We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good information”

Brigham Young Winter Home Historical Site
Ranked #4 of 69 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Magna, Utah, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good information”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hosts are informative and pleasant. Good background on how St. George came to be and why it came to be. It includes some of Brigham Young's personal belongings which makes it all the more special.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    81
    23
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“An interesting stop if you have time.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Not being a member of the LDS Church, we were interested in learning a bit about Brigham Young and his winter home. It was a fairly brief tour, as there is not much to the house and it does not have a ton of things in it to look at, but it was all interesting. If you have time, I think this is worth the stop, but I would not bypass other areas of interest in the area to do this tour unless this works into your schedule.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Master_Tennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Free tour offered interesting insight into how the mormons got established in Utah and St. George. The property is beautiful and well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great History Tour about Southern Utah”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

When we arrived at the Brigham Young Winter Home, I expected a simple tour of the house and grounds, but what we got was a very interesting history lesson of Southern Utah, the various crops that were tested and technical advancements made to support those living away from the main settlements in Salt Lake City and parts north. Of course the tour also included the house and grounds, which were well preserved and very interesting. The last tour is at 6:30 during the week, so make sure you get their before then. Also, our tour took just over an hour, but it was a fairly large group, so plan accordingly. We really enjoyed our visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank POSitiveBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mormons”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I enjoyed the tour of the home. I found that it wasn't truly representative of a house in that time period. Paint had been placed over wall paper and wood finishes. The guide wasn't as knowledgeable about the house and the occupants as she should have been. Most questions went unanswered. At the end, the guide insisted on filling out a card so that a person of the Mormon religion could contact you. She stood at the top of the stairs without letting you descend unless you filled out a card.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brigham Young Winter Home Historical Site also viewed

 

Been to Brigham Young Winter Home Historical Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing