes. The hotel is really nice and very modern. Our room was pretty clean and really nice. I enjoyed the outdoor pool it was nice and warm most hotels with outside pools are always freezing cold. The property of this was pretty clean and in perfect conditions. There wasn't that much for Breakfast but it was really tasty. The beds in the rooms were really comfy and i had a really great night. This hotel is very close to the freeway but didn't hear a single car pass by. I loved everything about this place. I would return again if i'm in the salt lake city area.

Room Tip: Get the rooms on the poolside cause you don't hear the freeway at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
193 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family and I had a very comfortable suite. The full kitchen with oven, fridge, and microwave was a welcomed bonus! The place was very clean, nice parking, clean pool, and clean great rooms. Beds and bathrooms were the best. However, the staff was so short staffed, the front desk lady, drove us in the van, and also helped with breakfast clean-up. Even a great place, can go down quickly if you don't have enough staff ;)

Room Tip: Get a mountain view room. Also ask how many people are working at the hotel??
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spaboy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Mon-Thurs evening social was a good way to meet other travellers; Breakfast with omelette bar was incredible; patio option for dining was a bonus with the mountains in view; 2 bedroom suite was great for our group.

Room Tip: Corner suites were spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STLtoSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I've stayed here in the past and was very pleased with both the property itself and the friendly service. This time, our stay was less pleasing from the service viewpoint, although the property is still well designed for the business traveler. It's interesting to observe the natural progression that occurs in some businesses as they age. Initially, when management is attempting to build the business, staff are well trained to be really helpful, friendly and flexible. When things become more settled and there is less pressure to attempt to produce happy customers who will aid in marketing the property, the atmosphere can change unless management continues to manage and to recognize that travelers do have a choice in which businesses they patronize. That has happened here. The rooms haven't changed, they are still pleasant, comfortable, and relatively clean but the welcoming atmosphere is no longer present. That may not be important to some travelers but I believe it sets the tone for the whole property. There are a lot of activities behind the scenes that the customer never sees but trusts to be performed correctly. When one encounters an obvious lack of caring from those who interact with the customer, one suspects that attitudes elsewhere might not be up to snuff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allidoistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSandy, Manager at Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our property. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. We have many new staff members at this time, and your input will help us to show all of them how important the guest experience is, and how they can help to make your stay more memorable and enjoyable.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.


Sincerely,

Meghan James
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City / Sandy
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City/South Jordan, UT
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandy
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salt Lake City South Towne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy

Property: Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy
Address: 9685 S Monroe St, Sandy, UT 84070-4295 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Sandy/Salt Lake City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandy
#3 Family Hotel in Sandy
#4 Business Hotel in Sandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Sandy/Salt Lake City Hotel Sandy
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing