We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, quaint B & B to stay in - would love to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Gate Village Historic Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 St. George B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Absolutely loved this B & B. Everything was so unique & we just loved all the historical icons all over the grounds. Our cottage that we stayed in was really roomy with a separate living area & furnished in a way that made you feel like you had gone back in time. Lindy was so helpful and even made our reservations for the Tuacahn Amphitheater for us in advance which was an absolute must for any trip to St. George. I would definitely recommend a stay here to anyone wanting something different. Thank you for the memories

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Green Gate Village Historic Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband and I booked a 3 night stay at Green Gate Village Inn as part of a longer vacation and had a lovely stay. The owners Ed & Lindy are very accommodating, and upgraded us to a larger suite when we arrived. Every area we spent time in was clean and comfortable. Lindy even brought us water and cookies one afternoon as we lounged by the pool! Ed's breakfasts were superb and the Inn's location in St George is central to many great hiking areas. We couldn't have asked for a nicer B&B experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSpeedys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

My husband, daughter (13 months) and I stayed at the Green Gate Village Inn over Memorial Day weekend (Fri-Sun) and we had a wonderful stay. Our room(s) were the Jessica Suite which was perfect since we had our daughter with us. She stayed in her pack n play in the guest bedroom (has queen bed) and that allowed my husband and I to lounge and watch television in the master bedroom. There was a middle room that included a working antique stove/fridge/sink combo (I was impressed), 2 cupboards, dining table, and day bed w/ trundle. I thought it was a wonderful family suite and it would be perfect for families with additional children (although the websites states that prior authorization is needed from the innkeepers if bringing small children). The rooms were very clean, dishes/cookware were available, lots of towels, nice oversized shower, front and back entrances....no complaints! Also, we were steps away from the pool which was nice. The hot tub was not working, so if that is a must, call before booking. Breakfast was very good and we actually asked for seconds on pancakes and eggs on a few mornings and it wasn't a problem. Everything was tasty and nicely presented with edible garnishes (e.g. my daughter and I spied Ed clipping fresh mint outside the kitchen one morning). The grounds are very pretty and fun to explore with lots of history, antiques, beautiful flowers and fountains, and walking paths. Also, across the street there were some public water areas - one with fountains for kids to play in and the other was an amazing red rock water area with small water falls and stream, also for the kids to play in (well, adults too). The location of the inn is perfect - exactly in the center of downtown. We walked to some yummy restaurants like the Bear Claw and Main 125 (yummy cupcakes that are only $1 after 7pm). The pesto at Main 125 and the Halibut sandwhich at the Bear Claw were both very good. This was our first trip to St George and we loved it - especially our experience at the Green Gate Inn. Thanks so much Lindy and Ed for making our stay so enjoyable!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
Thank RZirkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed at the Green Gate as part of a business group. The rooms were excellent and very well decorated. This is a very unique B&B with tons of interesting stories and histories. The common rooms were excellent with furnishing typical of the period. Great Place to Stay. Antiques everywhere. It was very fun.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utahartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Christmas cottage and we absolutely loved it. The cottage has 1 bedroom and a separate living room with a small kitchen. The bathroom has a huge whirlpool tub which was inviting after a 9 hour drive from California. Ed, the Innkeeper was a delight and provided us with information and history on the cottage we stayed in as well as the town. He gave us recommendations on places to eat in town as well. The Painted Pony is a fabulous restaurant with great food and service. Most of all the Inn was very quiet and we were able to rest and enjoy the surroundings. I would definitely stay here again! Oh yeah, the breakfast was amazing too. The baked apple was delicious and was served with eggs, waffles and sausage. Great job Ed!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADeckerCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

This historic inn is so very charming. The hosts Ed & Lindy are the best! They go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible, they succeed! The suites are charming and have an old charm to them along with lots of history. I defininately will return!! Close to Zion Nat'l Park and a couple hours away from Bryce Canyon. Flew into Las Vegas and the drive to St.George was very easy. The ampitheatre show is a must too!! Oh, Ed cooks a great breakfast very morning!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Fellow Travelers,

If you’re the sort who has ever longed for such things a spending the night in an actual Pioneer home don’t miss the chance to walk through the Green Gate into the past.

Feel a beautiful mood of the 19th century linked to the comforts of our century. Don’t be surprised if you open an armoire and find a rod and hangers rather than a television. (But not to worry, there is a TV in another cupboard.)

Your eye will be charmed every place it rests, from the houses, to the grounds, to the Judd Store. You will experience the love that this proprietor family has for their village, the way they have preserved the old and yet made it fresh and convenient, the stories they can tell you about it, the delights of the dining room, such as discovering something different about the orange juice. Could it be? Why yes, it was just squeezed.

By launching yourselves backwards, you may come away feeling that you have learned to go more peacefully forward.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWGrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
0.7 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 43 in St. George
793 reviews
1.5 mi away
St. George Inn & Suites
St. George Inn & Suites
#13 of 43 in St. George
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Travel Inn
Best Western Travel Inn
#10 of 43 in St. George
563 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarion Suites
Clarion Suites
#11 of 43 in St. George
530 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gate Village Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gate Village Historic Inn

Address: 76 W Tabernacle St, St. George, UT 84770-3420
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St. George
Price Range: $75 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gate Village Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into the 1860's at this beautifully restored, eight home, upscale pioneer village, restaurant and general store. Recently awarded the "Best Historic B&B Inn in the Nation." 15 elegantly decorated guestrooms all with private bath, telephone, cable and VCR. Most have fireplaces and jetted tubs. Book a room or the entire village for your next weekend getaway, business retreat, wedding, reception or family reunion. Delight in a peaceful night's sleep and a hearty breakfast among antique furnishings, the historic Carriage House Reception Hall, our fully-equipped business center, Bentley House Restaurant and Judd's Store. Enjoy our heated pool, manicured lawns and flower beds, brick walkways and festive lighting. Our attentive staff is here to assure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Green Gate Village Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gate Village Historic Inn St. George, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing