We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Quite Ready”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on the Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn on the Cliff
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not Quite Ready”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Inn has wonderful views both day and night but the place is not quite completed. The dining room was having a function which left customers without parking near their room. There was construction going on to finish the pool and balcony in the dining area. There was no liquor license yet so we were unable to get a drink. The hostess looked at my husband(wearing shorts) with horror when he went to look at the dining room. The boxed breakfast delivered to our room was fresh and delicious. The price was reasonable but we wish they were completed with the inn before they opened.

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MollyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Th0mas_H984, Owner at Inn on the Cliff, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Our pool will be done in the next two weeks and we are excited for our guests to have a pool and spa experience on the cliff. We will work hard to complete it and are sorry it was not ready for this guest. This is a golfing, hiking community and we welcome guests in shorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    94
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
201
349
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

They did a great job remodeling this place. The views are fantastic and the service too! The location is perfect not really secluded but up on the cliff so you for sure want a car unless you like walking up steep hills. We ate dinner in the restaurant and it was very good too. When they complete to pool there would be no reason to choose another hotel in the area even with kids. - my only qualm is that there was not enough coffee in the room only two keurig regulars. With the great balcony it would have been nice to refill my coffee while I watched the sun rise, although they are so nice I am sure they would have brought more if I requested.

Room Tip: I imagine every room is pretty cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ally n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Owner at Inn on the Cliff, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, and for staying with us at Inn on the Cliff. We are glad that you found the rooms, the view, the restaurant and the service to your liking! We look forward to seeing you again once our pool is completed within the next week or so! And if you ever have any special requests in the future, know that our staff will happily accommodate all your needs as you stay with us as an honored guest! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The rooms have modern design and ours, on the second floor, was super clean, even the bathroom. All rooms have a balcony with a nice view of town. Personnel was very accommodating. Breakfast is delivered to room in cute tray, all food was fresh and yummy.The only negative was the noise from the street below.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UtahKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked three nights with three rooms for our party of 5 which included our 3 year old grandson. The rooms were wonderful, the view was excellent but the Staff, from the owners down where Exceptional. Smiles and courtesy were the order of the day. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay as memorable as possible. A truly pleasant and enjoyable experience. Views, Rooms and Restaurant all Excellent. We were all spoiled, even the special chocolate milk for grandson. We were in St. George for a family reunion. Cheers, Marty Noonan, Amery, WI

Room Tip: All the rooms and restaurant have spectacular views. The pool and spa were being built but will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Owner at Inn on the Cliff, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for giving us such a stunning review! We are so happy that you enjoyed everything about your stay, especially the staff. We are excited to get our pool opened within the next week or two so we can truly complete our guests' experience. We hope to see you again on the cliff next time your travels bring you to St. George! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Loved the view and the newly renovated room. Comfortable bed, chic furnishings. Nice to sit on the balcony. Really enjoyed dinner at the restaurant. Light breakfast (yogurt, danish, juice, etc.) delivered to our room was a nice convenience. It will be terrific when the pool opens.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank flex_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Owner at Inn on the Cliff, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Inn on the Cliff, and for your pleasant review of our rooms, the restaurant, the breakfast, and the view overlooking St. George. We're glad you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to seeing you again when our pool opens the first week of June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

A breath of fresh air...litterally & figuratively! An old hotel was beautifully transformed in to an inviting, comfortable, stylish haven! Every room has it's own very private balcony where you can take in the fresh air of the city as you overlook this charming area.
We had a suite, which was fabulous, but unless you have a family or need more than one bed, I think one of their other great rooms would be just as wonderful - which is what we'll have next visit. Maybe the only negative for some travelers may be that there is no elevator for the second floor rooms, so if you may have trouble using the stairs, you should consider a 1st floor room.
I can't wait to return when the pool/hot tub area is completed - how awesome it will be to sit and soak in the evening overlooking the glimmer of the city lights!
The staff here all could not have been more friendly, professional and accomidating! Anything you ask for was brought to your door very quickly, with a smile!
The next door Cliffside Restaurant was awesome, as well! The food, service and views were all absolutely amazing...we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The owners & staff all go above and beyond in their service to their customers. My A/C unit was not working and the owner pulled his unit from his office to replace mine for my stay. He and some of his staff were able to do it in ~15 minutes! Everyone on hotel staff I encountered was attentive, polite, and eager to please. This is most refreshing.

The photos of the rooms are accurate representation of what you can expect. The use of space in these rooms is wonderful. As this is a remodel from an older hotel with limited space, they were even able to make a small bathroom feel roomy. The decor was welcoming, bed was extremely comfortable and the balcony view was great (I was on 2nd floor).

The restaurant -- food was good, but in the 2 evenings I went there, I waited more than 5 minutes to even get water and both times had to flag down a waiter/waitress. Again, all the folks were polite and wanted to do right -- it's clear that they do not have the experience to do that. The food was excellent and, again, the views from the restaurant are first rate (they have a lovely patio as well). They just need to hire a couple of seasoned waiter/waitresses or at least have a couple consult with them to train the staff. Attitude is half the battle, but you also need the skills to make it a first rate experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howintex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H, Owner at Inn on the Cliff, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your review of Inn on the Cliff and Cliffside Restaurant! We appreciate your complimentary evaluation of our hotel staff, the rooms and the decor, and for posting photos of your room. I'm sorry for the difficulties you had with the service at the restaurant; we are working hard to train the staff so as to alleviate these types of issues. We hope you will come back again soon and see how we have improved!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Abbey Inn
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#6 of 41 in St. George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clarion Suites
Clarion Suites
#11 of 41 in St. George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites St. George
9.6 mi away
Coral Springs Resort
Coral Springs Resort
#16 of 41 in St. George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Cliff

Property: Inn on the Cliff
Address: 511 S Airport Rd, St. George, UT 84770-5219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn on the Cliff is a luxury hotel situated on a cliff overlooking the quaint town of St. George, UT. Each boutique hotel room has its own private balcony with an unbeatable view of the city, 50-inch flat screen TV's, and access to a family-friendly outdoor pool with the same spectacular view. At Inn on the Cliff, you will come for the scenery, enjoy the experience, and stay for the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on the Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Cliff St. George, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing