We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Red Hills
Ranked #41 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Worst Motel”
Reviewed January 11, 2009

my freind had suggested this Motel as It was a bit further up the road and was off the main street. (We are on our way to Zion National Park with ours freinds who live in St Geogre)
We appeared to be the only guests , we came a day early (we were due on the 31st ) Room 225 was allocated to us , right on the end 2nd floor over looking the pool. It was like sleeping on a monster truck race track as the V8 trucks drove by the intersection with there continous gutteral throaty sounds. I quite like this sound but after a while it was annoying
My partner takes a nap and when he gets up the bed is competely messed up it is then that I realise the flat sheet on the bed does not appear to fit properly , it seems to small, I remake the bed so that the sheet is covering the top half of the bed, our feet are exposed to the matteress.
The sink in the bathroom/dressing area is filthy dirty, it could do with a really good clean it has ingrained dirt around the taps and the edge of the sink.
When i take a shower the control for the shower is almost coming of the wall. The towels are old and thin and very small (like big hand towels) I did ask for some bigger one's and got the same size but newer. The bath has black hairs in it (we are blonde and grey) The water does not flow away and I end up standing in 4 inches of dirty water. The bath mat is so thin it sticks to my feet like paper. Then I notice under the sink is really dusty and the carpet looks like it needs a good vacum along the wall. We go out for dinner and when we get back there is another car in the car park and there in 224 is the other guests right next door so we get to hear there TV all night long .(the motel still appeared to be empty except for us and our neighbours) This was possibly the worst motel I have stayed in , we checked out am, with out breakfast and check into the Ramada (almost the same price and pure luxury in comparison to the Rodeway Inn.

  • Disliked — The dirty bathroom and the badly dressed bed
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michelesofaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    14
    20
    39
See reviews for
20
25
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

I have stayed at this motel for the past 2 years when I've competed at the Huntsman World Senior Games. Both years my stay was delightful --- clean room, room attributes, working jacuzzi, etc. When I checked in this year there was new management and I could see that the property had gone downhill. I inquired about the jacuzzi and was told that it was broken and since it was the "end of the season" that it would not be fixed. The first room given to me was dirty, did not have a tv remote and the room door would not lock. The second room was just plain dirty. Although I was supposed to stay 6 nights, I found another hotel and left the Rodeway after 1 night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — dirty rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damselfly_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. George hotels

Salt Lake City Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

I don’t mind paying top dollar for a high level of service and amenities, and low dollar for basic amenities, but this hotel charged top dollar for bottom level value. When I booked the hotel for the weekend of the St. George Marathon, this one of the very few options left. I booked it through Orbitz for $179.99 per night, before taxes and fees! I incorrectly assumed the hotel would be worth the inflated price. When we arrived, I asked the gentleman behind the desk if the continental breakfast was going to open early on marathon morning. He replied “No, I don’t want to get up at 3:00”. Our room was of low quality, with: Grimy light switches, dirty carpet, a hair on a sheet, holey and stained towels, grime in the corners of the bathroom floor, a wad of soap stuck to the bathtub, and an unpleasant smell. I could go on, but you get the picture. It was not worth even a fraction of $179.99 per night! The continental breakfast was very basic with limited seating. There were only two small bistro tables, but the hotel did not provide trays to take food back to the rooms. The only positive I can think of was when our shower malfunctioned; the gentleman promptly and politely fixed it.

To highlight a contrast, early in the morning I went to the Hampton Inn to join my friends for the race. Their continental breakfast was in full swing, with a large array of food and drinks and even bottles of Gatorade and water for the runners. The staff was cheerful and they were running a free shuttle to the marathon buses. The contrast between the two hotels was glaring.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunnerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed at several budget motels during our tour of the national parks - this was by far the worst. We were not looking for much more than cheap place to sleep, but this fell short of even our meager expectations.
The beds were old and uncomfortable (my mattress was 10 years old, i checked the tag.) The blankets were cheap- and rubbery just like another commenter mentioned.
The bathmat was obviously just an old towel that someone had cut in half! The towels were frayed and had old stains... so gross.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego,CA.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

The room was not clean.

I am not likely to return to the Rodeway Inn Saint George.

The hotel was in a ok location. The room wasn't clean at all. The breakfast was simple and basic (coffee,tea,milk,juice,bread,bagel ,butter and cream cheese).They try to keep the price low.That's why they couldn't provide good service.

I am not likely to return to the Rodeway Inn Saint George Hotel
I would not recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 7traveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Clean, very reasonably priced motel with friendly staff/owners. The furnishing is typical, the bathroom was very clean. They even have a quite nice pool, which was immediately cleaned (although it was already clean) when I asked if it was open. Breakfast makes you full, but is no real treat (not that I expected that for such a low price). I almost regretted not staying longer and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank belamefio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RODEWAYSTG401, Manager at Rodeway Inn Red Hills, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
GM
Rodeway Inn, Saint george, Utah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We arrived quite late, the checkin clerk was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast hit the spot in the morning. We were able to eat and be on our way very quickly. We would definitely stay here again. We only stayed one night.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickeetickee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St. George
Days Inn St. George
#30 of 41 in St. George
501 reviews
1.2 mi away
The INN at St.George
The INN at St.George
#36 of 41 in St. George
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
America's Best Inns & Suites
America's Best Inns & Suites
#26 of 41 in St. George
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Travel Inn
Best Western Travel Inn
#10 of 41 in St. George
543 reviews
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites St. George
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 St. George
Motel 6 St. George
#28 of 41 in St. George
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Red Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Red Hills

Property: Rodeway Inn Red Hills
Address: 999 E Red Hills Pkwy, St. George, UT 84770-3073 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Red Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truck parking/big rig parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Red Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn St George
St George Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Red Hills St. George, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing