We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this if you are in St. George” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Pony

Painted Pony
Reserve with OpenTable
Painted Pony is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 234 Restaurants in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free, Seafood, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street & St. George Blvd.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss this if you are in St. George”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I were surprised to find such an upscale restaurant in St. George. The food was very good, the service professional and the ambiance was good. Indoor and outdoor seating available.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jakrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    165
    54
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
178 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very, Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A couple of years ago I ate at the Painted Pony and it was pretty good. Not great, but OK. Then, my wife and I had dinner there tonight and it was really great. Everything was delicious. The service was very good. Perhaps there is a new owner or chef... I don’t know. But we really enjoyed it. The coconut shrimp with mango chili sauce and asian cabbage slaw was great. I also had the carrot soup with jalapeño which is their signature soup. Enjoyed the items shown in the two photos I uploaded too—splitting the desert with my wife. You’ll enjoy it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hits & Misses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

First, there was no direct tie-in with the Blood, Sweat & Tears hit, “Spinning Wheel,” which was a little off-putting – but seriously:
I found lots of recommendations for this hard-to-find dining spot located in Ancestor’s Square, and there is a lot to like: good service, very nice ambience, and a creative menu. But the quality of the dishes was a bit uneven. Some things were great - (salads, dessert, sides,) and some things didn't measure up to the bar set by the service and atmosphere - (quail appetizer, pork chop entree, shrimp entree.) I wish there were a "Good" rating - because the server and atmosphere make this spot "above average." I imagine that with different entree selections, my rating would jump significantly - but that's how the spinning wheel spins.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrNickatNite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our party of 8 was pleasantly surprised by this gem of a restaurant in St. George. Each time we visit St. George, we are very disappointed by the lack of decent restaurants, and if the Painted Pony's prices were more affordable, we'd eat here every time. This is definitely a 'special occasion' restaurant.

For appetizers, we enjoyed the phyllo baked brie, coconut shrimp (ordered one but received two) and mussels.

Our entrees consisted of the grilled ribeye, ravioli, and rack of New Zealand lamb, among others. All were very tasty and well presented. The beet salad was also very enjoyable. The wine list was impressive and the younger folk enjoyed Shirley Temples. We also appreciated our waitress letting us know about kid friendly entrees at kid friendly prices.

We were too full for dessert and by that time, our waitress was very busy with other tables and it took us 45 minutes to settle up the check. Other than the poor service and the very end of our meal and a slight miscommunication about splitting the check, it was a nice treat and we would highly recommend the Painted Pony.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kairlotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Food in St. George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Why do I like this place?! Let me list the ways:
-- Good food, many with a southwest bent. Portions are not overwhelmingly large. Steak was cooked perfectly. They were able to leave off something I am allergic to...
-- Great wine list.
-- Gracious service that is not too invasive.
-- Patio is lovely.

I am always looking for local, small non-chain restaurants and this one is good. A real bright spot in the otherwise dull St George food scene.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cote_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painted Pony also viewed

 

Been to Painted Pony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing