We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of La Frontera Cafe

La Frontera Cafe
Ranked #180 of 244 Restaurants in St. George
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
1 review
“Yummy”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have loved la frontera for ever best chile verde it chicano food but the stg place is not getto its high classy kind of weird but still id the best an to ppl that write reviews make sure ur writing about the right place u dumb a#$ they dont have queso !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lajefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    3
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
1 review
“nasty”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

tried it two times the food was salty and the salsa is nothing more then Chinese siracha sauce yuck i wont go back
but i did hear their queso is good, however after eating a mouth of salty ground beef for two different meal i dont care to tempt it

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
1 review
“Best Mexican food anywhere”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I've been going to La Frontera in SLC for over 30 years and was overjoyed when they finally opened a new place in St. George. I now go once or twice a week to get my "fix". I love their salsa and chili verde........ of note to the "unwashed". La Frontera chooses to puree their salsa ingredients turning it into a sauce that actually stays on the chip rather than conventional salsas where it's always a challenge to get pieces of tomato/onion to your mouth instead of falling (usually) on your lap......... The flavor is wonderful, but a bit spicy so be careful when you first try it........ Also, I've found that some folks are surprised when they see the chili verde is brownish and thick rather than green and watery......... They simply choose to use tomato rather than tomatillos. Don't let the color confuse you....... After all...... it's about the flavor people! Good food, great prices, wonderful and friendly people. I LOVE it. Thank you La Frontera for moving to St. George, Utah!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
2 reviews
“2nd worst Mexican food in St. George”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very poor service, rude waiter. Went with a group of 8, 2 people were served dinner, then about 10 minutes later 4 more were served. The last 2 waited another 20 minutes to be told their dishes were not available that night, and had to re-order something else. They got their food they ordered the second time after the rest of the party was finished with dinner. Drinks from the bar were horrible and sent back. We were charged for the drinks we sent back along with the new ones. Would never set foot in that eshtablishment again, even after the manager gave us coupons for free food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry M, Owner at La Frontera Cafe, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are committed to customer service and a friendly atmosphere for our guests. We would like to look into your visit further. Please provide the date that you dined with us. We do not have free food coupons to offer to our guests, please describe the coupons that you are refering to.

Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great mexican food”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very nice atmosphere, friendly service,I go there for their chili verde it is the best that i have tried in utah.They have a grat atmospher and good location. plenty of parking

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank hines967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Frontera Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Frontera Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing