We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Horrible and Terrible Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn at Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Do not come to this hotel. Because I was stuck in traffic and arrived at almost one o'clock mountain time, I was tired and needed to rest immediately. However, the front clerk, Juan, it sounded like to me, would only give us a room that a pet stayed in. I have horrible allergies and I'm allergic to dogs and cats and many other animals, so I was very unhappy about it. I threatened to file a complaint when he still refused to give me another room. But, magically, after I said I would file a complaint, he suddenly became quiet and gave me a room that a pet hadn't stayed in. It actually turned out there was a room that available that a pet hadn't stayed in. What a liar! The room was also very unpleasant. The beds were dirty, and they were not comfortable at all. Also, the bathroom, it seemed, had not been cleaned from the last stay because there was trash everywhere and not new towels. I stayed there for another day, and I left my computer and ipod touch to charge. When I returned, they were gone and the beds were changed. It only meant one thing: the maids had stole them. I was infuriated about what happened and reported it to the front desk, who ignored me and said that their maids hadn't stole my belongings. The breakfast was very disgusting, and it tasted so bad. The cereal tasted hard and was barely able to eat, the eggs and sausages were so bad, and were definitely made from powder and simply defrosted, and the waffles were so bad, with a fly baked in it. The brealfast room itself was so crowded, it was like attending a wedding reception. There were no seats, so I had to evacuate to my room. The maids also didn't want to replace anything, so in the end, I barely got to eat any food and had to go to McDonalds to buy a breakfast to fill my stomach up. Since then, I am absolutely not returning to that stupid and horrible place again. Please do not come to this horrendous place at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Obok15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn at Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 244 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here and was very impressed with speed of checking, price, and friendliness. This motel was packed but did not hear a thing from my rooms. Even the halls were quiet. Great for a rest after a long day. Even kept pool area open late for guests. Will visit again when in area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is very nice. The lobby, rooms and breakfast area are elegant and clean. The front desk personnel were polite and helpful. HOWEVER, we could hear conversations people were having in the room next to us on one side. Then on the other side when they were there the TV was on and was horrifically noisy. The sound reverberated into our room. We happened to have pleasant neighbors though as I called and apologized for bothering them but asked them if they could turn the television down as we were trying to sleep. Nice people - they did turn it down. The doors to the rooms in this hotel also do that obligatory 'hotel slam' knock you out of bed noise also.

I added an extra star because the air conditioning vent against the wall was very loud (white noise) and there was an option to keep it on continuously, which did drown out some of the noise. The room also stayed very cool in extreme hot temperatures.

Room Tip: Third floor at the end of the hall, so you will only have one neighbor and won't have anyone on...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitzieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My family and I have stayed here many times, and we have been very pleased each time we've stayed.. I'm not sure what people expect for the low price you pay, but I think everything is very clean, staff has been very nice, and the breakfast is always yummy!! We'll be back soon =)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeworthlivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I were traveling to Provo, Utah to visit family and we decided to stay in St George on the way. I was so impressed by this hotel and how nice our room was. We picked a king suite and when we walked in, I absolutely loved how it looked, the spaciousness and cleanliness of the room. You can tell they really take pride in this hotel. I would never have thought a Comfort Inn would be this nice, but I was pleasantly surprised. I was also very impressed by the great breakfast they served, unlike other hotels who just put a few things out that are "complimentary" This hotel had it all! I will stay here every time we go to St. George and would highly recommend it to anyone! Thanks Comfort Inn, for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindyt_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This place is exceptional. Our room ( a king) was large and clean and well-appointed. The pool is great, andq has a hot tub which is both indoor/outdoor. If you are visiting Zion National Park, I strongly recommend staying here rather than in Hurricane. It is a great value!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor - very convenient for loading.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank authored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

spent there almost a week with my wife (moved there after running away from a terrible place but that's another review...). clean, nice and convenient rooms, free internet that works ok, facilities for coffee, a fridge and a micro, all working well. very nice (small though) pool and 2 Jacuzzis one indoor, nice. breakfast, well...there a lot of it but the quality is not very good. located in the convention center but location in St. George is not an issue. the service was reasonable, so in general, there is nothing outstanding but the whole package (price included) is ok.

Room Tip: as far as possible from the elevator
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
0.4 mi away
St. George Inn & Suites
St. George Inn & Suites
#13 of 43 in St. George
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Suites
Clarion Suites
#11 of 43 in St. George
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
0.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn at Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn at Convention Center

Address: 138 East Riverside Drive, St. George, UT 84790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. George
#16 Family Hotel in St. George
Price Range: $65 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn at Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn at Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn At Hotel St. George
Comfort Inn St George
St. George Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn At Convention Center St. George, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing