We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to Dixie Convention Center + Great Fitness Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn St. George
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 1, 2013

HILTON GARDEN INN

The following is a very detailed review of my stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Hotel in St. George, Utah. Prices listed are subject to change and are current as of December, 2012.

I was traveling with a group and had three rooms assigned to us: 106, 120 and 122. Check in time was 3 p.m. and we requested a 1 p.m. early check in (not guaranteed). One of the rooms was ready at 1 p.m. However at 4 p.m., the other two rooms were not ready. There was only one maid cleaning the rooms on the First Floor.

The beds are queen sized rather than double, and beds have a pressure knob on each side of the bed near the head to control the degree of firmness or softness. A rollaway bed can be added to the room for $10.00, and cribs appear to be free.

The room is a very nice size and includes a small refrigerator (empty, no items inside for sale), a small microwave, and small coffee maker. There is also an iron, ironing board and luggage stand. There is no safe in the room. The clock radio allows for an MP3 player to be connected to it.

On the first floor only, there is a coin operated laundry (one washing machine and one washer) that costs 75 cents each load (30 minutes for the washing machine and 45 minutes for the dryer). There is also a folding area. Laundry soap can be purchased form the Pavilion Pantry.

There is a soda and water vending machine ($1.50 per beverage) along with an ice machine on each floor.

Internet is very easy to access and comes with options for wired or wireless. To access complimentary wireless, simply enter your last name and room number. There is an option for Remote Printing. Select the Business Center Printer from your computer and then pick up the job by entering a personalized, protected password on the keypad at the Business Center.

DINING: There is a small onsite restaurant called Great American Grill. Guests may purchase the bountiful buffet for $9.95. The hotel offers the Pavilion Pantry in which sundries, fresh sandwiches, salads, snacks, and beverages. There is also In Room Dining available, or guests may walk across the street to Cracker Barrel or The Players Sports Pub. There is also an option in which Mobile Waiter can deliver to your hotel room. We stayed at the hotel as part of a group, so a group breakfast was arranged for us. This included bacon, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit (watermelon and pineapples), mini blueberry muffins, and French toast. Orange juice and coffee were also available. This was considered a Deluxe Continental Breakfast as part of the group package and was served in The Banquet Room from 6:30 a.m. to 9 a.m.

A full service lounge called The Office is also located on the Main Floor open at 5 p.m. and serving dinner daily from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m. (must be 21 to enter). The front desk will give you a $2.00 off card for appetizers.

The Hilton offers ZipOut Check Out – after you receive your itemized summary (slipped to you under your door), you can express check out by using your room telephone (select “Zip Out Check Out” button).

The hotel uses toiletries from Bath and Body Works called Rainkissed Leaves, and soap is Neutrogena brand. There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom, nor any vent for heating or cooling in the bathroom – you will need to leave the bathroom door open in order to get heating or cooling in this area. Water pressure and temperature was excellent even in the morning.

It appears to us that the furniture was in good shape as well as the room décor, television, and in room equipment like refrigerator. At no time did we hear noise from neighbors to the left or right, and voices from the hallway were at a minimal.

Fresh, hot cookies are available at the check in desk in the late afternoon. There is also a very nice, large lobby area for reading or waiting for friends.

We travel a lot and I would say the Fitness Room is one of the better ones we have experienced. There are several treadmills and elliptical machines, a stretch trainer, and a free weight area, along with weights on a machine. Towels are available in the room along with headsets to use on the treadmills and elliptical machines when watching TV. The only water available is through a drinking fountain. The pool area is in front of hotel and accessible through the lobby and the Fitness Room.

The Business Center is also complete and includes two machines, two printers, one photocopier, one shredder and a bin for shred documents.

Hotel is conveniently located next door to the Dixie Convention Center and you can walk next door. Very close for those attending conferences and conventions/assemblies.

We definitely enjoyed our stay here. We have stayed at many hotels in St. George, and particularly the Fitness Center and proximity to the Dixie Convention Center. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would return again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VegasBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis_Dyer, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. George, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks for the great comment of our property. It looks like you covered everything from A to Z at our property. We look forward to your stay here in St. George during your next conference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 837 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel was one of many Hilton properties that we stopped during a recent cross country drive. It was as expected. Nice bright lobby, cookies at the front desk, helpful staff, quiet rooms, (we requested top floor, end of hallway). I noticed that the carpet around the elevators and a couple of other areas were a little grimy, but the room itself was fine. Convenient, easy to find from the Interstate. The only thing that I thought was weird was the "adjustable" beds. Under the sheet and the mattress pad, is a little pocket with a dial attached to the mattress where you can adjust it for hard or soft. I noticed no discernable difference.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This Hilton meets the standard that one would expect for a Hilton. It is convenient to the freeway and several good restaurants. If attending a convention in St. George, this is the closest hotel, being just next to the convention center.

The only surprise was that the breakfast that is free at the other properties in this chain comes with a $10.00 minimum charge. Hs, one might end up paying ten bucks for a small croissant and cup of water.

The exercise room is well-equipped with very modern and high quality elliptical, bike (alas, only one) and treadmill. There isn't much else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis_Dyer, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. George, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your review of our property here in ST. George. The restaurant in our hotel does charge $9.95 for breakfast for fresh "made to order" items such as Omlette's, Eggs over easy, breakfast potatoes, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, pastries, oatmeal, bagels, breakfast burritos, and etc. The Chef makes everything fresh each morning. We appreciate you staying with us and hope that you choose to stay with us again on your travels wherever they may take you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I travel to St.George frequently for his work (often with two young kids in tow as was the case on this trip), and normally stay at a Marriott property. We decided to try a new hotel this time and stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. Our stay was sufficient and met our general overnight stay needs. We were disappointed with no breakfast included in our stay, but knew this was the case before booking here. The front desk staff was friendly at check-in. The water in our room (bath/shower) did not get hot, which my husband and I both noticed. The pool was closed for maintenance and when asked when it would re-open, the front desk said "I don't know, I just got here." (Further information would have been helpful and appreciated.) Being a must with young kids, the pool closure was a deal breaker for us and we checked out early by 9am to head across town to the Marriott Courtyard, who had a room ready for us within the hour. We had a fine stay at the Hilton Garden Inn, but sadly it's just not up to par with the Marriott properties nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hijodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis_Dyer, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. George, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

I apologize to see that your stay was not up to your standards nor ours. We had a piece of pool equipment go down that was in transition of being repaired and during that time the pool was unavailable. I also apologize about the staff member that came on their shift and was not aware of the situation. Glad to see that you were able to find suitable accomodations during your stay in St. George. The pool is back up and running and hope to see you down the road on your next stay in St. George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights while I was in the area to hike. I booked the two room king suite (special package on the hotel’s website). Large two room suite, very spacious. Comfortable bed. Master bath for the bedroom, with whirlpool tub and separate walk-in shower. Small room with separate toilet and sink off of the main room. Wet bar with coffee maker, fridge, microwave. Living area has couch, chair with footstool, desk with adjustable chair. TVs in each room. Internet connection easy and reliable. Generally quiet, though there was some noise from the pool and the highway -- I used earplugs at night. Breakfast was included in the package that I booked, but otherwise you have to pay. They would cook a few things to order (omelets, pancakes). In addition they had cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. Staff courteous, professional. I didn’t use the pool but it looked ok and several people used it while I was there. Fitness room looked nice, with some cardio equipment and free weights. Small guest laundry was handy. They have a “pantry” where you can buy a limited selection of incidentals and snacks.

It is convenient to get to from the interstate, but set back far enough that there is not too much traffic.

A few negatives: Although the room was generally clean, there were handprints on the doors and a pink fluid splashed on one of the doors. I don’t think the louvered doors between the two rooms ever gets cleaned – one of the first things I did was wipe them off with a wet cloth. I told front desk but not sure that will change the housekeeping practice. The carpet, especially around the wet bar, was kind of worn and stained.

Overall, I really liked the hotel. It was nice and I was comfortable there.

Other: There is a trailhead for the network of bike-pedestrian paths at the end of the street, if you are interested in walking. It follows the river and there are multiple routes to choose from.

There is a Cracker Barrel across the street, but I don't recommend it. The breakfast I had there featured grease.

Try breakfast at the Black Bear Diner, same exit but on the other side of the interstate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roam-ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis_Dyer, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. George, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you first for staying with us during your extended stay hiking in the area. Everything that you made mention with housekeeping items have been addressed to our Executive housekeeper and changes will be made to improve the guests experience with the items made mentioned. Booking a package is the best value for Breakfast and it looks like you took the right steps for that. Thanks for staying with us and for providing the input. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Used Priceline to secure a fine rate for a 4 day visit to St. George and surrounding area to bike and hike. Good value, pleasant staff, clean room. Only real complaint is that hotel does not offer breakfast. I obviously misread "amenities" section of hotel's web site; breakfast is served at hotel's dining area for a price. As noted above, the hotel seems designed to cater to business travelers. Enjoyed visit but next time I head to St. George, I will reserve a room in the many hotels in area that offer breakfast at same room rate.
Also wished hotel provided a recycling area as I had to cart my recyclables to a local supermarket's parking lot to recycle.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreed3552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis_Dyer, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. George, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thanks for staying with us here in St. George. We hope to see you again in St. George. Next time that you stay you should look up the bed and breakfast package that provides breakfast for 4 to the restaurant in the property. The hotel does take recycling items from our guests and processes the recycling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed two nights (October 24 and October 30) while visiting the National parks in Utah. Rooms were very clean and quiet (as was expected), the hotel front desk staff was very helpful and the breakfast outstanding for this type of hotel On both days I had some of the best omelets and the selction of fresh fruit was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDZPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis_Dyer, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. George, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thanks for staying with us here during you visit to the National Parks. We appreciate not only seeing you once but twice within the same month! Breakfast is always great with fresh fruit and lovely omelets. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again here in Southern Utah some day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. George hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. George
Hampton Inn St. George
#6 of 43 in St. George
951 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Inn on the Cliff
Inn on the Cliff
#2 of 43 in St. George
834 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St. George
2.5 mi away
Courtyard St. George
Courtyard St. George
#18 of 43 in St. George
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn St. George

Address: 1731 S Convention Center Dr, St. George, UT 84790-6926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in St. George
#8 Business Hotel in St. George
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. George
#13 Family Hotel in St. George
Price Range: $118 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn St. George 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red sandstone bluffs and black lava rock ridges surround the Hilton Garden Inn St. George. The hotel is minutes from historic downtown St. George and convenient for day trips to Zion National Park, Snow Canyon State Park and the Virgin River Trail System. Guest rooms offer complimentary high speed internet access, a mini-refrigerator, and a microwave. The property also features an outdoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, on site dining, the Office lounge, and complimentary airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St. George Hotel St. George
Hilton St. George
St. George Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn St. George Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing