We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place - short staffed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sandy
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
193 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice place - short staffed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family and I had a very comfortable suite. The full kitchen with oven, fridge, and microwave was a welcomed bonus! The place was very clean, nice parking, clean pool, and clean great rooms. Beds and bathrooms were the best. However, the staff was so short staffed, the front desk lady, drove us in the van, and also helped with breakfast clean-up. Even a great place, can go down quickly if you don't have enough staff ;)

Room Tip: Get a mountain view room. Also ask how many people are working at the hotel??
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spaboy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    113
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
153
65
26
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Mon-Thurs evening social was a good way to meet other travellers; Breakfast with omelette bar was incredible; patio option for dining was a bonus with the mountains in view; 2 bedroom suite was great for our group.

Room Tip: Corner suites were spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STLtoSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I've stayed here in the past and was very pleased with both the property itself and the friendly service. This time, our stay was less pleasing from the service viewpoint, although the property is still well designed for the business traveler. It's interesting to observe the natural progression that occurs in some businesses as they age. Initially, when management is attempting to build the business, staff are well trained to be really helpful, friendly and flexible. When things become more settled and there is less pressure to attempt to produce happy customers who will aid in marketing the property, the atmosphere can change unless management continues to manage and to recognize that travelers do have a choice in which businesses they patronize. That has happened here. The rooms haven't changed, they are still pleasant, comfortable, and relatively clean but the welcoming atmosphere is no longer present. That may not be important to some travelers but I believe it sets the tone for the whole property. There are a lot of activities behind the scenes that the customer never sees but trusts to be performed correctly. When one encounters an obvious lack of caring from those who interact with the customer, one suspects that attitudes elsewhere might not be up to snuff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allidoistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSandy, Manager at Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our property. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. We have many new staff members at this time, and your input will help us to show all of them how important the guest experience is, and how they can help to make your stay more memorable and enjoyable.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.


Sincerely,

Meghan James
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here May 24th for one night. It was an unplanned stop as I realized I was just not well enough to make the drive back to Colorado that evening.

Check in was fast and courteous, the management made sure I had everything I needed for my stay. They even have a 24-hour 'store' that one could purchase meals, drinks, last-minute necessities, but I felt the meals offered weren't that great, just mainly pre-packaged and/or frozen. Nonetheless, I can see how that would come in handy for those arriving late.

I requested a quiet room on the east side, away from the freeway to the west and the construction to the south (it looks like another hotel or some type of large structure is being built).

The room was large, had a full size kitchen with utensils, plates, everything one would need to cook at home. My room faced east as requested, towards the mountains and overlooking the pool. If it weren't for the large group of 20+ children that were in the pool right up until 10pm, I would have had a peaceful evening. Unfortunately I had to wait until their posted quiet hours of 10pm before I could actually get some rest. That, and the unfortunate circumstance of a smoke detector going off in my hall way in someone's room that did not get turned off for about 35 minutes or so. Earplugs solved that issue for the time being, but not without being bothered for a little bit. Oh well, you can't control everything. Management did respond to my request to address the smoke detector issue but it still took some time. He also assured me the pool would get quiet at 10 pm, which it did.

The breakfast in the morning was your typical hotel 1/4 folded processed-cheese omelets, pork sausages, fruit, cereals, waffles, etc. The coffee was weak but I have yet to find hotel coffee that is delicious, so take that for what it's worth.

There is ample parking in the back for larger vans/shuttles, but not necessarily for rigs or full-size RV's.

Overall if you are staying in the Sandy area I would recommend this place due to it's proximity to ski areas and urban malls alike. It is clean and management was very nice.

Room Tip: Choose the east side, higher levels for mountain views. The west side faces the freeway and the sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xajiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and could not believe how at home we felt when we walked into our room. We had a living/kitchen, a bedroom and an awesome bath. The morning breakfast was always a special treat with different offerings daily. The hospality of the nightly food and drinks from Monday through Thursday was a delight to a relaxing evening. We had the pleasure of having meeting in the meeting rooms along with a banquet and they were always ready and set up extreamly well. I will return to this hotel the next time I am in Sandy Utah.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz2bad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in a King suite for 10 days on business. The room was great and the breakfasts and 'Happy Hour' food in the evening were a wonderful bonus.
The staff were all very friendly and were always willing to help.
Definitely good value for money and I will stay again if I have business in Salt Lake City, or to go skiing in the mountains.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great place for extended stay. Room was spacious and comfy. Nice kitchen and living area separate from bedroom. Excellent shuttle service to nearby locations and city train stop to go into downtown Salt Lake City. Good amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City / Sandy
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City/South Jordan, UT
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandy
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salt Lake City South Towne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy

Property: Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy
Address: 9685 South Monroe Street, Sandy, UT 84070 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Sandy/Salt Lake City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandy
#3 Family Hotel in Sandy
#4 Business Hotel in Sandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Sandy/Salt Lake City Hotel Sandy
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing