We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in St George Historic area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Pony

Painted Pony
Reserve with OpenTable
Painted Pony is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 234 Restaurants in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free Options, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street & St. George Blvd.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant in St George Historic area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great food, atmosphere, wine list, service! I had a wonderful meal while traveling for business in St George. I had the special -scallops & prawns over palenta and diced vegetables. The wedge salad was delicious. The Painted Pony Pinot Noir was fabulous!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JBAC_WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    174
    56
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Elegance in St George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Painted Pony is such a delightful surprise. Since moving here last year, we find this one of our favorite restaurant. Not just In St George, but anywhere. The food never fails. Appetizers are unique. The bacon wrapped almond stuffed dates (with stilton cheese and port drizzle), well, simply marvelous. Have had five of the main entrees and was pleased with each. The hangar steak is tender, the truffle ruffles are divine. For pork lovers the chop is one of my hubby's favorites. Large portions. My hubby and I share a appetizer and main entree and fills us up. Wine list selection offers something for all. Try the fresh Lavender Martini when in season. The service is professional and friendly. There is a lovely kiva fireplace in one eating area, seating in another area offers views, and the outdoor seating has great views and manages to feel cozy. If you prefer, you can sit at the bar and eat. Prices are reasonable for upscale food, service, and, ambiance. My only criticism, the drinks (not wine) are a bit pricey. If going on the weekend, recommend making reservations if you don't want to wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank highlatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We were walk-ins @ 4:00, upon discovering this restaurant. What a find! The service was impeccable and the food was delicious. Be sure to try the stuffed balsamic dates wrapped in bacon and the beet salad appetizers!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brycehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hausen am Albis, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were very lucky to get in as we turned up as a walk in on a Saturday night and therefore were walked fhrough the cool of the inside to an outside covered seating area. However the temperature was perfect and similarly so followed the sevice and food. There is a super selecton of flavoured cream sodas and soft drinks and extensive wine list. The local (Zion) brewery produces a fab IPA too which is offered draft along with a lighter beer. As we were not all hungry we were advised to think about sharing both appetisers and mains as a family meal whcih worked very well. We had the bacon wrapped almond stuffed dates with stilton and beet with cream cheese and walnut salad which was seved as a cake. My youngest had the crab cakes which was a generous portion and my other son the seared tuna which was nothing short of exceptional. My wife and i shared the rib eye and a side of broccolini - there was no problem switching the beans for asparagus either. It was cooked to perfection and tasted wonderful. Service was very good with plenty of water/soft drink refills and additional bread with the olive oil and balsamic. There was no chance of being able to fit in any desert but we left all the plates clean! The cheque came to 150$ without tips. We would happily return and have no hesitation in recommending this place especially for that memorable treat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't miss this if you are in St. George”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I were surprised to find such an upscale restaurant in St. George. The food was very good, the service professional and the ambiance was good. Indoor and outdoor seating available.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jakrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painted Pony also viewed

 

Been to Painted Pony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing