We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great bed, good breakfast, near mall/interstate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sandy
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great bed, good breakfast, near mall/interstate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I was here with my spouse and spent most of my two day trip inside this hotel. The breakfast was nice, and it was a neat surprise to see more to eat than just cereal, fruit and coffee. In the afternoon, when I asked where I could buy bottled water, the front desk staff just gave me some from behind the counter. There is an exercise room (you need your room key to enter) and there were two computers in the lobby with printers. A hotel shuttle will drive you anywhere within five miles of the hotel. There is a huge mall across the street (I don't recommend walking) with a Dillards and Macy's. There are also stoers like Kohls and Ross and a movie theatre blocks away that they will drive you to. Check-in and check-out were quick. The king size bed was great, the bathroom was big and the tv had lots of cable channels. It was 101 degrees when I was there and the hotel was actually very cold to us. We actually tried to turn on the heater at night, but it would not come on...I'm sure we were the only one's complaining the constant chill in the hotel room. There is a swimming pool, but it is covered/inside. The Salt Lake City airport is about 20 minutes away. Others in my group told me a public rail system near the hotel takes you directly downtown Salt Lake City, but I never inquired. An interstate was visible from the room window, but their was no traffic noise. This is a nice hotel, but nothing fancy...no bathrobes or room service, but decent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    96
    21
    14
    6
See reviews for
104
63
15
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Internet was insanely slow, don't advertise high speed then connect us at pathetic speeds. Showers were cold if you got up too late, showers before 6:30 were fine, after were cold.

Everything else was standard, complimentary breakfast was fine, got kind of bland after a week.

Wouldn't stay here again, i'll recommend the company chooses another location next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naz4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We stayed in the Hampton Inn in Sandy, Utah. The first night was horrible. The Utah National Guard was also staying at the hotel and about 10 pm the party started in the hall of the hotel. At midnight I called the front desk and was told by the night manager," that they knew about it and would let it go on". The guard was having a party. I called back at 1:00 and was told that the guard was on the roof and wanted to know if I was calling about that problem because they were told to get down! at 1:30 AM I opened the door into the hall and found 5 men yelling obscenities while drunk. And finally, at 2 AM I called (3rd time) and told the front desk to expect the police because I was beyond fed up! The night manager told me that they were in the process of moving them to the lobby! THE NIGHT MANAGER SHOULD LOOSE HIS JOB! This is the worst customer service experience I have ever experienced from this hotel company. They gave my small family a room next to a group of National Guard Members, that they knew wanted to party!???? The next morning I spoke to a gentleman in the elevator that also had the same problem as my family. The hotel was not full- putting my family and his family next to this group was stupid on the hotel staffs part.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CedarCityUtahMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

I stay here often on business. Highway side and south side is really loud. The obnoxious car dealer sign on the south side makes it the worst part of the place. The breakfast is like most Hamptons - pretty awful. Rooms are standard Hampton. No flat panel TVs yet. The staff is accomodating and there are plenty of restaurants nearby, so they get an above average rating. Avoid Jim's. Iggy's is a good sports bar and is the de facto lobby bar for the Hampton. But be aware of Utah's bizarre liquor laws and their inconsistent application at Iggy's. You will either need to eat dinner or at least buy some chips and salsa. They have the local fave Polygamy Porter on tap. Carver's next door is nicely decorated but the food is always salty to my taste. The TGI Fridays across 10600 is not bad. Starbucks is nearby. Never skied from here but the bus stops right outside. You can have a short walk south toward Costco past the auto dealers.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KramerYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

I had a few family members come and stay as well as my wife and I. We had a little Thanksgiving/Birthday reunion and it was wonderful. They have a lot of meeting rooms space and the customer service was spectacular. All of my family was well taken care of and my wife felt safe and clean. I recommend this hotel with the upmost a surety that you will enjoy your stay.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Housewarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2007

Standard Hampton. Noisy on three sides because the hotel is located right next to busy interstate. Request side away from highway--ask for side facing the Homewood Suites across the street.
Breakfast was very good. Several local restaurants are located within a one block area.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wv
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Sandy Hampton Inn Jan. 16 through 20 . I was in town for a business meeting and this hotel was booked and paid for by Ultradent Company Inc. ( a dental supply company that I do a lot of businness with).

This is a standard Hampton inn property, free breakfast buffet, included with room was allways ready by 5:30 am although it was not scheduled to start intill 6:00 am.

The room had a comfortable bed and the whole hotel seemed clean.

This is a great location if you do not have a car, the hotel shuttle van will take you any where within a mile and a half from the hotel for free. There is a mall accross the street and many places to eat and drink are in walking distance. The local trolly "TRAX" can take you to downtown in about 40 minutes for $1.50, and the hotel van will take you to and pick you up from the local station.

The ony negative was that on Wednesday morning the was no hot water for showers a 6:30 am, everyone that was at the same meeting as me had the same problem that morning.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cold shower
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bigtravelWv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City / Sandy
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn
1.2 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Sandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandy
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Salt Lake City Sandy
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City/South Jordan, UT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy

Property: Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy
Address: 10690 S Holiday Park Dr, Sandy, UT 84070-4142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Sandy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sandy
#4 Family Hotel in Sandy
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our convenient location near Salt Lake City and just fifteen miles from the picturesque vistas and skiing you'll find in Brighton. Awake at the Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy hotel and enjoy Free Breakfast, Free Wifi and a central location to Salt Lake City's exciting attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy Hotel Sandy
Hampton Inn Sandy
Sandy Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing