We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The town Fav? Whatever.”
Review of Cafe Rio

Cafe Rio
Ranked #60 of 244 Restaurants in St. George
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
St George, Utah
Level Contributor
101 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The town Fav? Whatever.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

People around me raved about this busy place. Busy yes, quick service yes. Good food, yes.

Unfortunately, I tasted something in my food that I knew I was gonna pay for later... such was the case.

I tend to not do well with certain preservatives - I can smell them and taste them immediately. But as a foodie I EAT it anyway, dang it all!

The line forms, you pick your dish and they build it while you walk down the line. It's a quick way to prepare your meal and you get what YOU want on it. Test your flavors and go back time and time again because you can have your meal taste different each time you go just by adding a little cilantro or black beans.

The place is usually crowded so don't expect a table immediately - have someone in your party tell you what they want and have them go hunt for a seat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahfooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    68
    38
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrific Place”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great fast food and great fast service. Very fresh. You pick your dish, pick your meat, pick your sauce, etc. so you get exactly what you want and the price is low. I found the barbacoa a little too sweet but my wife thought it was good. But that's the only complaint I have. The ambiance is fun. Wish it was closer so I could go more often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington UT
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was not impressed”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went there because we heard the food was good, but the employees there seemed to be in a hurry which can make you feel pressured especially if it's your first time there. Plus we felt we were herded through like cattle. The portion of pork which was the best part was an extremely small portion that made you feel like you got taken advantage of.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
“Fresh Food and Nice Staff”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

First time to this Grill! If we had them in California would visit again. Food was good and fresh. Told the staff that it was our 1st time here and they were great. I would recommend this grill, great for families and couples and singles!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank G_Deb584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BOMB FOOD”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I love this place! The sweet pork tacos are amazing! I could eat this every day and not get tired of the food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing