We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Peaceful place of beauty and history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. George Temple

St. George Temple
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lindon, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful place of beauty and history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Our family enjoyed walking around the lovely temple grounds one Sunday morning. There is also a visitors center with exhibits and family centered activities. We took the extra hour to go on a tour of the pioneer home of Brigham Young nearby. Whether you are of the LDS (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints) faith or not, you will enjoy the beauty and history of this place!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephenie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    92
    40
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
213 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Visitor center holds information and photos of interest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

suggest you visit small visitor center where you can see photos and read about the construction of the temple. It is amazing what they could construct with very limited tools.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank brucedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always a good experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Temple is always a wonderful visit, of course! But it is not the only reason we go to St. George.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Melba C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds, Great Tours, Family Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Whether you are going for temple worship or just to visit the grounds, the Temple surrounding area are beautiful and peaceful. Some days you might spot a wedding party (or two) taking photos, but most of the time it's very tranquil there. It is a lovely area to walk around, find a shady spot to relax in, or to meditate.

The tours there are wonderful and can easily be tailored to fit any time restraints. The tour guides & staff are very friendly and knowledgable. Most aspects of the tours are family-centered and focus on Christ, though you can also learn about the history of the area and the temple's construction. There are several interactive stations that kids love, and even a family history research corner where you can search for your own ancestors, no matter where you are from.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank OrchidsAndChocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, Beautiful Buildings, Inspiring Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The temple was closed for cleaning when we were there, so we did not have the opportunity to go inside, but we did spend a couple of hours on the grounds. The visitor's centers are very nicely put together with information about the building of the temple and settlement of St. George as well as information about the Church. After viewing all of the sites, we walked around the grounds. The flowers are exquisite. There are many unusual varieties, and they are incredibly healthy. Everything is trimmed and groomed. The building shines in the brilliant sun and is so inviting. My 3 year-old grandson found the experience to be fun, and the adults were glad for the beautiful peaceful respite from our travels. It was a perfect afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank smjustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. George Temple also viewed

 

Been to St. George Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing