We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the best places on our road trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best places on our road trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Did roadtrip from Colorado to California and back and this place was one of the best. Great breakfast, room good and price pretty good for 2 adults + 2 kids in one room. The back door to the hotel was broken, though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMacSSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeLEX, Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your gracious comments

shayne
lexington
gsm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    127
    73
    39
    25
See reviews for
131
94
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
965 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean but the doors did not work three times and we had to go to the desk each time to get new access to our rooms in two days. The breakfast was adequate and the accommodations just OK.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogersober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeLEX, Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for contacting Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay. I would like to apologize for challenges you had with the door lock. We strive to keep all our locks in working order.
We credit our success in the lodging industry to providing good service and quality accommodations at affordable prices. We appreciate your willingness to take the time to let us know where improvement is needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ogden, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was by far my worst traveling experience I've ever had in my life.. I am NOT a picky traveler by any means, and I know each room/ customer/ experience is going to be different.. but my room was DISGUSTING! I wish now that I had taken pictures of everything... but I kept telling myself 'oh, it was just this, or that, simple mistake' (because I'm not picky).. but they added up.. I will list just the major things that were AWFUL..1-within 10 minutes of checking in, I went to move the coffee maker only to find a HUGE clump of hair (so much, it was like someone cleaned out a brush) on the coffee tray 2-bathroom sink would not drain.. use it once & whatever was in the drain would float to the surface. sick 3-crawled into bed only to have a beetle (of some sort, the size of a silver dollar) crawling on my arm.. Which meant I did not sleep sound the remaining time worried I had bugs all over me 4- hair was all over in the bathtub, grout was disgusting & unsanitary, bathtub was stained 5- opened the microwave & there was an old cup of coffee sitting in there.. who knows how long it had been there (wasn't ours) 6- the carpet was so dirty, my daughters feet were black within 20 minutes of being there. Forced me to keep shoes and/or slippers on the entire stay. it felt like there was a 'film' on the bathroom tile. Horrible horrible experience... Worst hotel stay I've ever had.. I hate to give such a bad review. but there should be sanitary standards, which this hotel does NOT have.

Room Tip: Do not waste your money on this place.. Every other issue I could have overlooked if only they had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeLEX, Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for contacting trip advisor regarding your stay on May 31st Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the cleanliness of your room during your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your dissatisfaction. There is never an excuse for providing a valued guest, such as you, with anything less than a perfect experience.

I would have have loved to move you to a room that was acceptable given the chance.

I apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you and have taken corrective action with our houskeeping staff insure that this incident will not occur in the future.

Thank you



Shayne Sabaitis
Lexington GSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. George hotels

Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

There's much to like about this hotel and there is so much potential; unfortunately, it seems to have gone unnoticed by the hotel owners. The stand-alone event tent, erected within spitting distance of a large segment of rooms, has doors that would not latch shut, thus the whole evening was listening to doors blow open and shut, open and shut. The pool area was unique with it's indoor/outdoor aspect (having to swim under clear polypropene strips that separate the indoor portion from the outdoor portion. The restaurant was closed due to a change in hotel ownership; I do not understand these reviews calling the hotel "new." We were readily told it was a change of ownership that resulted in the restaurant closure; even the hotel in general is obviously not a new hotel. It may not be run-down, but it most definitely is not new. If you plan on just chillin' around the hotel for a day or so, parking can be an issue, because of the participants in the events taking place in that stand-alone event tent.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room that is across the sidewalk from their stand-alone event/conference room tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

While this place is a little older though not real old it is very nice. Stayed there while visiting Bryce and Zion. We enjoyed our visit. If you are looking for luxury this is probably not the place however, it was very nice, good value for the dollar and we would go back.
Rooms could use a bit of a facelift but the price is very reasonable so it is a trade off. Our room had a air conditioner which was kind of loud. This is probably not true of all the rooms but you may want to check on that before you "settle in".
They provided a great breakfast every morning and the staff were all very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linnea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeLEX, Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
thank you for your valuable feedback

shayne
lexington
gsm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the Lexington during my memorial weekend drive from Arizona to Seattle. I did not have reservations and had my dog with me. Being memorial weekend, there was not much left that accommodated pets. They found me a room and since it was a smoking room, discounted my room rate. Unfortunately, I also encountered an issue with a cricket in the room, as well as another bug that creeped me out. Upon alerting the front desk, they immediately relocated me to another more spacious room that was not meant for pets but they made the exception. The room was clean, definitely needed updates but was fine for one night, especially given the price. The hotel also offered free shuttle service to anywhere within St. George. I took advantage of that to dine at the Painted Pony, which was excellent. Again, the staff was great, the hotel itself was fine but check for bugs before settling in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeLEX, Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
thank you for your feedback
shayne
Lexington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel by way of Priceline. We paid a fair price for the OTHER hotels in this category, but the Lexington does not belong with its competition. We were moved rooms multiple times due to insects in the room (there were crickets IN our bed frame base) to A/C units not working (95 degrees outside), and although they were trying to make it right, the age and lack of cleanliness of the hotel makes it difficult on staff. The "suites" open to a poolside full of screaming children, so if you want sleep, do not get a suite. All-in-all, the staff was great and the buffet breakfast was nice - but we will never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StGeorgeLEX, Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We appreciate you contacting trip advisor regarding your stay.
We credit our success in the lodging industry to providing good service and quality accommodations at affordable prices. We appreciate your willingness to take the time to let us know where improvement can be made with room cleanliness and noise issues with the indoor pool so that we may continue to maintain our high standards.

I apologize for the inconvenience this has cause and have taken corrective actions to make sure this does not happen again.

Thanks again


Shayne
Lexington
GSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn at Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites St. George
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramada St George
Ramada St George
#18 of 41 in St. George
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. George Inn & Suites
St. George Inn & Suites
#15 of 41 in St. George
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George

Property: Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George
Address: 850 Bluff Street, St. George, UT 84770 (Formerly Lexington Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George is the ideal place for your stay in Utah's Dixie. Our St. George hotel has cozy rooms and suites that ensure you'll have a comfortable space to return to after a day of adventure. Our friendly, hard-working staff is always on hand to make sure your needs are met. Getting to our hotel in St. George, Utah is easy with our complimentary airport shuttle and free parking. Once you're here, our hotel's many features, like an indoor pool and whirlpool, let you unwind. If you're here for business travel, our outstanding conference center and meeting facilities will allow you to host a productive meeting. St. George, Utah sits at the convergence of the Great Basin, the Mojave Desert, and the Colorado Plateau. The area's majestic beauty makes it perfect for exploration. Embark on hiking, horseback riding, and caving adventures in the many surrounding national parks. Also, make sure to take in 18 holes at the area's stunning golf courses. Welcome to our hotel in St. George. We'll help you feel at home while you're away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel And Conference Center
Lexington Hotel St. George
Holiday Inn St George
St George Holiday Inn
Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing